• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

My first build =D need help on a mobo though.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Daris1015

Hey this is my first post so needless to say im a bit of a rookie at this stuff, but im learnign quickly. Im building a gaming rig right now.

AMD Athlon II x2 250 3.00GHz
Coolit Eco A.L.C.
Asus M477TD
2x 2gb Gskill 1333 DDR3
Evga Geforce GTX 460
1TB Seagate HDD
150GB WD HDD
Corsair tx650w power supply

I plan to get a new Mobo and CPU and going sli 460s. Ive read a few things saying my powersupply will be able to run it fine but other input would be great.

For a CPU id like to go intel i was looking at the S-bridge but i dont really know if i should get that or a i7 950. I plan on OC. Should i also get new ram? im not too worried about replacing stuff that i already have since im just handing the the parts down to pc im building for my friend.

I will be using my computer for gaming mainly. So stoked for BF3 :clap: I want to be fully prepared for when it comes out. haha.

Dont go SLI unless you have a multi monitor setup. With the money from 2 460's you can get a single card performing at 100% all the time, with less heat and power consumption if that matters to you.

I would get new ram if you plan to overclock, yes.

But +1 to para... budget please.

that psu will be fine for 2 460's, but dont do it, like ED said. SB would destroy an i7 950, so no doubt go sb. but it would help if u gave us ur budget. maybe get 1600mhz ram with a cl of 7?

Sandy Bridge 2500K and a decent mobo would suit you well. Go a single 5xx card, (say 570?) rather than the SLI option. If it's for gaming only, 2500k is perfectly fine, don't worry about the 2600K. 4GB of CL7 RAM too. Kgo