Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Has anyone else gambled on the Biostar TP67B+?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-29-11, 07:41 AM Thread Starter   #41
Wyno
Member



Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Durand MI

10 Year Badge
 
After I got up to 4.6 and running for over 2 days , I decided to try for 4.7 today just to see what the temps would be stable. I restarted and upped the vcore .2 and no go. I had to bump it to 1.4 to get to 4.7. So I decided to just go back to 4.6. Well now I can't even go back to 4.6 unless I keep the vcore up to 1.4. Just restarting my PC I lost what I had. I am now back at 4.4 . I wonder how long until we get a bios revision. I like the possibilities this board brings but getting fed up with the inconsistancies.

__________________
My Heatware
Wyno is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 03-29-11, 08:53 AM   #42
aldamon
Member



Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Durham, NC

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wyno View Post
After I got up to 4.6 and running for over 2 days , I decided to try for 4.7 today just to see what the temps would be stable. I restarted and upped the vcore .2 and no go. I had to bump it to 1.4 to get to 4.7. So I decided to just go back to 4.6. Well now I can't even go back to 4.6 unless I keep the vcore up to 1.4. Just restarting my PC I lost what I had. I am now back at 4.4 . I wonder how long until we get a bios revision. I like the possibilities this board brings but getting fed up with the inconsistancies.
I saw this behavior with my 2600K and MSI P67S-C43 and it was not a great overclocker. After a failed overclock, frequently my old, slower settings would no longer work if I tried them immediately after the failure. It was like some kind of fail-safe was tripped in the CPU. Shut down your rig and remove power. Let it settle for a while and then retry your old stable settings/voltage. They should work.

If they still don't work, it's possible you god a dud CPU. We have the same board after all and I'm not seeing these problems.

__________________
BIOSTAR TP67B+ | RPP 750W
Core i5-2500K @ 4.6 GHz | TRUE
256GB Samsung 840 Pro | X-Fi Titanium
16GB G.Skill Ripjaws X | Zotac GTX 770 2GB
aldamon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-29-11, 09:00 AM Thread Starter   #43
Wyno
Member



Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Durand MI

10 Year Badge
 
I had the same thought right after my last post and before you responded. I just powered down for 30 mins and redid my settings and its back up at my 4.6 OC no problem. So this is more likely a cpu issue than a board issue I'm guessing?

__________________
My Heatware
Wyno is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-29-11, 09:33 AM   #44
aldamon
Member



Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Durham, NC

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wyno View Post
So this is more likely a cpu issue than a board issue I'm guessing?
Yeah, and it's pretty damn weird. Drove me nuts. Like I said in that other post, I'm used to that behavior in GPUs, but not CPUs.

__________________
BIOSTAR TP67B+ | RPP 750W
Core i5-2500K @ 4.6 GHz | TRUE
256GB Samsung 840 Pro | X-Fi Titanium
16GB G.Skill Ripjaws X | Zotac GTX 770 2GB
aldamon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-29-11, 09:51 AM Thread Starter   #45
Wyno
Member



Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Durand MI

10 Year Badge
 
Ya, I don't like it. After I was able to get in because of the settings you shared I was able to go up and down the spectrum with different OC's. I reboot after 2 days of being stable and I can't get JACK. That is really annoying. At least I know now how to get back to where I was. I think I will just leave it at 4.6 for now until I get a new case with better airflow. The older I get the less noise I like, these fans running full throttle are getting to me.

__________________
My Heatware
Wyno is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-29-11, 05:33 PM   #46
danggitbai
New Member



Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Singapore

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wyno View Post
It came with the most recent bios. Cuda mentioned about the LLC actually being disabled when it says enabled. I am going to try that in the morning over coffee
Hi Wyno. This BIOS version is 04.06.04? Is this the same with P67CF217.BST dated 2011-02-17 in their website?
danggitbai is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-29-11, 06:05 PM   #47
danggitbai
New Member



Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Singapore

 
I get a blue screen even by just surfing. I was typing awhile ago then I got it again. I doubt it that it's my oc settings since it passed prime95 blend and in place large FFTs for at least an hour. Memtest86+ ran for 2 hours and it also passed.

The drivers of USB, LAN and audio were updated last night. Any suggestion guys?
danggitbai is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-29-11, 06:31 PM   #48
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor
First Responders


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
Revert back to stock and see if it happens. If it doesnt, then its something in your overclock.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-29-11, 07:14 PM   #49
danggitbai
New Member



Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Singapore

 
Yeah that's the first thing I'd do after work.

__________________
I5 2500K @4.7GHz @1.34V
Noctua D14
Biostar TP67B+ B3
Samsung F3
G. Skill RipjawsX 4G 12800CL7 7-8-7-24
Seasonic 750AT
Palit GTX 570 Sonic Platinum
Dell U2311H
SB Digital Music Premium HD THX
danggitbai is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-29-11, 10:04 PM   #50
aldamon
Member



Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Durham, NC

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by danggitbai View Post
I get a blue screen even by just surfing. I was typing awhile ago then I got it again. I doubt it that it's my oc settings since it passed prime95 blend and in place large FFTs for at least an hour. Memtest86+ ran for 2 hours and it also passed.

The drivers of USB, LAN and audio were updated last night. Any suggestion guys?
One hour of Prime is not sufficient. Also, try Small FFTs with SB.

__________________
BIOSTAR TP67B+ | RPP 750W
Core i5-2500K @ 4.6 GHz | TRUE
256GB Samsung 840 Pro | X-Fi Titanium
16GB G.Skill Ripjaws X | Zotac GTX 770 2GB
aldamon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-30-11, 01:38 PM   #51
jivetrky
Member

 
jivetrky's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lake Village, IN 46349

 
Have you guys seen any info the the limits of this board?

I have a chip that seems pretty decent. I see a couple guys here have done 4.7, does anyone know if these boards can do higher (stable I mean)?

I'm kind of deciding on if I want a more budget board or if I should spend the money on a higher end board (still under $200 though).



sidenote: I see this board isn't SLI certified, would it do SLI or is that not possible? (I doubt I'd even be using 2x cards, but just curious)

__________________
PLEASE MOVE YOUR CLASSIFIED AD TO SOLD ONCE IT HAS COMPLETED (Click here to learn how)

2x HTPCs / 3x Desktops / 1x 10TB UnRAID Server

[--------------HEATWARE: jivetrky --------------|-------------- GAMING NICK: jivetrky--------------]

"With every upgrade I become less clever." -Socket eh?\(_o)/
jivetrky is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-30-11, 05:49 PM   #52
danggitbai
New Member



Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Singapore

 
I tried running Prime95 using small FFTs last night for 9hrs and it passed. I wonder what's causing the BSODs.

__________________
I5 2500K @4.7GHz @1.34V
Noctua D14
Biostar TP67B+ B3
Samsung F3
G. Skill RipjawsX 4G 12800CL7 7-8-7-24
Seasonic 750AT
Palit GTX 570 Sonic Platinum
Dell U2311H
SB Digital Music Premium HD THX
danggitbai is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-30-11, 05:52 PM   #53
jivetrky
Member

 
jivetrky's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lake Village, IN 46349

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by jivetrky View Post
Have you guys seen any info the the limits of this board?

I have a chip that seems pretty decent. I see a couple guys here have done 4.7, does anyone know if these boards can do higher (stable I mean)?

I'm kind of deciding on if I want a more budget board or if I should spend the money on a higher end board (still under $200 though).



sidenote: I see this board isn't SLI certified, would it do SLI or is that not possible? (I doubt I'd even be using 2x cards, but just curious)

Well I ended up just buying the ASRock P67 Extreme4. Looks like it will take a chip to 5+Ghz pretty easy and it has SLI and CrossfireX. Hopefully I'm not wasting my money! Got it at SuperBiiz and also got a G6950 for another project so I was able to use a $15 off $200 or more coupon. So I got the board for $150 shipped!

__________________
PLEASE MOVE YOUR CLASSIFIED AD TO SOLD ONCE IT HAS COMPLETED (Click here to learn how)

2x HTPCs / 3x Desktops / 1x 10TB UnRAID Server

[--------------HEATWARE: jivetrky --------------|-------------- GAMING NICK: jivetrky--------------]

"With every upgrade I become less clever." -Socket eh?\(_o)/
jivetrky is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-30-11, 06:08 PM   #54
danggitbai
New Member



Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Singapore

 
Those ASRock P67s are already B3s? They haven't shipped the B3s yet in my area but I've heard that they will soon. Only ASRock was the last one to put the fixed boards on the shelves.

Good luck on your new purchase. Let us know if it will hit 5G.

__________________
I5 2500K @4.7GHz @1.34V
Noctua D14
Biostar TP67B+ B3
Samsung F3
G. Skill RipjawsX 4G 12800CL7 7-8-7-24
Seasonic 750AT
Palit GTX 570 Sonic Platinum
Dell U2311H
SB Digital Music Premium HD THX
danggitbai is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-30-11, 06:18 PM   #55
jivetrky
Member

 
jivetrky's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lake Village, IN 46349

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by danggitbai View Post
Those ASRock P67s are already B3s? They haven't shipped the B3s yet in my area but I've heard that they will soon. Only ASRock was the last one to put the fixed boards on the shelves.

Good luck on your new purchase. Let us know if it will hit 5G.
It is listed on the SUperbiiz site as a B3, so I sure hope it is!

LINK

And if you bring the cart up over $200 you can use this coupon for $15 off: MAD15
I believe the coupon expires after tomorrow

__________________
PLEASE MOVE YOUR CLASSIFIED AD TO SOLD ONCE IT HAS COMPLETED (Click here to learn how)

2x HTPCs / 3x Desktops / 1x 10TB UnRAID Server

[--------------HEATWARE: jivetrky --------------|-------------- GAMING NICK: jivetrky--------------]

"With every upgrade I become less clever." -Socket eh?\(_o)/
jivetrky is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-30-11, 07:23 PM   #56
jstutman

 
jstutman's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: MOOissouri

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by jivetrky View Post
It is listed on the SUperbiiz site as a B3, so I sure hope it is!

LINK

And if you bring the cart up over $200 you can use this coupon for $15 off: MAD15
I believe the coupon expires after tomorrow
I sent them a hate letter, see the vendor subsection. I wanted to purchase the Extreme4 as well, it was either this board or the Extreme4. The problem is Ewiz was charging $17 to ship a motherboard. I am not stupid, and I sent them a letter to explain my thoughts. (I am a past customer)

__________________
Folding User Stats

Heatware
jstutman is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-30-11, 07:32 PM   #57
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor
First Responders


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
Im struggling to find the relevance of this post aside to slander a company in which you have had logical explanations for the different cost of shipping in that thread...(PS dont reply, it was rhetorical).

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-30-11, 07:54 PM   #58
jivetrky
Member

 
jivetrky's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lake Village, IN 46349

 
Even with their shipping prices I saved $25 over what it would have cost me at newegg (So even without the coupon I saved almost $10 over newegg)

EDIT: And it's already been shipped

__________________
PLEASE MOVE YOUR CLASSIFIED AD TO SOLD ONCE IT HAS COMPLETED (Click here to learn how)

2x HTPCs / 3x Desktops / 1x 10TB UnRAID Server

[--------------HEATWARE: jivetrky --------------|-------------- GAMING NICK: jivetrky--------------]

"With every upgrade I become less clever." -Socket eh?\(_o)/
jivetrky is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-30-11, 11:12 PM   #59
danggitbai
New Member



Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Singapore

 
Ummm...going back to the TP67B+... :-)

__________________
I5 2500K @4.7GHz @1.34V
Noctua D14
Biostar TP67B+ B3
Samsung F3
G. Skill RipjawsX 4G 12800CL7 7-8-7-24
Seasonic 750AT
Palit GTX 570 Sonic Platinum
Dell U2311H
SB Digital Music Premium HD THX
danggitbai is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-31-11, 07:06 AM   #60
aldamon
Member



Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Durham, NC

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by danggitbai View Post
I tried running Prime95 using small FFTs last night for 9hrs and it passed. I wonder what's causing the BSODs.
Your timings are very aggressive, even though I'm sure they're the stock timings. Have you tried loosening them a bit? You won't notice a difference.

__________________
BIOSTAR TP67B+ | RPP 750W
Core i5-2500K @ 4.6 GHz | TRUE
256GB Samsung 840 Pro | X-Fi Titanium
16GB G.Skill Ripjaws X | Zotac GTX 770 2GB
aldamon is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:16 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?