• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclocking i7 920 with MSI X58 Pro (MS-7522)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Noodle217

Registered
I have a stable (ran prime95 overnight and while at work with no errors) overclock at about 4.0 GHz and I would like to get it past that if at all possible. Up to the 4.0 I was increasing the base clock or whatever and messed around with voltage a little bit. I try to bring the base clock up to 195 from 191 and within about 7-10 minutes on Prime95 the computer freezes up. With the voltages I have the cpu voltage at +.210, the cpu vcore is 1.480, cpu pll voltage 1.60, qpi 1.16, dram 1.47, NB 1.25, and the ICH is on auto. Most of those I haven't messed with, I think I just increased the CPU voltage and the NB. I'm new to overclocking so I don't know exactly what's needed...

If you don't have good (and I mean really good) water cooling the 17-920 is very hard to hold above 3.8 to 3.9. My vcore at 3.8 is 1.2 volts. When overclocking take little steps. A big step could be your last.

If you don't have good (and I mean really good) water cooling the 17-920 is very hard to hold above 3.8 to 3.9. My vcore at 3.8 is 1.2 volts. When overclocking take little steps. A big step could be your last.

It really depends on your chip. I have mine @ 4Ghz on 1.275v with a CM GeminII S, a 30 $ cooler. My temps at full load are high, but, you wont really get 100% utilisation for 8 hours.