Notices

Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Folding Team
Folding Team Join the Overclockers.com Protein-Folding Team and support medical research!
Forum Jump

-bigadv memory question for ChasR (or anyone else willing to chime in)

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-21-11, 08:43 AM Thread Starter   #1
torin3
Member


 
torin3's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Seeing how many GPUs I can cram in one box

 
-bigadv memory question for ChasR (or anyone else willing to chime in)


The new memory I've gotten for my 4-way classified seems to be working well to restore my overclock. However, I noticed I'm running 11-11-11-29 1T. The ram can run about this speed a 7-8-7-24 2T. Would I be better off to change to 2T and tighten up the timings? I'm running about 1800mzh on the ram.

__________________
Please fold for Team 32!
System to be updated soon
My Heat
Folding User Stats
BTC: 12CMeZKPnCg7nV5vgP57vSjSyshrMm67Tk

Last edited by torin3; 03-21-11 at 01:31 PM.
torin3 is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-21-11, 10:58 AM   #2
ChasR
Senior Member

 
ChasR's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Atlanta

 
This is 2133 MHz ram? If it is, I'd try tightening the timings at 1T and see how low you can go. I'd think you could run close to spec timings at 1T with the ram underclocked.

__________________

All ppd from friends and family. Many thanks to HayesK for his support and congrats on being the #1 Folder on Team 32. Special thanks to ChrisC and ColinC


Folding User Stats
ChasR is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-21-11, 11:17 AM Thread Starter   #3
torin3
Member


 
torin3's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Seeing how many GPUs I can cram in one box

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChasR View Post
This is 2133 MHz ram? If it is, I'd try tightening the timings at 1T and see how low you can go. I'd think you could run close to spec timings at 1T with the ram underclocked.
Actually it is 1600 Mhz ram. The modules that Onefstsnake recommended.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231335

And it looks like my memory is a bit off. It is supposed to be 7-8-7-24 2T at 1600 Mhz. It is 1.5V and I'm running it at 1.62V.

I've been letting the timings go on auto. I can probably get them tighter, but I was wondering if dropping them to 2T would be that much of a handicap.

__________________
Please fold for Team 32!
System to be updated soon
My Heat
Folding User Stats
BTC: 12CMeZKPnCg7nV5vgP57vSjSyshrMm67Tk
torin3 is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-21-11, 12:20 PM   #4
ChasR
Senior Member

 
ChasR's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Atlanta

 
I haven't done any testing on the effects of command rate on folding performance. I would think you could do better than 11-11-11 though.

__________________

All ppd from friends and family. Many thanks to HayesK for his support and congrats on being the #1 Folder on Team 32. Special thanks to ChrisC and ColinC


Folding User Stats
ChasR is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-21-11, 12:37 PM   #5
harlam357
Senior Fold-a-holic

 
harlam357's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: @Home... Folding@Home

 
Humm... yeah, I think most kits XMP profile (or better) is rated at 2T. Gosh, I haven't run 1T in anything since my old 939 setups. Memory is so fast (and inherently the most flakey piece in a system) that it's the last thing I want to really fool with in a rig. However, I think when DDR2/3 memory is run at JEDEC specs it is capable of running 1T based on the JEDEC SPD.

EDIT: Opps... sorry, my name is not ChasR.

harlam357 is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-21-11, 01:00 PM   #6
'Cuda340
Very Welcoming Senior
Premium Member #11


 
'Cuda340's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Folding@Home

10 Year Badge
 
I was under the impression that going from Command Rate T2 -> T1 was like tightening the CAS Latency by one........(In terms of performance) Say from 9-9-9 to 8-9-9

I have not done any testing.......

__________________
Folding for Overclockers.com Team 32 as ---------->
Folding User Stats
Intro/Walkthrough of Folding & Folding@Home

Last edited by 'Cuda340; 03-21-11 at 01:11 PM.
'Cuda340 is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-21-11, 01:23 PM   #7
ChasR
Senior Member

 
ChasR's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Atlanta

 
My RipJawsX 2133 has an XMP rating of 9-10-9-28 2T, per G. Skill and 9-11-9-29-1T per CPU-Z. The ASUS p8p67 pro reads that as 9-10-9-27-2T for some reason. In CPU-Z command rate is blank for the JDEC SPD speeds. So what does that mean? Beats Me.

I'll see about doing some testing. It would be a lot easier if it didn't take so long to complete a frame. On regular SMP, clicking off frames in 3:00 or less, it doesn't take long to get results. At 22:00+/frame, I forget what I'm doing, before I get results. .

__________________

All ppd from friends and family. Many thanks to HayesK for his support and congrats on being the #1 Folder on Team 32. Special thanks to ChrisC and ColinC


Folding User Stats
ChasR is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-21-11, 01:37 PM Thread Starter   #8
torin3
Member


 
torin3's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Seeing how many GPUs I can cram in one box

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by harlam357 View Post
EDIT: Opps... sorry, my name is not ChasR.
No problem. I've edited the title. I just wanted to catch ChasR's attention, since it was his comments that got me looking at my memory as the reason my frame times were slower than other people with 12threads at the same clock speed.

I'm now getting about 61K ppd or around 21-22min tpf with my current ram speed and 4.28Ghz.

I think I'll try and tighten them up to 9-9-9-26 1T (and bump the juice a bit, 1.65v probably) and see how that does.

__________________
Please fold for Team 32!
System to be updated soon
My Heat
Folding User Stats
BTC: 12CMeZKPnCg7nV5vgP57vSjSyshrMm67Tk
torin3 is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-21-11, 01:41 PM   #9
'Cuda340
Very Welcoming Senior
Premium Member #11


 
'Cuda340's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Folding@Home

10 Year Badge
 
So far i have not had any DDR3 that did not run "T1" at whatever it's rated speed was..........(All were triple channel kits)

__________________
Folding for Overclockers.com Team 32 as ---------->
Folding User Stats
Intro/Walkthrough of Folding & Folding@Home
'Cuda340 is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-21-11, 01:51 PM   #10
ChasR
Senior Member

 
ChasR's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Atlanta

 
On bandwidth benchmarks command rate can make a measured difference of up to 25% in bandwidth. In the real world of applications, that's usually only 2 to 3%, the same as reducing latency by one tick, as you point out. How it relates to folding, I will one day find out. It may be impossible to make myself perform a scientific test, using the same frames of the same WU because I'd lose too many ppd. We may have to settle on an unscientific test, but that may not mean anything if we're looking at a 1 or two percent difference.

__________________

All ppd from friends and family. Many thanks to HayesK for his support and congrats on being the #1 Folder on Team 32. Special thanks to ChrisC and ColinC


Folding User Stats
ChasR is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-21-11, 02:48 PM   #11
freeagent

Member

 
freeagent's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Winnipeg!

 
I actually have a triple set of some gskills that only run at 2T

From my observations playing around with my current setup, I get strong performance with a high bclk (191-196bclk) with my ram at 7-7-7-20. If I go to say 200, and run the ram at 1600 8-8-8-24 performace tapers off noticeably, until I get the mem speed up to around 1750mhz at 8-8-8-24 wich gives me a slightly lower latency then at say 1560 at 7-7-7.

__________________
Xeon X5690 E.S. @ 4209MHz 1.325v/Corsair H100
Asus Rampage III Formula @ 200/3609/3609
3x2GB STT Chrome @ 802MHz 6-6-6-20 1T 1.65v
Asus GTX 580 Matrix Platinum @ 900/1000 1.1v
Intel 520 120GB/WD 1TB Black
Auzentech Prelude
Thermaltake SP850M
Fractal Design Define R4
freeagent is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-21-11, 10:27 PM   #12
onefstsnake


 
onefstsnake's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Fburg, VA

 
9-9-9-24-2T @ 1829mhz and 1.65v
7-8-7-24-1T @ 1700mhz and 1.65v

The top was just a quick and dirty setup. Both using the same ram that you have.

__________________
"there was a puddle of water around the socket when I started." -I.M.O.G.
Join the Benching Team
Gaming/Benching/Folding Rig
Asus Rampage III Formula**i7 950 @ 4.2ghz**6GB G.Skill Pi
GTX470**2x1TB WD Black**256GB Samsung 830 SSD**Antec 1200w
Wifes Gaming/Folding Rig
Gigabyte GA-EX58A-UD3R**i7 920 @ 3.8ghz**6GB G.Skill Pi
GTX260**2x1TB WD Black**640GB WD Black**Antec 750w

MY HEAT
onefstsnake is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-21-11, 10:32 PM Thread Starter   #13
torin3
Member


 
torin3's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Seeing how many GPUs I can cram in one box

 
9-9-9-26 1T 1746Mhz right now. Seems to be handling it fine.

Though I'm wondering why the board won't boot at 173 bclk. Boots fine at 172 bclk, and I can move it up after I'm in windows.

__________________
Please fold for Team 32!
System to be updated soon
My Heat
Folding User Stats
BTC: 12CMeZKPnCg7nV5vgP57vSjSyshrMm67Tk
torin3 is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-21-11, 10:38 PM   #14
onefstsnake


 
onefstsnake's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Fburg, VA

 
blk hole?

My r3e couldnt run 226-230 but could run 235

__________________
"there was a puddle of water around the socket when I started." -I.M.O.G.
Join the Benching Team
Gaming/Benching/Folding Rig
Asus Rampage III Formula**i7 950 @ 4.2ghz**6GB G.Skill Pi
GTX470**2x1TB WD Black**256GB Samsung 830 SSD**Antec 1200w
Wifes Gaming/Folding Rig
Gigabyte GA-EX58A-UD3R**i7 920 @ 3.8ghz**6GB G.Skill Pi
GTX260**2x1TB WD Black**640GB WD Black**Antec 750w

MY HEAT
onefstsnake is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-23-11, 12:18 PM Thread Starter   #15
torin3
Member


 
torin3's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Seeing how many GPUs I can cram in one box

 
Well, I'm now at 9-9-9-26 1T at 1 lower on bclk and I'm getting 20:40 frame times when the system is idle.
torin3 is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-23-11, 12:32 PM   #16
87dtna



Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: PA

 
At 1742mhz you should atleast be able to run 8-9-8-24-1t on stock voltage, and could most likely run 7-8-7-24-1t with 1.65v.

Whats your north bridge and QPI multipliers at? Make sure they aren't too high and causing instability.
Whats your VTT at? With ram speed at 1700+ I would imagine you'd need atleast 1.25v VTT if not 1.30, in that area, to be stable.

__________________
HEATWARE

Benching Team Stats
87dtna is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-23-11, 01:40 PM Thread Starter   #17
torin3
Member


 
torin3's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Seeing how many GPUs I can cram in one box

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by 87dtna View Post
At 1742mhz you should atleast be able to run 8-9-8-24-1t on stock voltage, and could most likely run 7-8-7-24-1t with 1.65v.

Whats your north bridge and QPI multipliers at? Make sure they aren't too high and causing instability.
Whats your VTT at? With ram speed at 1700+ I would imagine you'd need atleast 1.25v VTT if not 1.30, in that area, to be stable.
I'll have to wait until I get home to check the multis, but I believe my VTT is 1.35V.

__________________
Please fold for Team 32!
System to be updated soon
My Heat
Folding User Stats
BTC: 12CMeZKPnCg7nV5vgP57vSjSyshrMm67Tk
torin3 is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-27-11, 09:59 PM Thread Starter   #18
torin3
Member


 
torin3's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Seeing how many GPUs I can cram in one box

 
Ok, I forgot to check the other settings when I was rebooting today, but I'm now at 8-8-8-24, and I can get to 174bclk with it before Intel burntest/linpack fails. I'm at 1.65V in bios and 1.67V reported for RAM memory.

Should I up the voltage a bit? I'll know in the morning how it compares to 9-9-9-26 at 179bclk. I was getting 20:37 TPF when the computer was idle.

__________________
Please fold for Team 32!
System to be updated soon
My Heat
Folding User Stats
BTC: 12CMeZKPnCg7nV5vgP57vSjSyshrMm67Tk
torin3 is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-28-11, 04:53 AM Thread Starter   #19
torin3
Member


 
torin3's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Seeing how many GPUs I can cram in one box

 
20:50 TPF. But it is 150 Mhz slower.

__________________
Please fold for Team 32!
System to be updated soon
My Heat
Folding User Stats
BTC: 12CMeZKPnCg7nV5vgP57vSjSyshrMm67Tk
torin3 is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Folding Team
Folding Team Join the Overclockers.com Protein-Folding Team and support medical research!
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?