Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

"CD/DVD Drive Device Driver missing" when clean installing Windows 7

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-23-11, 06:53 PM Thread Starter   #1
iaacp
Member

 
iaacp's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Glendora CA

 
"CD/DVD Drive Device Driver missing" when clean installing Windows 7


Hey guys,

I am doing a build for a friend. After installing all components and trying to install Windows 7 with SP1, after clicking install I get a pop up screen that says

"A required cd/dvd drive device driver is missing. If you have a driver floppy disc, cd, dvd, or USB flash drive, please insert it now."

The DVD drive I'm trying to use is an LG gh22ns50.

Now, after various searches, it seems this problem mostly occurs to people that are trying to use multiple hard drives or disc drives (like in RAID), and the issue isn't always related to the DVD drive at all. All I could find on LG's website were firmware updates, which as far as I can tell need to be used while actually on the desktop or something.

Can anyone help me out? It's driving me crazy.

__________________
PSU: Corsair 650W T2 V2
GPU: EVGA GTX 560 Ti SC (1GB)
CPU: i5 2500K
RAM: 8GB (4x2) G.Skill Ripjaws 1600
Storage: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SSD - OCZ Vertex 3 120GB - WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 RPM
Mobo: Gigabyte Z68

Steam - iaacp
iaacp is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-23-11, 09:55 PM   #2
habbajabba
Member



Join Date: Oct 2005

 
The OS does not have the required sata drivers with which to recognize and therefore use your sata lg burner. Here is a link where you can get them. They will work from a flash drive or floppy.
http://www.siliconimage.com/support/...32&cat=3&os=10

Also here is a link for the lg's latest firmware (sep 2010).
http://www.firmwarehq.com/LG/GH22NS50/files.html

You should also run this (sptd) after you get the os installed.
http://www.duplexsecure.com/downloads
All my drives are native satas. My OS disk came with multiple versions of the Silicon Image Serial ATA driver which is what you need to recognize your burner at the F6 prompt.

__________________
Intel Northwood @3.06 GHz
Biostar microatx
2 GB DDR2 675
Evga 8400gs
Samsung 2232GW 2ms 22"
Altec Lansing 2.1 speakers
Memorex ext usb burner
Win7Ult 32bit/Manjaro dualboot
WD cav blue 320gb
Samsung F4 2tb
WD Blue 2tb
CP850avrlcd ups

Last edited by habbajabba; 04-24-11 at 12:22 AM.
habbajabba is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-26-11, 01:38 AM Thread Starter   #3
iaacp
Member

 
iaacp's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Glendora CA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by habbajabba View Post
The OS does not have the required sata drivers with which to recognize and therefore use your sata lg burner. Here is a link where you can get them. They will work from a flash drive or floppy.
http://www.siliconimage.com/support/...32&cat=3&os=10

Also here is a link for the lg's latest firmware (sep 2010).
http://www.firmwarehq.com/LG/GH22NS50/files.html

You should also run this (sptd) after you get the os installed.
http://www.duplexsecure.com/downloads
All my drives are native satas. My OS disk came with multiple versions of the Silicon Image Serial ATA driver which is what you need to recognize your burner at the F6 prompt.
I tried the "* SiI 3132 64-bit Windows BASE Driver" and it didn't work. Was it the wrong one?

__________________
PSU: Corsair 650W T2 V2
GPU: EVGA GTX 560 Ti SC (1GB)
CPU: i5 2500K
RAM: 8GB (4x2) G.Skill Ripjaws 1600
Storage: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SSD - OCZ Vertex 3 120GB - WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 RPM
Mobo: Gigabyte Z68

Steam - iaacp
iaacp is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-26-11, 11:43 PM Thread Starter   #4
iaacp
Member

 
iaacp's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Glendora CA

 
Does anyone know if it could possibly be another issue? Or if I indeed grabbed the wrong driver?

__________________
PSU: Corsair 650W T2 V2
GPU: EVGA GTX 560 Ti SC (1GB)
CPU: i5 2500K
RAM: 8GB (4x2) G.Skill Ripjaws 1600
Storage: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SSD - OCZ Vertex 3 120GB - WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 RPM
Mobo: Gigabyte Z68

Steam - iaacp
iaacp is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-27-11, 01:05 AM   #5
MKOIS
Member



Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: ILLINOIS

 
def sounds like a driver issue. Thats weird! Usually this is hdd's only
MKOIS is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-27-11, 01:13 AM Thread Starter   #6
iaacp
Member

 
iaacp's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Glendora CA

 
Is it possible it could be a hdd driver error? I've never had to install drivers for an hdd.

__________________
PSU: Corsair 650W T2 V2
GPU: EVGA GTX 560 Ti SC (1GB)
CPU: i5 2500K
RAM: 8GB (4x2) G.Skill Ripjaws 1600
Storage: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SSD - OCZ Vertex 3 120GB - WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 RPM
Mobo: Gigabyte Z68

Steam - iaacp
iaacp is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-27-11, 01:32 AM   #7
MKOIS
Member



Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: ILLINOIS

 
in your Bios, try turning off the IDE emulation for SATA drives, and try installing again, let me know if that helped, and check to see if its in AHCI mode.

One last thing.... check to see that the CD/DVD drive is first boot device, and HD is second.
MKOIS is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-27-11, 08:55 AM   #8
habbajabba
Member



Join Date: Oct 2005

 
I have no idea what the mobo needs without knowing what it is capable of. You never said any specifics and I assume your sig is not the one.
These should be applicable choices

Which you can find using this page.
http://www.siliconimage.com/support/
My OS has all these in it's driver folder.
SI3112.sys
SI3112r.sys
SI3114.sys
SI3114r.sys
Si3114r5.sys
SI3124.sys
Si3124r5.sys
SI3132.sys
Si3132r5.sys (r = raid)
I have 4 sata300 ports on a pci-x 1.0 mobo and would assume the 3124's are what I'm using.

__________________
Intel Northwood @3.06 GHz
Biostar microatx
2 GB DDR2 675
Evga 8400gs
Samsung 2232GW 2ms 22"
Altec Lansing 2.1 speakers
Memorex ext usb burner
Win7Ult 32bit/Manjaro dualboot
WD cav blue 320gb
Samsung F4 2tb
WD Blue 2tb
CP850avrlcd ups

Last edited by habbajabba; 04-27-11 at 10:42 PM.
habbajabba is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-27-11, 04:30 PM   #9
Know Nuttin
Senior Member

 
Know Nuttin's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada

 
Did you try another disk, or installing from USB flash drive?

__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 965BE, Asus M5A88-V Evo, 8GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3-1600 , Coolermaster Hyper212+, OCZ Vertex Plus 60GB, Seagate 7200.11 500GB, Antec EA-380
Lenovo X200, P8400 C2D, 8GB, 120GB OCZ Vertex 3.
Know Nuttin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-27-11, 05:10 PM   #10
MKOIS
Member



Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: ILLINOIS

 
Yeah worse case you can do USB install ^ ^ ^
MKOIS is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-27-11, 10:40 PM   #11
habbajabba
Member



Join Date: Oct 2005

 
Simplest thing to do is swap the sata dvd drive with a standard ide one, if you have one. Once booted then swap back and simply use one of the silicon drivers above as appropriate. I find it reprehensible that the most widely used OS in the world has yet to figure out how to add proper drivers for, what is now, standard hardware on every new pc.

__________________
Intel Northwood @3.06 GHz
Biostar microatx
2 GB DDR2 675
Evga 8400gs
Samsung 2232GW 2ms 22"
Altec Lansing 2.1 speakers
Memorex ext usb burner
Win7Ult 32bit/Manjaro dualboot
WD cav blue 320gb
Samsung F4 2tb
WD Blue 2tb
CP850avrlcd ups
habbajabba is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-27-11, 11:12 PM   #12
MKOIS
Member



Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: ILLINOIS

 
Some motheboards dont have IDE though (well most modern ones anyways)
MKOIS is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-27-11, 11:13 PM Thread Starter   #13
iaacp
Member

 
iaacp's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Glendora CA

 
I think I'm going to try installing from a USB. Do I just need to stick the iso onto my usb stick? I've honestly never done it any other way than from a disc.

__________________
PSU: Corsair 650W T2 V2
GPU: EVGA GTX 560 Ti SC (1GB)
CPU: i5 2500K
RAM: 8GB (4x2) G.Skill Ripjaws 1600
Storage: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SSD - OCZ Vertex 3 120GB - WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 RPM
Mobo: Gigabyte Z68

Steam - iaacp
iaacp is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-27-11, 11:14 PM   #14
MKOIS
Member



Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: ILLINOIS

 
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mwX9cmJ8BoM


Quote:
Originally Posted by iaacp View Post
I think I'm going to try installing from a USB. Do I just need to stick the iso onto my usb stick? I've honestly never done it any other way than from a disc.
MKOIS is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-27-11, 11:15 PM Thread Starter   #15
iaacp
Member

 
iaacp's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Glendora CA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Know Nuttin View Post
Did you try another disk, or installing from USB flash drive?
Quote:
Originally Posted by habbajabba View Post
I have no idea what the mobo needs without knowing what it is capable of. You never said any specifics and I assume your sig is not the one.
These should be applicable choices

Which you can find using this page.
http://www.siliconimage.com/support/
My OS has all these in it's driver folder.
SI3112.sys
SI3112r.sys
SI3114.sys
SI3114r.sys
Si3114r5.sys
SI3124.sys
Si3124r5.sys
SI3132.sys
Si3132r5.sys (r = raid)
I have 4 sata300 ports on a pci-x 1.0 mobo and would assume the 3124's are what I'm using.
This is the motherboard: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813138303

Like I said though, I'm going to just try installing from a USB.

__________________
PSU: Corsair 650W T2 V2
GPU: EVGA GTX 560 Ti SC (1GB)
CPU: i5 2500K
RAM: 8GB (4x2) G.Skill Ripjaws 1600
Storage: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SSD - OCZ Vertex 3 120GB - WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 RPM
Mobo: Gigabyte Z68

Steam - iaacp
iaacp is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-27-11, 11:18 PM Thread Starter   #16
iaacp
Member

 
iaacp's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Glendora CA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by MKOIS View Post
Cool, I'll try that. I have both a burned dvd (legal copy) and the iso on this computer. I'll be back in a bit to let you know how it turned out.

__________________
PSU: Corsair 650W T2 V2
GPU: EVGA GTX 560 Ti SC (1GB)
CPU: i5 2500K
RAM: 8GB (4x2) G.Skill Ripjaws 1600
Storage: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SSD - OCZ Vertex 3 120GB - WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 RPM
Mobo: Gigabyte Z68

Steam - iaacp
iaacp is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-27-11, 11:19 PM   #17
MKOIS
Member



Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: ILLINOIS

 
Awesome ,good luck dude!
MKOIS is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-28-11, 09:02 AM   #18
SteveLord
Member

 
SteveLord's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Iowa

 
I've had this before and only way I got around it was doing it via USB....if I remember. It's a more common problem than people think, but YMMV on a solution unfortunately.

__________________
"There are two kinds of pain. The sort of pain that makes you strong,
or useless pain. The sort of pain that's only suffering. I have no
patience for useless things."

__________________
SteveLord is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-28-11, 03:55 PM   #19
MKOIS
Member



Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: ILLINOIS

 
Something similar like this happened to me about 4-5 days ago. Windows install was mad because hdd wasnt set as default boot

even tho it was set as second boot device (not exactly same issue he has) but just another wierd Microsoft problem
MKOIS is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-28-11, 05:46 PM   #20
Know Nuttin
Senior Member

 
Know Nuttin's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada

 
I've only ever gotten this error when I tried to do a vlite on the installation files. Otherwise, USB or DVD has always worked.

__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 965BE, Asus M5A88-V Evo, 8GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3-1600 , Coolermaster Hyper212+, OCZ Vertex Plus 60GB, Seagate 7200.11 500GB, Antec EA-380
Lenovo X200, P8400 C2D, 8GB, 120GB OCZ Vertex 3.
Know Nuttin is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?