Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

format after installing a new cpu?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-07-11, 05:38 PM Thread Starter   #1
Godzilla
Member

 
Godzilla's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK

10 Year Badge
 
format after installing a new cpu?


do you have to format/reinstall windows if u swap out JUST a cpu?

__________________
Case: Antec 1200
Motherboard: Asus Rampage II Extreme
CPU: Core i7 960 @ Stock
Cooler: Corsair H70 (Push/Pull)
RAM: 12GB Corsair XMS3 1600MHz 9-9-9-24-2T 1.65v
SSD: OCZ Agility 2 120GB
Hard Drives: 2 x 1TB Samsung 7200rpm
Graphics Card: Gigabyte GTX 560 OC Edition 1GB
Sound Card: SupremeFX X-Fi
Power Supply: Cooler Master 1000W
Optical Drives: LG Blu-Ray RW & Pioneer DVD-RW
OS: Windows 8.1 (64-bit)
Godzilla is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-07-11, 05:56 PM   #2
shant
Member

 
shant's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Lebanon

 
nop, you don't need to when you change any of the hardware, but i usually do it when i change the board to make sure all old chipset drivers etc are clean, but for cpu no, not needed

__________________
3770k l 4.5Ghz l 1.26vcore
Maximus V Extreme
2x2GB Patriot Sector 5 2133Mhz+2x2 2400mhz,all running @ 1866mhz
2x WD Caviar Black 64mb/1TB(raid 0) + 32GB intel 520 msata ssd caching
Evga Gtx 460 ee
Xfx 650W psu Black Edition
Hafx
shant is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-07-11, 06:07 PM   #3
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor
First Responders


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
Nope.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is online now Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-07-11, 06:14 PM   #4
I.M.O.G.
Glorious Leader

 
I.M.O.G.'s Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Rootstown, OH

10 Year Badge
 
If you change motherboards and it is a different chipset, a format could be needed. Instead you could sysprep the install to prepare it, or manually remove the chipset driver.

For the processor, it is just a drop in upgrade with nothing else necessary. Depending on your motherboard, less often, you may need a BIOS update to support newer processors properly.
I.M.O.G. is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-08-11, 02:10 PM   #5
Bisquit
Member



Join Date: May 2011
Location: Amsterdam, Holland

 
Funny, I recently replaced the mainboard for the p8p67. Former board was asus p5qc.
Now due to a cpu that appeared to run hot in bios, I decided to boot from the sata drive with win7 on from the previous board and check with some programs for temps and voltages etc.. After some struggling I got to the desktop, eventually most new hardware adjusted and asked for new drivers etc.
But it leaves quite a mess on your system in this case. Needless to say when I found all hardware appeared to be installed correctly I did a clean install.

As said by others, replacing the cpu requires no reinstall or anything similar.
You can run it with the new speed without a problem.

It's only with videocards problems could arise, mainly because of drivers that tend to stick, or create conflicts like when going from nvidia to ati/amd or viceversa.
And ofcourse mainboards. Due to the different chipsets etc.
Bisquit is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:34 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?