• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Building New PC

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Madengineer

Ok,
I'm looking to build a new pc from the ground up...I've selected the Parts that i want to use and as far as i can tell there compatible. But i've never done this before so i'm looking for input and suggestions on what to improve.

It will be used as a Media PC, Downloading/Watching also playing games, Starcraft 2 and a few others.

Case Gigabyte GZ-X3 $ 69.10

PSU Corsair VX550W

CPU AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition Deneb 3.2GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Processor HDZ955FBGMBOX $155
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103808

Motherboard MSI 785GM-P45 $99
http://www.pcmarket.com.au/20790_MSI-785GM-P45-AMD-785G-Socket-AM3-DDR3-Motherboard-.php

500GB WD Primary Drive Sata II $75
2TB WD Secondary Drive Sata II $140

ATI Radeon 5450 1GB DDR3

Ram Corsair DDR3 4gb 1333 (not sure on exact type) need help

Possible Upgrade Corsair TX750 V2 Enthusiast Series 750W ATX Power Supply $180
http://www.pcmarket.com.au/11193_Corsair-TX750-V2-Enthusiast-Series-750W-ATX-Power-S.php

Possible Upgrade MSI N520GT-MD1GD3/LP nVidia GeForce GT 520 1GB PCI-Express Video Card with DVI & HDMI $98

Possible Ram Type http://www.pcmarket.com.au/24351_Corsair-Vengeance-CMZ4GX3M1A1600C9B-4GB-PC3-12800-1.php $140 (need suggestions on this)

Win 7 home premium 64bit

I know the Graphics card blows, but its what i already have, so i'll try and stick with it. But will probably have to be uploaded.

From the research in costs, i can build it for about $600

Thanks for any suggestions and help

Last edited: