Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

Internal HDD I/O device error.

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-18-11, 11:50 AM Thread Starter   #1
mets111
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2011

 
Internal HDD I/O device error.


Hi I have a Western Digital Caviar Black WD1002FAEX internal hard drive. I have had it for about six months and it ran with no issues, I use a SSD for my windows installation with everything else being installed to this drive. Recently I have been receiving "error: the request could not be performed because of an I/O device error." I ran a diagnostic tool provided from WD and it fixed some bad sectors but I am still having problems. If I run a game or watch a movie off the drive my computer will freeze and I receive "Windows explorer has stopped working." I can copy files to and from the drive with no issue but if I try to read and write at the same time I get the I/O error message. What can I do? Thanks in advance.
mets111 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-18-11, 11:56 AM   #2
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Run HDTune (Download link), screenshot the Health tab and post it here.

Backup your data immediately, as well. If you can't back up the system now, shut it down until you can.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-18-11, 12:27 PM Thread Starter   #3
mets111
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2011

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thideras View Post
Run HDTune (Download link), screenshot the Health tab and post it here.

Backup your data immediately, as well. If you can't back up the system now, shut it down until you can.
It gives almost no information.

Name:  rsz_2011-05-18_13-22-56_878.jpg
Views: 4137
Size:  308.4 KB
mets111 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-18-11, 12:48 PM   #4
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
That is odd. Is this drive plugged directly into the motherboard via a SATA cable?

I would also try the WD tools, which should be available for download on their website. This will let you run a quick test on the drive to see if it has problems.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-18-11, 01:05 PM Thread Starter   #5
mets111
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2011

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thideras View Post
That is odd. Is this drive plugged directly into the motherboard via a SATA cable?

I would also try the WD tools, which should be available for download on their website. This will let you run a quick test on the drive to see if it has problems.
Its plugged in via a Rosewill Sata3 cable, I ran the diagnostic tool off WD website and it said it repaired bad sectors but its still having issues.
mets111 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-18-11, 01:11 PM   #6
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Is it making any odd noises? If so, RMA. If it isn't, use a different cable on a different port or try it in another computer.

If that still fails, back up the data and RMA the drive.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-18-11, 04:37 PM   #7
deathman20
High Speed Senior

 
deathman20's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Where the Cheese Heads Live

10 Year Badge
 
That is really strange.

Defiantly back up the drive ASAP or if you can't avoid powering it up til you can get a drive to copy the data off.
Then RMA the drive, they might be able to cross ship drives if necessary (deposit has to be put down).

__________________
-=The Gamer=-
MSI Z68A-GD65 (G3) | i5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz | 1.3875V | 28C Idle / 65C Load (LinX)
8Gig G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 9-9-9-24 @ 1600Mhz w/ 1.5V | TR Ultra eXtreme 120 w/ 2 Fans
Sapphire 7950 VaporX 1150/1500 w/ 1.2V/1.5V | 32C Idle / 64C Load | 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD's / 512GB Samsung 840 Pro
BitFenix Shinobi Window Case | SilverStone DA750 | Dell 2405FPW 24" Screen
-=The Server=-
Synology DS1511+ | Dual Core 1.8Ghz CPU | 30C Idle / 38C Load
3 Gig PC2-6400 | 4x Samsung F4 2TB Raid5 | 1x Samsung F4 2TB
Heat
deathman20 is online now Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-18-11, 10:20 PM Thread Starter   #8
mets111
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2011

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thideras View Post
Is it making any odd noises? If so, RMA. If it isn't, use a different cable on a different port or try it in another computer.

If that still fails, back up the data and RMA the drive.
It is making no noise. I just switched Sata cables and ports, now my computer isn't associating any of my programs to the drive because it was drive D now it is drive G. I went into Disk Management and it won't let me change the drive name to D, is there a way to change every file to now use G? Other than that the issue with the I/O error is completely gone and the drive is moving much much faster.

Name:  HDTune_Health_WDC_WD1002FAEX-00Z3A0.png
Views: 4100
Size:  65.5 KB

Last edited by mets111; 05-18-11 at 11:01 PM.
mets111 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-18-11, 11:07 PM   #9
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Reassign the drive letter in disk management.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-18-11, 11:10 PM Thread Starter   #10
mets111
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2011

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thideras View Post
Reassign the drive letter in disk management.
It will not let me i can choose every letter except C D or E.
mets111 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-18-11, 11:12 PM   #11
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Is something using it already? It sounds like another drive (DVD?) got switched to it. You will have to unassign it from the existing device and assign it back to the original.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-18-11, 11:18 PM Thread Starter   #12
mets111
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2011

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thideras View Post
Is something using it already? It sounds like another drive (DVD?) got switched to it. You will have to unassign it from the existing device and assign it back to the original.
Ahhh, GENIUS! Thank You Sooo Much all is well!
mets111 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-19-11, 08:25 AM   #13
deathman20
High Speed Senior

 
deathman20's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Where the Cheese Heads Live

10 Year Badge
 
Glad its working again.

__________________
-=The Gamer=-
MSI Z68A-GD65 (G3) | i5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz | 1.3875V | 28C Idle / 65C Load (LinX)
8Gig G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 9-9-9-24 @ 1600Mhz w/ 1.5V | TR Ultra eXtreme 120 w/ 2 Fans
Sapphire 7950 VaporX 1150/1500 w/ 1.2V/1.5V | 32C Idle / 64C Load | 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD's / 512GB Samsung 840 Pro
BitFenix Shinobi Window Case | SilverStone DA750 | Dell 2405FPW 24" Screen
-=The Server=-
Synology DS1511+ | Dual Core 1.8Ghz CPU | 30C Idle / 38C Load
3 Gig PC2-6400 | 4x Samsung F4 2TB Raid5 | 1x Samsung F4 2TB
Heat
deathman20 is online now Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?