• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Best CPU cooler to fit my system?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Badenwest

Hey I am new to the whole overclocking thing but I know I need a better cooler for my CPU. Am just unsure about what will fit my case and whatnot.
I am running...
Intel i5 2500k, Gigabyte p67-ds3, in a thermaltake v3 black case.
I have all 4 memory slots full and all the ram have spreaders.

So yeh Just looking for the best air cooling I can get that will fit.
Any advice would be fantastic, thanks in advance!

Baden

Can you turn off the power, open up the case, and measure the distance from the bottom of the current heat sink, (iow, the top of the cpu), out to the side of the case?

If you have a fan on the side of the case, then measure to the lowest thing on the side of the case, near the spot where a heat sink would have to sit, above the cpu.

I like the Thermalright MUX-120 myself, along with the CoolerMaster Hyper 212+, but there are bigger heatsinks out there, and they do a slightly better job at keeping the heat down. What I like about these two is relatively low cost, and relatively smaller size and weight.

I'm pretty sure that the Thermalright MUX-120 will handle your memory, no problem. I have it on an 1155 socket board like yours with low profile memory, but it has a 1/8th to 3/16ths inch gap between the fan closest to the RAM sticks, and the fan, at the closest. So a taller RAM stick should be no problem, but this is an Asus P8p67 board, not a Gigabyte motherboard.

Avoid any heatsinks with their fans in the middle of them. That design will be wider, and much more likely to cause a fit problem.

And :welcome: to the forum, Baden!