Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

3x140mm fans auto controlled from mobo?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-22-11, 07:08 AM Thread Starter   #1
PepeLapiu
Registered

 
PepeLapiu's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2011
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

 
Question 3x140mm fans auto controlled from mobo?


Thanx and cheers!

Last edited by PepeLapiu; 05-26-11 at 09:24 AM.
PepeLapiu is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-22-11, 07:23 AM   #2
Crapxxas119
Member



Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Exton, Pennsylvania

 
Maybe you can make an amplifier so that that one 4 pin connector powers some transistors that power all 3 of them. But you need to know what each pin of the 4 pin mobo connector does.
Crapxxas119 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-22-11, 07:59 AM   #3
new/b
New Member



Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Texas

 
The Sunbeam Rheosmart 6 should fit the bill... can control 6 30w channels from the PWM header on mobo

http://www.sunbeamtech.com/PRODUCTS/Rheosmart/6.html
new/b is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-23-11, 12:30 PM   #4
gangaskan

 
gangaskan's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Lorain, ohio

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by PepeLapiu View Post
Okay so I am not an electricity genius by any means (just the opposite) so this might be a stoopit question for the rest of you. And my Google sense doesn't shine today on this particular subject

I want to have an external 3x120 rad with 3x140 fans on it.

I would very much like to have automatic control of those fans.

I understand some after market fan controllers can do that but then you have to rely on those ribbon temp probes and I don't really like those.

I would rather have the mobo control the 3 fans based on the more accurate internal cpu temp.

Hooking up a single case fan to the 4 pin cpufan connector on the mobo would be easy enough. But how can I get that 4 pin cpufan connector to control 3x140mm fans?
I am guessing there would not be enough juice on that tiny 4 pin connector to power up all 3 fan, or is there?

Thanx and cheers!
i am sure there is not enough power on those 4 pins to control the fans, you would over load that circuit pretty quickly.


i would suggest you get a controller, you can then control each fan individually that sunbeam reho would be perfect, almost overkill.

__________________
Main Rig: [Silverstone TJ06 painted hammer black] [Intel E6550 3.2 ghz 1.35v ] [4 gigs Gskil] [Asus P5k Premium Wifi/ap] [Soundblaster Audiguy ZS platinum] [ATI 3560 pro] [enhiem 1250 pump, Swiftech Storm, primoflex tubing, mcres micro, maze 4 gpu block][ Windows Vista x64 Ultimate sp1]
HTPC: [LianLI V300B] [Opty 165 1.88 ghz] [Thermalright XP90] [2 gb OCZ Platinum DDR400] [Soundblaster X-FI Xtreme Music] [8600GT Stock] [Windows Vista Home Premium sp1]
Server: [Rocketfish Tower] [c2d E6600][Scythe Ninja Jr] [4 gigs Gskil ddr2 800][ATI X850XT ] [Windows Vista B]
Network: Cisco 851W uptime: forever
Heatware
gangaskan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-23-11, 01:04 PM   #5
Khan
Member

 
Khan's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2006

 
the problem I forsee with this is unless you make a custom shroud for the 140's you lose a lot of static pressure on the fans from bleed off to the sides, what I would recommend is getting a rad like a swiftech or an xpsc that are made for low speed fans and get 3 scythe gentle typhoon 1450's on a fan controller.

they have excellent static pressure and are quiet as fans in its class get.

__________________
AMD PII 960T @ 4.0
corsair dominator @1660 8-8-8-24
asus crosshair III formula
asus DCII 7870
corsair HX750 750 watt PSU

Hyper 212 EVO.
Khan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-23-11, 01:06 PM   #6
Aynjell
Member



Join Date: Dec 2008

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by new/b View Post
The Sunbeam Rheosmart 6 should fit the bill... can control 6 30w channels from the PWM header on mobo

http://www.sunbeamtech.com/PRODUCTS/Rheosmart/6.html
If he's only using 3 fans, a rheosmart 3 would be cheaper.

__________________
Do not break wind in the same room as a dark brother or sister; to do so is to invoke the wrath of Sithis. - Aynjell, in fond memory of Lucien LeChance
Aynjell is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-23-11, 10:36 PM   #7
bing
Low Profile Senior

 
bing's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Indonesia

 
If those 3 140mm fans are PWM fans, its pretty easy, you just need to connect the pwm wire from each fan together and connect to the mobo header at the pwm pin.

While the power pos and neg wires from all fans go to psu molex, so they wont load the mobo.

For rpm monitoring, pick one of them and connect to mobo rpm pin. Rpm wire signal can not be joined together.

bing is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-24-11, 12:08 AM   #8
Conumdrum
Wants Old Title Back
Didn't Get It

 
Conumdrum's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Las Vegas

 
Be careful, .2 amps might be running amp draw. Startup amps can be double that.

140mm fans don't have very good pressure charecteristics, so be forwarned, low speed 140mm fans might not work well with many rads. They just can't push the air through the rad.

__________________
I want my old title back.
Old beast is torn down.
Will update later.

900 watt (1500VA) UPS
27" ASUS VG 3D/Nvidia V2 3D glasses and 24" Acer H243H
Conumdrum is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-24-11, 03:39 AM   #9
Conumdrum
Wants Old Title Back
Didn't Get It

 
Conumdrum's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Las Vegas

 
With the smallish rad 1200 or 1300 RPM probably won't cut it. Smallish meaning what your wanting to cool for the rad you have. Especially if you overclock a lot. Push/pull would probably work, just buy twice as many fans. There just isn't a lot of good 2000 RPM 140mm fans yet that I know of.

You do the math, a 120x4 is larger than a 140x3. 25mm is the standard thickness of most PC fans. They are okay. 38mm thick is the performance standard for mora cooling, usually with added RPM for the ones that can't do without.

Please use this link to see what starting current vs rated current, use the very popular
D1225C12B5AZ-00 one as I'm using it for current. I was way wrong. It's about FOUR times higher.
.083 amps running, .360 for start up amps. Hmmm...............

So, 3 of the .1 amp fans will have a start up current of, lets say 1.2 amps? Over 1 amp for sure.

This fan isn't unusual, it's just one I know where the link is.
http://catalog.nidec-servo.com/digit...pdf/D1225C.pdf

So, please make sure on the fans first.

Funny sig BTW.

__________________
I want my old title back.
Old beast is torn down.
Will update later.

900 watt (1500VA) UPS
27" ASUS VG 3D/Nvidia V2 3D glasses and 24" Acer H243H
Conumdrum is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-10-11, 09:07 AM   #10
Makaijin
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2002

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Conumdrum View Post
You do the math, a 120x4 is larger than a 140x3.
Actually, a 140.3 rad has more surface area than a 120.4.

140.3 rad = 420*140 = 58800 mm2
120.4 rad = 480*120 = 57600 mm2

Speaking of Gentle Typhoons, the 1850s do have a startup current draw of 360mA. Running 3 of them would take it to 1080mA.

I have the Asus P8P67 Deluxe. According to the manuals the max supported per fan header is 1Amp. I use a cable splitter and connect 3 GT 1450s per header with no problems since they're rated at 210mA startup draw per fan.
Makaijin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-10-11, 10:36 AM Thread Starter   #11
PepeLapiu
Registered

 
PepeLapiu's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2011
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

 
At 1.08 Amps, I would use 3 GT1850 on a single header ...... only goes over the amperage rating by 0.08 Amp ..... for a couple seconds top.

__________________
No trees were harmed in the sending of this message. However, a large number of electrons were terribly inconvenienced.
PepeLapiu is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-10-11, 01:28 PM   #12
Autochthon
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2011

 
You can get a TIP31C transistor (or something els ein the 30 series). Mount it on a small heatsink. Run a fan tach line to the tach line on the MB. Run the the regulated power out line to the control lead on the TIP. Run 12v power in from a molex to the line in on the TIP and use the power out from the TIP to power the fans. It can handle up to 3 amps if mounted on a proper heatsink. some old 486 HS or the like. This should easily run 6 reasonably sized fans. If you need more use a higher rated transistor, the TIP40 series is rated at 6 amps.
Autochthon is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:06 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?