Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Dead again

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-08-11, 08:37 PM Thread Starter   #1
tWiSt3D
Member

 
tWiSt3D's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Indiana,USA

 
Dead again


Im having the worst luck with this new amd build.I was overclocking tonight all was good.Ran prime for about 10 mins highest temp was 44c all of a sudden pc goes dead.Now it wont turn back on.All parts in this PC are new now.New power supply was put in last Saturday.Any thoughts would be great.I think when I get this thing going again Im selling it and going back to Intel

__________________
CPU: AMD Phenom II x6 1100 T (OC 4 Ghz) 47c Under Load
Motherboard: Qigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
Memory: Corsair XMS 3 4 GiG DDR3 Ram
Video Card: HIS 6870
Case: Cooler Master HAF 932 Case
Power Supply: 850w Thermaltake black widow PSU
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212(Push Pull)
OS: Windows 7 64

tWiSt3D is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-08-11, 08:45 PM   #2
trents
Senior Member

 
trents's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Centralia, WA

 
What have you tried? Take all but one memory stick out and reset cmos. Make sure the power supply switch is off before you reset the cmos. Take everything unnecessary out of the rig. Are you sure the PSU isn't dead? Brand new PSUs can die you know. When you push the case panel power button do any lights come on or do fans spin?

__________________
CPU: i7 2600k@4.6 ghz
Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe b3
Cooler: Swiftech H320
RAM: 16 (4x4) gb Team Group Vulcan 2400 mhz @ 2176 mhz / 11-13-13-35-2T
GPU: Sapphire Radeon 7870
Case: NZXT Source 530
PSU: OCZ 750W
Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 2x300 gb WD Velociraptors


Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6

Last edited by trents; 03-08-11 at 08:55 PM.
trents is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-08-11, 08:48 PM Thread Starter   #3
tWiSt3D
Member

 
tWiSt3D's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Indiana,USA

 
I cleared cmos it doesnt have a jumper on the board I took the batt out for a couple mins.Didnt try ram.The fan lights flicker for a sec and thats it.

__________________
CPU: AMD Phenom II x6 1100 T (OC 4 Ghz) 47c Under Load
Motherboard: Qigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
Memory: Corsair XMS 3 4 GiG DDR3 Ram
Video Card: HIS 6870
Case: Cooler Master HAF 932 Case
Power Supply: 850w Thermaltake black widow PSU
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212(Push Pull)
OS: Windows 7 64


Last edited by tWiSt3D; 03-08-11 at 08:54 PM.
tWiSt3D is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-08-11, 09:04 PM   #4
trents
Senior Member

 
trents's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Centralia, WA

 
So, disconnect the main and the auxilliary 12v connectors to the motherboard. Take a paper clip and short between any green and any black wire on the main 24 pin PSU power connector. Case fans should spin continuously now. If they don't, I'd suspect a bad PSU. It sounds like as soon as the PSU capacitors are bled off they aren't being recharged.

__________________
CPU: i7 2600k@4.6 ghz
Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe b3
Cooler: Swiftech H320
RAM: 16 (4x4) gb Team Group Vulcan 2400 mhz @ 2176 mhz / 11-13-13-35-2T
GPU: Sapphire Radeon 7870
Case: NZXT Source 530
PSU: OCZ 750W
Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 2x300 gb WD Velociraptors


Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6
trents is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-08-11, 09:15 PM Thread Starter   #5
tWiSt3D
Member

 
tWiSt3D's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Indiana,USA

 
Ok I did that and it came on.Now what lol hey thanks for all your help Im getting stressed out here lol.What going on now any Ideas?

__________________
CPU: AMD Phenom II x6 1100 T (OC 4 Ghz) 47c Under Load
Motherboard: Qigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
Memory: Corsair XMS 3 4 GiG DDR3 Ram
Video Card: HIS 6870
Case: Cooler Master HAF 932 Case
Power Supply: 850w Thermaltake black widow PSU
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212(Push Pull)
OS: Windows 7 64

tWiSt3D is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-08-11, 09:36 PM Thread Starter   #6
tWiSt3D
Member

 
tWiSt3D's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Indiana,USA

 
Ok just seen that the cpu fan that plugs into the MB isnt working.I tried another fan and nothing.Hmm could my NB be shot now?I have 2 fans on the cooler on the hyper 212 just seen the main one isnt working so to me something isnt working right on the board.

__________________
CPU: AMD Phenom II x6 1100 T (OC 4 Ghz) 47c Under Load
Motherboard: Qigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
Memory: Corsair XMS 3 4 GiG DDR3 Ram
Video Card: HIS 6870
Case: Cooler Master HAF 932 Case
Power Supply: 850w Thermaltake black widow PSU
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212(Push Pull)
OS: Windows 7 64

tWiSt3D is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-08-11, 09:47 PM   #7
EmAn
Member

 
EmAn's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ft. Hood Texas

 
try swapping out components if you have another system to test out with. Look over your motherboard and look for blown capacitors and blown chips. Smell for burnt electronics. That may help you find out what is going on.

__________________
Cooler Master HAF 932 Asus P5Q-PRO E8400 4050mhz
Tuniq Tower 120 Crossfire Diamond HD4850's 512mb a piece
2x2 GB OCZ DDR2 1066 Platinum OCZ GameXStream 600W

SPC in the US ARMY working on AH-64D Appache Longbow Attack Helicopters
Yes I work on a $47,000,000 computer that has two jet engines attached to it A LOT of spinning parts and of course... Rockets, GUNS, and Missiles
EmAn is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-08-11, 09:48 PM   #8
trents
Senior Member

 
trents's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Centralia, WA

 
Yeah, sounds suspicious for the board. On the other hand, if your CPU cooler fans aren't turning then the board may be set up to power off to protect the cpu. Check the bios to see if there is a setting you can disable so that it will power up without the cpu cooling fan working. Put another fan connected to a molex if necessary to cool the CPU and see if it powers up. That was a pretty stupid piece of advice since you can't get into bios to begin with.

__________________
CPU: i7 2600k@4.6 ghz
Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe b3
Cooler: Swiftech H320
RAM: 16 (4x4) gb Team Group Vulcan 2400 mhz @ 2176 mhz / 11-13-13-35-2T
GPU: Sapphire Radeon 7870
Case: NZXT Source 530
PSU: OCZ 750W
Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 2x300 gb WD Velociraptors


Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6

Last edited by trents; 03-08-11 at 09:56 PM.
trents is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-08-11, 09:49 PM Thread Starter   #9
tWiSt3D
Member

 
tWiSt3D's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Indiana,USA

 
I cant get into bios with it.It only comes on with he paper clip in it.When Iplug everything back up to the board it just flashed all my lights for a sec and thats it.

__________________
CPU: AMD Phenom II x6 1100 T (OC 4 Ghz) 47c Under Load
Motherboard: Qigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
Memory: Corsair XMS 3 4 GiG DDR3 Ram
Video Card: HIS 6870
Case: Cooler Master HAF 932 Case
Power Supply: 850w Thermaltake black widow PSU
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212(Push Pull)
OS: Windows 7 64

tWiSt3D is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-08-11, 09:58 PM   #10
trents
Senior Member

 
trents's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Centralia, WA

 
Definitely sounds like a bad motherboard component, probably a bad capacitor. I would RMA it. Can you put the psu in another computer just to test it under load before you RMA the board?

__________________
CPU: i7 2600k@4.6 ghz
Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe b3
Cooler: Swiftech H320
RAM: 16 (4x4) gb Team Group Vulcan 2400 mhz @ 2176 mhz / 11-13-13-35-2T
GPU: Sapphire Radeon 7870
Case: NZXT Source 530
PSU: OCZ 750W
Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 2x300 gb WD Velociraptors


Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6
trents is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-08-11, 10:22 PM Thread Starter   #11
tWiSt3D
Member

 
tWiSt3D's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Indiana,USA

 
PSU worked in another system.Well someone point me to a decent board I need one ASAP

__________________
CPU: AMD Phenom II x6 1100 T (OC 4 Ghz) 47c Under Load
Motherboard: Qigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
Memory: Corsair XMS 3 4 GiG DDR3 Ram
Video Card: HIS 6870
Case: Cooler Master HAF 932 Case
Power Supply: 850w Thermaltake black widow PSU
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212(Push Pull)
OS: Windows 7 64

tWiSt3D is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-08-11, 10:37 PM   #12
trents
Senior Member

 
trents's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Centralia, WA

 
What's you're price range?

__________________
CPU: i7 2600k@4.6 ghz
Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe b3
Cooler: Swiftech H320
RAM: 16 (4x4) gb Team Group Vulcan 2400 mhz @ 2176 mhz / 11-13-13-35-2T
GPU: Sapphire Radeon 7870
Case: NZXT Source 530
PSU: OCZ 750W
Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 2x300 gb WD Velociraptors


Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6
trents is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-09-11, 08:02 AM   #13
QuietIce
Disabled



Join Date: May 2006
Location: Anywhere but there

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by tWiSt3D View Post
PSU worked in another system.Well someone point me to a decent board I need one ASAP
If you're overclocking I would suggest one with MOSFET heatsinks next time.


Edit
After looking at your other threads it's quite possible the old PSU took part of the motherboard with it when it went out. Can't really blame Gigabyte or AMD for whatever else might have been damaged when a 4 year old PSU burned out.

I'd still stick with heatsinks on the MOSFETs, though ...

Last edited by QuietIce; 03-09-11 at 08:26 AM.
QuietIce is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-09-11, 12:18 PM Thread Starter   #14
tWiSt3D
Member

 
tWiSt3D's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Indiana,USA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by QuietIce View Post
If you're overclocking I would suggest one with MOSFET heatsinks next time.


Edit
After looking at your other threads it's quite possible the old PSU took part of the motherboard with it when it went out. Can't really blame Gigabyte or AMD for whatever else might have been damaged when a 4 year old PSU burned out.

I'd still stick with heatsinks on the MOSFETs, though ...
Yeah I got to thinking about that today that old PSU is probably the cause to this.Like I said in another thread cash is tight so I went with this http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...3ORDER-_-Deals

I think Im done overclocking for now. I went with another gigabyte I liked that other one even know it wasnt anything fancey,not that this one is but was in my price range at this time.

__________________
CPU: AMD Phenom II x6 1100 T (OC 4 Ghz) 47c Under Load
Motherboard: Qigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
Memory: Corsair XMS 3 4 GiG DDR3 Ram
Video Card: HIS 6870
Case: Cooler Master HAF 932 Case
Power Supply: 850w Thermaltake black widow PSU
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212(Push Pull)
OS: Windows 7 64

tWiSt3D is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-09-11, 12:47 PM   #15
QuietIce
Disabled



Join Date: May 2006
Location: Anywhere but there

 
If you don't OC you won't need the MOSFET coolers.

If you decide to OC later there are several copper and aluminum sinks out there for them ...
QuietIce is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-09-11, 02:49 PM   #16
trents
Senior Member

 
trents's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Centralia, WA

 
Anyone who builds systems very often will get a bad part now and then, whether it be AMD or Intel. But I have concers you may repeat your experience until you get another PSU. A lot of people skimp on the foundational things like a good, well-ventilated case, a quality PSU and an efficient CPU cooler and then get frustrated when they try to overclock, blaming it on the CPU or the motherboard.

__________________
CPU: i7 2600k@4.6 ghz
Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe b3
Cooler: Swiftech H320
RAM: 16 (4x4) gb Team Group Vulcan 2400 mhz @ 2176 mhz / 11-13-13-35-2T
GPU: Sapphire Radeon 7870
Case: NZXT Source 530
PSU: OCZ 750W
Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 2x300 gb WD Velociraptors


Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6
trents is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-09-11, 03:21 PM Thread Starter   #17
tWiSt3D
Member

 
tWiSt3D's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Indiana,USA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by trents View Post
Anyone who builds systems very often will get a bad part now and then, whether it be AMD or Intel. But I have concers you may repeat your experience until you get another PSU. A lot of people skimp on the foundational things like a good, well-ventilated case, a quality PSU and an efficient CPU cooler and then get frustrated when they try to overclock, blaming it on the CPU or the motherboard.
I just got this PSU last Saturday surely its ok. I have a HAF Cooler Master case it has great air flow when i was overclocking the cpu I had it at 4.0 ran prime for about 10 mins highest temp was at 44c then bam lights went out.Like i said Im done overclocking I had fun with my Q6600 last year thought Id give it a try on the 1100T.Ill just be glad to get it up and going again.Id probably never get rid of what I have even known its down now.When it was going it screamed through all the games that I play maxed out like a dream.I shouldnt of blamed it on AMD lol just caught up in the moment

__________________
CPU: AMD Phenom II x6 1100 T (OC 4 Ghz) 47c Under Load
Motherboard: Qigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
Memory: Corsair XMS 3 4 GiG DDR3 Ram
Video Card: HIS 6870
Case: Cooler Master HAF 932 Case
Power Supply: 850w Thermaltake black widow PSU
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212(Push Pull)
OS: Windows 7 64

tWiSt3D is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-09-11, 06:21 PM   #18
trents
Senior Member

 
trents's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Centralia, WA

 
Sorry about the cheap hardware comments. I got confused with another guy posting on t he forum recently who blew his board who may have blown his board while overclocking with a cheap four-year-old PSU. I hope you won't allow this experience to keep you from trying overclocking again. Let your nerves settle down first.

__________________
CPU: i7 2600k@4.6 ghz
Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe b3
Cooler: Swiftech H320
RAM: 16 (4x4) gb Team Group Vulcan 2400 mhz @ 2176 mhz / 11-13-13-35-2T
GPU: Sapphire Radeon 7870
Case: NZXT Source 530
PSU: OCZ 750W
Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 2x300 gb WD Velociraptors


Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6

Last edited by trents; 03-09-11 at 10:21 PM.
trents is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-09-11, 06:45 PM Thread Starter   #19
tWiSt3D
Member

 
tWiSt3D's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Indiana,USA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by trents View Post
Sorry about the cheap hardware comments. I got confused with another guy posting on t he forum recently who blew his board while overclocking with a cheap four-year-old PSU. I hope you won't allow this experience to keep you from trying overclocking again. Let your nerves settle down first.
No problem I didnt take it in any bad way Im sitting here looking over that mother board trying to find anything burnt looking no luck at all.I m making things worse I guess wondering and hoping the CPU is ok now lol should be it didnt get hot on me.I always run core temp all the time even in my old Q6600 build.I like watching the temps overclocked or not.

__________________
CPU: AMD Phenom II x6 1100 T (OC 4 Ghz) 47c Under Load
Motherboard: Qigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
Memory: Corsair XMS 3 4 GiG DDR3 Ram
Video Card: HIS 6870
Case: Cooler Master HAF 932 Case
Power Supply: 850w Thermaltake black widow PSU
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212(Push Pull)
OS: Windows 7 64

tWiSt3D is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-09-11, 10:22 PM   #20
trents
Senior Member

 
trents's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Centralia, WA

 
Note correction in Post #18.

__________________
CPU: i7 2600k@4.6 ghz
Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe b3
Cooler: Swiftech H320
RAM: 16 (4x4) gb Team Group Vulcan 2400 mhz @ 2176 mhz / 11-13-13-35-2T
GPU: Sapphire Radeon 7870
Case: NZXT Source 530
PSU: OCZ 750W
Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 2x300 gb WD Velociraptors


Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6
trents is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:12 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?