• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Optimizing throughput for the contest

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

HankB

I'm new to FAH and have gotten the SMP CPU client and the Windows GPU client running on my Linux box. Now I'm wondering about some of the options that the FAH config asks about and if they will affect throughput.

There is a choice for memory:
Code:
Acceptable size of work assignment and work result packets (bigger units
 may have large memory demands) -- 'small' is <5MB, 'normal' is <10MB, and
 'big' is >10MB (small/normal/big) [big]?

Is bigger better? I've gone with big and the memory footprint seems to be pretty small. (Smaller than X and the chromium browser.)

Then there are the advanced options:

Code:
Change advanced options (yes/no) [no]? yes
Core Priority (idle/low) [idle]? 
CPU usage requested (5-100) [100]? 
Disable highly optimized assembly code (no/yes) [no]? 
Pause if battery power is being used (useful for laptops) (no/yes) [no]? 
Interval, in minutes, between checkpoints (3-30) [15]? 
Memory, in MB, to indicate (3960 available) [3960]? 
Set -advmethods flag always, requesting new advanced
  scientific cores and/or work units if available (no/yes) [no]? 
Ignore any deadline information (mainly useful if
 system clock frequently has errors) (no/yes) [no]? 
Machine ID (1-16) [2]? 
Launch automatically, install as a service in this directory (yes/no) [no]? 
The following options require you to restart the client before they take effect
Disable CPU affinity lock (no/yes) [no]? 
Additional client parameters []? 
IP address to bind core to (for viewer) []?
Which, if any, of those will affect the points I earn and how should they be set?

If the answers to the above questions differ between Windows, Linux and Linux as VM guest on Windows, please specify.