Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Windows 2000 Advanced Server

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-18-02, 03:05 PM Thread Starter   #1
DECODER22
Disabled

 
DECODER22's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago

 
Windows 2000 Advanced Server


hey whats up guys i got a few probs wit windows 2000 adv ser i was wondering why is it when i right click a icon or a folder my pc freezes and the other thing is how do i change what starts up on my pc on windows 2000 adv server plz help guys thx
DECODER22 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-18-02, 04:26 PM   #2
stool
Senior Member

 
stool's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Albany, NY

10 Year Badge
 
The freezeups could be caused by any number of things(PSU, drivers, etc.)

The first thing you want to do is boot up, and at the "Please select operating system to start" press F8. Select "Enable Boot Logging'. This will create a file called ntblog.txt. This will let you know what services and drivers are being loaded.

Next, install the Recovery Console, if you haven't already. Insert your 2K CD and when it starts the installation, exit from it. Click
Start>Run and type d:\(your CD drive)\i386\winnt32 /cmdcons:
You will see the Recovery Console screen. Click yes to install.
Reboot when done, and Command Console should show up in your boot.ini file.
From the Recovery Console the command disable [service] or [driver}will turn off the service or driver you don't want to start. REMEMBER to write down what you do if you have to reverse it, which you do by the command enable and adding the start type(Auto, demand, boot, system.)

This is from2K Pro, but should be the same for server

__________________
My Heatware
stool is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-18-02, 07:03 PM   #3
turd
Member

 
turd's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001

10 Year Badge
 
dont know y u could possibly want to run advanced server, you are well within min requirements, yet you are too low to really take advantage of it
but 1st u need to put in SP 2
again dont know what you need to do with it but there are a whole lot of services you should disable
as far as start up your regestry is your best bet
hklocalmachine\software\microsoft\windows-check run/run once/runonceex
but you can right click my computer\manage\system information\softeware environment\startup programs (can also get here from the control panel=system)
and see if that is really what you want to stop, cause it is possibly a service you need to disable
as far as your mouse goes if sp2 dont fix it you need to look at your drivers or other resources
hope this helps
turd is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-18-02, 09:14 PM Thread Starter   #4
DECODER22
Disabled

 
DECODER22's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago

 
whats is SP 2 so im running at minum that sux hehe im little lsot on what sp 2 is
DECODER22 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-18-02, 09:53 PM   #5
SpeeDj
Senior Member

 
SpeeDj's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Milwaukee, WI

10 Year Badge
 
Service pack 2 which can be found at MS's website in the updates area, I believe they are on Service pack 3 now, but I may be mistaken. Service packs should be installed one at a time starting with the first leading up to the last. Hope that helps a bit.

J

__________________
:: SpeeDj™®© :eek: :: Hiatus - hi·a·tus - n 1: an interruption in the intensity or amount of something 2: a missing piece :: Join our Team! :: [OCG] :: My Heatware :: Forum FAQ's & Guidelines

.: Seti @ Home Team BoD ... ET Phone Home ?
:: Learn to Overclock @ www.overclockers.com

.: I wear the pink ribbon in loving memory of my Aunt Cheryl : 1948 - 2004 | And for Nedclocker's Sharon : 1962 - 2003 |
:: Seti@Home ::
SetiStats :: S@W
:: Folding@Home ::
FoldingStats :: MoreStats
:: "Got Dual?" - Cyklopz
:: "Got Hosting?" :]
:: The wind whispers of change to come...
:: -- OCG : OverClockedGamerz "How fast can you frag?"
:: -- Home for the Overclockers.com Gaming Clans!
SpeeDj is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-18-02, 10:52 PM Thread Starter   #6
DECODER22
Disabled

 
DECODER22's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago

 
oh ic i always update that thing
DECODER22 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-19-02, 02:40 AM Thread Starter   #7
DECODER22
Disabled

 
DECODER22's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago

 
i dont knwo what to do maybe im running to slow for this OS its sad that sjut caus ei right click that it freezes up
DECODER22 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-19-02, 03:20 AM   #8
Oni
Oni-ni-Kanabō
Ninja Hippo eater Moderator

 
Oni's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: St. Catharines, Ontario Canada

10 Year Badge
 
I'd say its partially your system. You're system is really a little on the slow side for Adv. Server. Minimum requirements . . . Bah! Bulls*it I tell you! Microsoft doesn't mean minimum requirements for excelent system performance. Minimum requirements means "it might get stuff done today, maybe". If I were you, I'd run 2000 Pro or Server, but not Advanced Server.

__________________
Mama, put my guns in the ground. I can't shoot them anymore.

On Indefinite Hiatus

Asus P6T SE
Intel i7 930 @ Stock
12GB Corsair DDR3 9-9-9-24
XFX Radeon 5830 @ Stock
Corsair 750 Watt PSU

Oni is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-19-02, 05:05 PM Thread Starter   #9
DECODER22
Disabled

 
DECODER22's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago

 
crap i dont wana change OS again DMAN it and this comp i dont knwo how to over clock it LOL i ahte this como its junk gateway i got for free hehe DAMN IT
DECODER22 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:11 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?