Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

SSD Performance Fallen Off a Steep Cliff

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-23-11, 02:00 PM Thread Starter   #1
CompuTamer
Member with Some Fancy Text Under His Name

 
CompuTamer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brandon Mississippi

 
SSD Performance Fallen Off a Steep Cliff


When i got my Vertex about a 18 months ago, i got about 160 write and 200 read for 8MB benchmarks. Now i'm getting 58 write and 140 read... i've just been using it as a usual computer drive. Nothing that causes it to thrash, nothing that's extremely write intensive, and nothing that would be hard on it at all.

What's up? I've noticed that my computer has been slowing down lately, and i finally decided to bench the SSD and found this. I'd say over the last week or two it's gotten a lot slower than before.

Name:  Capture.PNG
Views: 265
Size:  72.9 KB

__________________
Intel Core i7 C0 @ 4.01GHz with 1.388 vCore ..........................................Intel i7 4500U
Intel DX58SO Motherboard IOH + QPI @ 1.250 Volts..............................Lenovo Yoga 2 Pro
Sony Optiarc Blu-Ray Drive.................................................. ...............802.11AC
8 GB G-Skill Sniper DDR3 1600 @ 1.65 Volts ...........................................8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RAM
60GB OCZ Solid 3 + 320GB WD Blue+ 1TB WD Green...............................Samsung 250GB SSD
Antec 900.................................................. .......................................All Metal Body
BFG GS-650.................................................. .....................................Lenovo Power Brick + 54Whr Battery
XFX Radeon HD 4850 (660/1060 53C Idle 62C Load) @ 1.31 vCore............Intel HD4400
Dual Dell E2311H LED 1920x1080.................................................. .......13.6" 3200x1800 Touchscreen
Windows 7 Ultimate.................................................. ..........................Windows 8.1
Those specs up there? They're silent. Silence is good. Very good.
Your Core 2 Quad is based off of the Pentium pro in a few ways.
CompuTamer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-23-11, 03:28 PM   #2
Know Nuttin
Senior Member

 
Know Nuttin's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada

 
what SATA storage drivers are you using?
how full is the drive?

__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 965BE, Asus M5A88-V Evo, 8GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3-1600 , Coolermaster Hyper212+, OCZ Vertex Plus 60GB, Seagate 7200.11 500GB, Antec EA-380
Lenovo X200, P8400 C2D, 8GB, 120GB OCZ Vertex 3.
Know Nuttin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-23-11, 03:29 PM   #3
Volumetrik
Member

 
Volumetrik's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal, CA / Alburgh, VT

 
Do you have TRIM enabled ?

__________________
Core i7 4770K @ 4.5Ghz
16 GB Trident X 1866
Gigabyte UD4H
EVGA 770 SC ACX 2GB
128GB Samsung 840 PRO
1TB WB Caviar Blue
Seasonic X-850
Fractal Design Arc Midi R2
Volumetrik' Heat
Volumetrik is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-23-11, 03:35 PM Thread Starter   #4
CompuTamer
Member with Some Fancy Text Under His Name

 
CompuTamer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brandon Mississippi

 
I'm on the Microsoft drivers, and TRIM is enabled. Has been since i got the drive. There's about 6GB free on it. It's a 30GB drive, so i can't really do much better than that.

__________________
Intel Core i7 C0 @ 4.01GHz with 1.388 vCore ..........................................Intel i7 4500U
Intel DX58SO Motherboard IOH + QPI @ 1.250 Volts..............................Lenovo Yoga 2 Pro
Sony Optiarc Blu-Ray Drive.................................................. ...............802.11AC
8 GB G-Skill Sniper DDR3 1600 @ 1.65 Volts ...........................................8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RAM
60GB OCZ Solid 3 + 320GB WD Blue+ 1TB WD Green...............................Samsung 250GB SSD
Antec 900.................................................. .......................................All Metal Body
BFG GS-650.................................................. .....................................Lenovo Power Brick + 54Whr Battery
XFX Radeon HD 4850 (660/1060 53C Idle 62C Load) @ 1.31 vCore............Intel HD4400
Dual Dell E2311H LED 1920x1080.................................................. .......13.6" 3200x1800 Touchscreen
Windows 7 Ultimate.................................................. ..........................Windows 8.1
Those specs up there? They're silent. Silence is good. Very good.
Your Core 2 Quad is based off of the Pentium pro in a few ways.
CompuTamer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-23-11, 03:47 PM   #5
ChinStrap

 
ChinStrap's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

 
google wiper.exe and give it a run - just might help

__________________
Working on a re-build.

** A few of us Benchmark. You Should join us **
ChinStrap is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-23-11, 03:50 PM   #6
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
Which FW is on there? The TRIM FW, GC FW, or both TRIM and GC FW?

I second the wiper.exe thing to kick things in to gear. If you only have the GC FW on there, go ahead and LOG OFF not power off the machine and leave it set for overnight and see if that helps.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-23-11, 03:53 PM   #7
Psykoikonov
Member



Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: ON, CA

 
My vote is for S1 (not S3, option in bios) sleep overnight, the windows logon screen works too I hear. This will allow GC (garbage collection, like TRIM except more aggressive). Alternately you could make an image of the drive, then Secure Erase and load image back.

Edit: +1 for EarthDog's point about firmware. Wiper looks good too.

__________________
Heatware (10-0-0)

Last edited by Psykoikonov; 02-23-11 at 03:59 PM.
Psykoikonov is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-23-11, 04:40 PM Thread Starter   #8
CompuTamer
Member with Some Fancy Text Under His Name

 
CompuTamer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brandon Mississippi

 
I have the firmware that supports GC and TRIM. I leave the computer on 24/7, so GC should have plenty of time to work from the time i go to bed to the time i get home from school.

I'll try wiper and report back with results... i'm hoping that my SSD isn't already getting ready to die.

__________________
Intel Core i7 C0 @ 4.01GHz with 1.388 vCore ..........................................Intel i7 4500U
Intel DX58SO Motherboard IOH + QPI @ 1.250 Volts..............................Lenovo Yoga 2 Pro
Sony Optiarc Blu-Ray Drive.................................................. ...............802.11AC
8 GB G-Skill Sniper DDR3 1600 @ 1.65 Volts ...........................................8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RAM
60GB OCZ Solid 3 + 320GB WD Blue+ 1TB WD Green...............................Samsung 250GB SSD
Antec 900.................................................. .......................................All Metal Body
BFG GS-650.................................................. .....................................Lenovo Power Brick + 54Whr Battery
XFX Radeon HD 4850 (660/1060 53C Idle 62C Load) @ 1.31 vCore............Intel HD4400
Dual Dell E2311H LED 1920x1080.................................................. .......13.6" 3200x1800 Touchscreen
Windows 7 Ultimate.................................................. ..........................Windows 8.1
Those specs up there? They're silent. Silence is good. Very good.
Your Core 2 Quad is based off of the Pentium pro in a few ways.
CompuTamer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-23-11, 04:41 PM   #9
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
If your PC doesnt sleep GC isnt working I dont believe. Please try logging off or let it sit in the BIOS overnight and see if that helps. Problem with the original vertex is that there is no provisioning so the 6GB free is all that has to mess around...someone correct me if I am wrong.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-23-11, 04:48 PM Thread Starter   #10
CompuTamer
Member with Some Fancy Text Under His Name

 
CompuTamer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brandon Mississippi

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by EarthDog View Post
If your PC doesnt sleep GC isnt working I dont believe. Please try logging off or let it sit in the BIOS overnight and see if that helps. Problem with the original vertex is that there is no provisioning so the 6GB free is all that has to mess around...someone correct me if I am wrong.
I'm pretty sure you're right. If there is provisioning, it's very little. I thought GC was supposed to work whenever the computer was idle though?


It's at 42% health, so i'm about ready to replace it anyway. NOT with another OCZ drive, as the support even on this was terrible. (Controller on the first one just flat out died. Took them 2 weeks to say they'd replace it, and 1.5 MONTHS to get the new one to me)

Anyway, ran Wiper.exe, and everything is back to normal
Name:  Capture.PNG
Views: 240
Size:  35.7 KB

__________________
Intel Core i7 C0 @ 4.01GHz with 1.388 vCore ..........................................Intel i7 4500U
Intel DX58SO Motherboard IOH + QPI @ 1.250 Volts..............................Lenovo Yoga 2 Pro
Sony Optiarc Blu-Ray Drive.................................................. ...............802.11AC
8 GB G-Skill Sniper DDR3 1600 @ 1.65 Volts ...........................................8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RAM
60GB OCZ Solid 3 + 320GB WD Blue+ 1TB WD Green...............................Samsung 250GB SSD
Antec 900.................................................. .......................................All Metal Body
BFG GS-650.................................................. .....................................Lenovo Power Brick + 54Whr Battery
XFX Radeon HD 4850 (660/1060 53C Idle 62C Load) @ 1.31 vCore............Intel HD4400
Dual Dell E2311H LED 1920x1080.................................................. .......13.6" 3200x1800 Touchscreen
Windows 7 Ultimate.................................................. ..........................Windows 8.1
Those specs up there? They're silent. Silence is good. Very good.
Your Core 2 Quad is based off of the Pentium pro in a few ways.
CompuTamer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-23-11, 06:14 PM   #11
Psykoikonov
Member



Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: ON, CA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by CompuTamer View Post
I'm pretty sure you're right. If there is provisioning, it's very little. I thought GC was supposed to work whenever the computer was idle though?
Idle for the OS and idle for the SSD are different. The idle your refering to still has windows checking updates, writing logs, etc. Idle for the SSD only counts when it's S1 sleep (S3 won't work because it powers down the drive) or at a logon screen. Good to see you got everything back to normal though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CompuTamer View Post
It's at 42% health, so i'm about ready to replace it anyway. NOT with another OCZ drive, as the support even on this was terrible. (Controller on the first one just flat out died. Took them 2 weeks to say they'd replace it, and 1.5 MONTHS to get the new one to me)
How are you checking the health of the drive? See if you can check using SMART tools how much data has been written to the drive. Perhaps I'm misunderstanding but a 30GB SSD with 5000PE @ 42% would have had 6.3TB written to it, even with a write amplification of 0.5 that's still 3.15TB :O.

__________________
Heatware (10-0-0)

Last edited by Psykoikonov; 02-23-11 at 06:26 PM.
Psykoikonov is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-23-11, 07:37 PM Thread Starter   #12
CompuTamer
Member with Some Fancy Text Under His Name

 
CompuTamer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brandon Mississippi

 
Page file is on the drive, since i haven't bothered to get more RAM. It's just as fast as adding more RAM, so i go ahead and leave it there. I can't really complain. It's held up pretty well. I think the majority of that write time was during the first few months i had it, as Windows was being wonky and i reinstalled it every other day.

In the last 3 months, it's gone from 53% to 46%. I think i'm safe for a bit.

Program i'm using is CrystaldiskInfo. I can't tell how much data is written, but it can read the drive's Health value.

EDIT: I'm pretty disappointed with OCZ overall. This drive has been troublesome since i got it (computer won't start with it connected in AHCI mode, the first one died) and they won't replace it. Then this whole wreck with the new series of drives.

Not a happy camper. I'm going Intel next time.

__________________
Intel Core i7 C0 @ 4.01GHz with 1.388 vCore ..........................................Intel i7 4500U
Intel DX58SO Motherboard IOH + QPI @ 1.250 Volts..............................Lenovo Yoga 2 Pro
Sony Optiarc Blu-Ray Drive.................................................. ...............802.11AC
8 GB G-Skill Sniper DDR3 1600 @ 1.65 Volts ...........................................8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RAM
60GB OCZ Solid 3 + 320GB WD Blue+ 1TB WD Green...............................Samsung 250GB SSD
Antec 900.................................................. .......................................All Metal Body
BFG GS-650.................................................. .....................................Lenovo Power Brick + 54Whr Battery
XFX Radeon HD 4850 (660/1060 53C Idle 62C Load) @ 1.31 vCore............Intel HD4400
Dual Dell E2311H LED 1920x1080.................................................. .......13.6" 3200x1800 Touchscreen
Windows 7 Ultimate.................................................. ..........................Windows 8.1
Those specs up there? They're silent. Silence is good. Very good.
Your Core 2 Quad is based off of the Pentium pro in a few ways.

Last edited by CompuTamer; 02-23-11 at 07:46 PM.
CompuTamer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-23-11, 07:47 PM   #13
diehrd
Senior SMP Gawd

 
diehrd's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: NY

10 Year Badge
 
You need to force trim ,, google search it , also delete hibernate it usually has a lot of gigs reserved for it , turn off system restore .. make page file 1 gig ( 1024) ,, that will give you more then 6 free gigs , which you want on an ssd ,, after you fill it up it slows from all i have read. Try to keep it 80% or less used space .

__________________
.
diehrd is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-23-11, 07:54 PM   #14
bing
Low Profile Senior

 
bing's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Indonesia

 
That is really nice to see the performance is now restored.

Yeah, leaving the rig idle doesn't mean the OS wont access the drive, actually there are many services will run periodically while idle and some if I'm not mistaken will actually runs more frequently as the system is idling.

As ED said, run rig at the bios screen and leave it overnight, that will make sure the drive is still powered on but no access at all.

On my rig which is oc-ed, I use the bios profiles feature, when it times to leave the ssd for GC, I switched the oc profile to low voltage bios profile setting that has voltage settings as low as possible but stable enough to boot into bios screen, this save power quite significant (measured using power meter) when left for quite sometime for this purpose.

bing is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-23-11, 08:39 PM Thread Starter   #15
CompuTamer
Member with Some Fancy Text Under His Name

 
CompuTamer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brandon Mississippi

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by diehrd View Post
You need to force trim ,, google search it , also delete hibernate it usually has a lot of gigs reserved for it , turn off system restore .. make page file 1 gig ( 1024) ,, that will give you more then 6 free gigs , which you want on an ssd ,, after you fill it up it slows from all i have read. Try to keep it 80% or less used space .
Hibernation file is already deleted, and the page file starts at 200MB, and grows up to 2GB as it's needed. I've freed up all the space possible on it... i'm going to get a larger one this Summer before this one decides it just wants to flat out die. I have about 8GB free now, so i'm happy. I just need it to last a few more months and then i'm jumping ship to Intel.

__________________
Intel Core i7 C0 @ 4.01GHz with 1.388 vCore ..........................................Intel i7 4500U
Intel DX58SO Motherboard IOH + QPI @ 1.250 Volts..............................Lenovo Yoga 2 Pro
Sony Optiarc Blu-Ray Drive.................................................. ...............802.11AC
8 GB G-Skill Sniper DDR3 1600 @ 1.65 Volts ...........................................8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RAM
60GB OCZ Solid 3 + 320GB WD Blue+ 1TB WD Green...............................Samsung 250GB SSD
Antec 900.................................................. .......................................All Metal Body
BFG GS-650.................................................. .....................................Lenovo Power Brick + 54Whr Battery
XFX Radeon HD 4850 (660/1060 53C Idle 62C Load) @ 1.31 vCore............Intel HD4400
Dual Dell E2311H LED 1920x1080.................................................. .......13.6" 3200x1800 Touchscreen
Windows 7 Ultimate.................................................. ..........................Windows 8.1
Those specs up there? They're silent. Silence is good. Very good.
Your Core 2 Quad is based off of the Pentium pro in a few ways.
CompuTamer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-24-11, 01:28 PM   #16
Psykoikonov
Member



Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: ON, CA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by CompuTamer View Post
I just need it to last a few more months and then i'm jumping ship to Intel.
I read the above last night and read the below this morning:

Quote:
Final production units will use NAND from Intel, but since both come from IMFT, there shouldn’t be any difference between them.
Which is from Inside OCZ's Vertex 3

So I .

__________________
Heatware (10-0-0)
Psykoikonov is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-07-11, 11:29 PM Thread Starter   #17
CompuTamer
Member with Some Fancy Text Under His Name

 
CompuTamer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brandon Mississippi

 
Well, i figered out the problem: AHCI wasn't enabled, and apparently TRIM can't be passed over IDE. Couldn't enable AHCI because the BIOS i had and the SSD didn't like each other. Couldn't update to the newest BIOS because it completely broke my mobo.

So what do i do? I update to the latest BIOS anyway, after wiping the SSD of everything, and resetting EVERYTHING to defaults. Everything runs great now Just had to clean two years worth of gunk outta the system.

On a side note, the best write speeds i'm seeing is about 160MB/s. Not a huge drop, but the drive is starting to slow down a bit. Reads are plenty fine though. I love how everytime i reinstall Windows it takes a percent or two off the drive health.

__________________
Intel Core i7 C0 @ 4.01GHz with 1.388 vCore ..........................................Intel i7 4500U
Intel DX58SO Motherboard IOH + QPI @ 1.250 Volts..............................Lenovo Yoga 2 Pro
Sony Optiarc Blu-Ray Drive.................................................. ...............802.11AC
8 GB G-Skill Sniper DDR3 1600 @ 1.65 Volts ...........................................8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RAM
60GB OCZ Solid 3 + 320GB WD Blue+ 1TB WD Green...............................Samsung 250GB SSD
Antec 900.................................................. .......................................All Metal Body
BFG GS-650.................................................. .....................................Lenovo Power Brick + 54Whr Battery
XFX Radeon HD 4850 (660/1060 53C Idle 62C Load) @ 1.31 vCore............Intel HD4400
Dual Dell E2311H LED 1920x1080.................................................. .......13.6" 3200x1800 Touchscreen
Windows 7 Ultimate.................................................. ..........................Windows 8.1
Those specs up there? They're silent. Silence is good. Very good.
Your Core 2 Quad is based off of the Pentium pro in a few ways.
CompuTamer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-08-11, 05:30 AM   #18
5er driver
Registered

 
5er driver's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by EarthDog View Post
Problem with the original vertex is that there is no provisioning so the 6GB free is all that has to mess around...someone correct me if I am wrong.
According to OCZ, their 30GB Vertex has 2GB OP.

From the OCZ site: "In the case of SSDs, some of the capacity is reserved for formatting and redundancy for wear leveling. These reserved areas on an SSD may occupy up to 5% of the drive’s storage capacity. In OCZ’s Indilinx-based SSDs, the naming convention reflects this and the 30 is equivalent to the 32GB, the 60 is equivalent to 64GB, and so on."

__________________
The 5er Driver.........."Colt: The original point & click interface"

PC, Self Configured --- OS: W7 Home Prem 64 --- MOBO: ASUS P5Q SE --- CPU: Intel® Core™2 Quad Q9650 3.00 GHz --- RAM: 8 GB, OCZ DDR2 PC2-8500 1066 MHz Gold Edition --- Graphic Card: Gigabyte GeForce GTX280 1 GB DDR3 --- SSD: OCZ Vertex Turbo 60 GB --- HDD: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB 10,000 rpm --- HDD: Seagate Barrauda 250 GB 7,200 rpm --- PSU: Be Quiet! Dark Power Pro 750 Watt --- Joystick: Saitek X52 Flight Controller

Laptop, Acer 8935G --- OS: W7 Home Prem 64 --- CPU: Intel® Core™2 Duo T9900 3.06 GHz --- RAM: 8 GB, Transcsend DDR3 1066 MHz --- Graphic Card: ATI Radeon Mobility HD 4670 --- SSD: Mushkin Callisto Deluxe 240 GB --- HDD: WD Caviar Black 500 GB 7,200 rpm
5er driver is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-08-11, 07:24 AM   #19
diehrd
Senior SMP Gawd

 
diehrd's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: NY

10 Year Badge
 
Future reference for anyone who cares to know how to set AHCI after a full install of win 7 .



http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials...sta.html?ltr=A


Easy as pie ......................

__________________
.
diehrd is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-08-11, 02:33 PM   #20
doz
Member



Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Las Vegas, NV

10 Year Badge
 
Wow, Im impressed with my Agility 2. Ive been running it for months now, its about 60% full and only a slight drop in speed (from 283mb/s to 279)!

I remember my old 120gb Vertex, it did the same thing as yours even with TRIM enabled on AHCI mode. I ran Wiper and it did bring it back up, but it was annoying as the drive speed dropped off relatively quickly for me.

I was afraid the same thing happens with my Agility2, so I havent benchmarked it since I received it. Good to see they improved w/ the 2 series.

__________________
Asus P8P67
Intel i7-2600k @ 4.9ghz
GSkill Ripjaws 8gb 1600mhz c8
EVGA GTX780 ACX 1228//1650
OCZ Agility 2 240gb, Corsair Force 3 180gb, (2)WD 1tb Black
HAF 932w/ Corsair HX750
Heat
doz is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:18 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?