Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

Barracuda 310 Web Filter

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-04-11, 02:54 PM Thread Starter   #1
Coreyoliseffect
Member

 
Coreyoliseffect's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South Carolina

 
Question Barracuda 310 Web Filter


I am hoping that there is someone around that is familiar with Barracuda products. Hopefully someone intimate specifically with the 310 Web Filter. I updated the firmware on the filter and now some issues have arisen. I am getting an error message about a certificate now. the issue is that the filter is pushing an internal address out and is returning the wrong IP, thus throwing the certificate error. I have added the address to the exception list in both the filter and IE. Still this only provides some luck.
The other issue that seems to be tagging along is that on this site there is a Java script based print processor that needs to run so that documents can be printed, because the site certificate is not being handled correctly the Java script will not run.
Anyone have any ideas? I'll give as many details as I can, still only a fledgling IT though.

__________________
Katana | Zen Master (Retired) | Banzai Garden
2500K 3.3 GHz | Q9400(2.66)@3.94GHz | Core 2 Duo T7500@2.20GHz
Gigabyte UD3H | ASUS P5Q-E(BIOS Rev 2101) | Ubuntu 10.04
G. Skill Ripjaw 2GB | OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 4X2GB | 3GB DDR2
OCV Vertex 120GB | Segate Barracuda 1TBX2 R0+1 | Hitachi 160GB X2
2 Samsung Spinpoint 1TB | ASUS EAH5870 V2 | NVidia GeForce 8600M GT
MSI Twin Frozor II 6950 | NVidia GeForce 9800 GTX+ | 9 Cell Battery
Antec 650W PSU | Cooler Master UPC 700W | Perpetually Plugged In
Stock Cooling | 5 Blue 120mm Case Fans |
WC Coming Soon | Swiftech 360 with 3 UHS Panaflos |
Articles: Ubuntu Tweak | Got Home Brew? | HWBot | HEATWARE | In The Begining
| 91 Honda Civic
Coreyoliseffect is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-05-11, 01:10 PM   #2
ppe1700
Member

 
ppe1700's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2007

 
Can you not call up support with this? When you get through to a tech they will ask you to log in to your appliance and select a button which causes the device to tunnel back to them (Barracuda). They can then access it remotely and resolve any issues.
Out of interest why did you upgrade?

__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P || AMD Phenom II 965 BE 3.8GHz @1.475v (200x19) || 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 CMZ8GX3M2A1866C9 || Corsair H70 CPU cooler || Corsair AX850 PSU
1TB Western Digital Caviar Black 64MB Cache || MSI 560GTX Ti Frozr II (Slightly OC 1GHz)


Crunching for Einstein@Home
ppe1700 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-05-11, 09:43 PM Thread Starter   #3
Coreyoliseffect
Member

 
Coreyoliseffect's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South Carolina

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppe1700 View Post
Can you not call up support with this? When you get through to a tech they will ask you to log in to your appliance and select a button which causes the device to tunnel back to them (Barracuda). They can then access it remotely and resolve any issues.
Out of interest why did you upgrade?
I think some male ego might be in the way. Truth is there is a third party IT company that we work with and they couldn't figure it out either.

We were having some issues with it hanging so decided to investigate. Turns out the firmware was three (3) versions behind. I hadn't worried about it since I just started actually working there about three months ago. Once the firmware got updated this issue arose. Though the program that we are having issues with isn't that great either. WINTOX if anyone is familiar. We use it to submit requests for drug screens and such.

The reason that I post things like this here is that I find that the people here are... more knowledgeable about multiple solutions that many tech support persons. From my experience with tech support chances are that they are reading a script and may or may not actually not know what they are talking about. I did some tech support for a certain satellite TV provider. Though I might just end up having to resort to that.

__________________
Katana | Zen Master (Retired) | Banzai Garden
2500K 3.3 GHz | Q9400(2.66)@3.94GHz | Core 2 Duo T7500@2.20GHz
Gigabyte UD3H | ASUS P5Q-E(BIOS Rev 2101) | Ubuntu 10.04
G. Skill Ripjaw 2GB | OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 4X2GB | 3GB DDR2
OCV Vertex 120GB | Segate Barracuda 1TBX2 R0+1 | Hitachi 160GB X2
2 Samsung Spinpoint 1TB | ASUS EAH5870 V2 | NVidia GeForce 8600M GT
MSI Twin Frozor II 6950 | NVidia GeForce 9800 GTX+ | 9 Cell Battery
Antec 650W PSU | Cooler Master UPC 700W | Perpetually Plugged In
Stock Cooling | 5 Blue 120mm Case Fans |
WC Coming Soon | Swiftech 360 with 3 UHS Panaflos |
Articles: Ubuntu Tweak | Got Home Brew? | HWBot | HEATWARE | In The Begining
| 91 Honda Civic
Coreyoliseffect is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-05-11, 09:55 PM   #4
DreamerBrian
Member

 
DreamerBrian's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Seattle

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coreyoliseffect View Post
The reason that I post things like this here is that I find that the people here are... more knowledgeable about multiple solutions that many tech support persons.

__________________
Yayer.
DreamerBrian is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-06-11, 03:00 AM   #5
ppe1700
Member

 
ppe1700's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2007

 
Sorry if I came across badly - I didn't mean to. I have limited experience with the Barracuda web filters. I dislike them (if I'm honest! ).
However, I believe to maintain the updates for the web-threats and to obtain software you need a support contract with Barracuda. You should use this support contract to have this issue resolved. I know with some manufacturers you cannot just upgrade code to the latest version. The reason being that sometimes there are databases (for example) that are progressively updated with each software release. Barracuda would have provided this info if this was the case, and it may not be, but food for thought.
This could also simply be a software bug. There are two ways to tackle it - regress the upgrade or contact Barracuda :/

__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P || AMD Phenom II 965 BE 3.8GHz @1.475v (200x19) || 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 CMZ8GX3M2A1866C9 || Corsair H70 CPU cooler || Corsair AX850 PSU
1TB Western Digital Caviar Black 64MB Cache || MSI 560GTX Ti Frozr II (Slightly OC 1GHz)


Crunching for Einstein@Home
ppe1700 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-06-11, 06:10 AM Thread Starter   #6
Coreyoliseffect
Member

 
Coreyoliseffect's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South Carolina

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppe1700 View Post
Sorry if I came across badly - I didn't mean to. I have limited experience with the Barracuda web filters. I dislike them (if I'm honest! ).
However, I believe to maintain the updates for the web-threats and to obtain software you need a support contract with Barracuda. You should use this support contract to have this issue resolved. I know with some manufacturers you cannot just upgrade code to the latest version. The reason being that sometimes there are databases (for example) that are progressively updated with each software release. Barracuda would have provided this info if this was the case, and it may not be, but food for thought.
This could also simply be a software bug. There are two ways to tackle it - regress the upgrade or contact Barracuda :/
I didn't take it as disconcerting. I learned a long time ago that text is deceiving. Although I did like Brian's response.

Anywho, I'll have to call them I guess. Thanks!

__________________
Katana | Zen Master (Retired) | Banzai Garden
2500K 3.3 GHz | Q9400(2.66)@3.94GHz | Core 2 Duo T7500@2.20GHz
Gigabyte UD3H | ASUS P5Q-E(BIOS Rev 2101) | Ubuntu 10.04
G. Skill Ripjaw 2GB | OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 4X2GB | 3GB DDR2
OCV Vertex 120GB | Segate Barracuda 1TBX2 R0+1 | Hitachi 160GB X2
2 Samsung Spinpoint 1TB | ASUS EAH5870 V2 | NVidia GeForce 8600M GT
MSI Twin Frozor II 6950 | NVidia GeForce 9800 GTX+ | 9 Cell Battery
Antec 650W PSU | Cooler Master UPC 700W | Perpetually Plugged In
Stock Cooling | 5 Blue 120mm Case Fans |
WC Coming Soon | Swiftech 360 with 3 UHS Panaflos |
Articles: Ubuntu Tweak | Got Home Brew? | HWBot | HEATWARE | In The Begining
| 91 Honda Civic
Coreyoliseffect is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-06-11, 06:57 AM   #7
ppe1700
Member

 
ppe1700's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2007

 
Theyre generally quite a friendly bunch. Although if you have a Riverbed Steelhead then a tech support call to them is a must at least once. Their immense wealth of knowledge is astonishing

__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P || AMD Phenom II 965 BE 3.8GHz @1.475v (200x19) || 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 CMZ8GX3M2A1866C9 || Corsair H70 CPU cooler || Corsair AX850 PSU
1TB Western Digital Caviar Black 64MB Cache || MSI 560GTX Ti Frozr II (Slightly OC 1GHz)


Crunching for Einstein@Home
ppe1700 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-06-11, 11:05 AM Thread Starter   #8
Coreyoliseffect
Member

 
Coreyoliseffect's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South Carolina

 
Quite right about their tech support. Seems to be a small bunch. I could hear some people talking in the background but it was quiet enough. Got the initial issue resolved now I just need a Java applet white listed. Guess all is well that ends well.

__________________
Katana | Zen Master (Retired) | Banzai Garden
2500K 3.3 GHz | Q9400(2.66)@3.94GHz | Core 2 Duo T7500@2.20GHz
Gigabyte UD3H | ASUS P5Q-E(BIOS Rev 2101) | Ubuntu 10.04
G. Skill Ripjaw 2GB | OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 4X2GB | 3GB DDR2
OCV Vertex 120GB | Segate Barracuda 1TBX2 R0+1 | Hitachi 160GB X2
2 Samsung Spinpoint 1TB | ASUS EAH5870 V2 | NVidia GeForce 8600M GT
MSI Twin Frozor II 6950 | NVidia GeForce 9800 GTX+ | 9 Cell Battery
Antec 650W PSU | Cooler Master UPC 700W | Perpetually Plugged In
Stock Cooling | 5 Blue 120mm Case Fans |
WC Coming Soon | Swiftech 360 with 3 UHS Panaflos |
Articles: Ubuntu Tweak | Got Home Brew? | HWBot | HEATWARE | In The Begining
| 91 Honda Civic
Coreyoliseffect is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-06-11, 01:44 PM   #9
ppe1700
Member

 
ppe1700's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2007

 
Cool! I think they're regional depending on your timezone depends on who you speak to.

__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P || AMD Phenom II 965 BE 3.8GHz @1.475v (200x19) || 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 CMZ8GX3M2A1866C9 || Corsair H70 CPU cooler || Corsair AX850 PSU
1TB Western Digital Caviar Black 64MB Cache || MSI 560GTX Ti Frozr II (Slightly OC 1GHz)


Crunching for Einstein@Home
ppe1700 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-02-11, 11:12 AM Thread Starter   #10
Coreyoliseffect
Member

 
Coreyoliseffect's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South Carolina

 
I just wanted to close this thread out. I got a hold of Barracuda and they got it worked out. I think they did something on the backend. Not really to sure what to be honest. The point is that it works!

__________________
Katana | Zen Master (Retired) | Banzai Garden
2500K 3.3 GHz | Q9400(2.66)@3.94GHz | Core 2 Duo T7500@2.20GHz
Gigabyte UD3H | ASUS P5Q-E(BIOS Rev 2101) | Ubuntu 10.04
G. Skill Ripjaw 2GB | OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 4X2GB | 3GB DDR2
OCV Vertex 120GB | Segate Barracuda 1TBX2 R0+1 | Hitachi 160GB X2
2 Samsung Spinpoint 1TB | ASUS EAH5870 V2 | NVidia GeForce 8600M GT
MSI Twin Frozor II 6950 | NVidia GeForce 9800 GTX+ | 9 Cell Battery
Antec 650W PSU | Cooler Master UPC 700W | Perpetually Plugged In
Stock Cooling | 5 Blue 120mm Case Fans |
WC Coming Soon | Swiftech 360 with 3 UHS Panaflos |
Articles: Ubuntu Tweak | Got Home Brew? | HWBot | HEATWARE | In The Begining
| 91 Honda Civic
Coreyoliseffect is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?