• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Memory Problem gigabyte EP45 UD-3P board

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

jbolted

Hello all, I built my own system a year ago. My mobo is a gigabyte EP45 UD-3P board. I originally put in OCZ PC2 6400 800 Mhz 5-5-5-18 @ 1.8Volts. 2 sticks of 2 gb each on one channel. I'm a newbie as you will tell. I do know that each channel is colored one is orange and one is red. So I used one channel the OCZ worked for about 6 months. after about 6 months, the computer kept freezing up, telling me to reboot. Power down by holding in the button, etc. I narrowed it down to memory problem. So I first sent the board back they tested it and told me the board is fine, they especially tested the memory. So I finally got OCZ to swap me new sticks. This was taking for ever. So in the mean time I bought Gskill 5-5-5-15 @ 1.8 volts, but 2 sticks of 1 GB each. I cant get the OCZ to run on my computer by itself or with the Gskill. The Gskill runs like a charm only problem I need more than 2 GB of memory.

I tried on the motherboard slowing down the cas to 5-5-5-18 for the OCZ and the gskill to get along, that wouldnt work.

Is there a quirk were the board will not run dual channel kits that are of different sizes, ie. 4 gb and 2 gb at the same time? Meaning there are 2 dual channels both will be filled 1 with 4 gb, and 1 with 2 gb of differing brands and cas latency timings, although not by much.