• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Advice Requested - To WC or not to WC

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

loopflow

Hey all,

I'm using an H50 push /pull with GT-1850's now on my i7-2600k, holds steady at 4.7 GHZ with acceptable temps, but it is loud. I've always wanted to try WC and this seems like a good opportunity. I'd love to try something like a 2 x 140 rad based cpu loop but am wondering if I wouldn't be better off just going to a Noctua D14 instead. With WC I'd be looking case mods or a new case as well, not a big deal but I'm a noob at those topics. (I've been reading the documents :salute:)

I guess I'm just asking for help weighing the pro's and cons / price vs performance before diving in. Hobby plays a part in the decision, but I also would be after better cooling and much more quiet system overall (maybe even a steady 5ghz just because).

Thanks in advance.

The air cooler you chose is better than the H50, however noise will likely not be much different.

A custom loop (you are water cooling now with that H50), will allow you to acheive the quiet you want by running larger fans slower on that sized radiator. However a custom loop is going to run you at least $250... Try looking into this kit I reviewed. Its a champ and expandable!

What case do you have?

Antec 300...already one 140 on top and room to mod for the rad.

if you have to ask then the answer is no
if you already have decided to and its just sitting in the back of your mind waiting for a reason to justify spending $400 then wait a little longer and save money and then do it all at once the right way but start reading the stickies now and brush up on your basic math and science.