• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New heatsink possibly

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

skylinecalvin

Registered
Hey, this would be my first post on this fourm so i figure i say hey :D.

Motherboard - m4a78lt-m le
Max Walts for mobo is 95w
Socket is am3

My current heatsink is a XION HP9310P 3 . My question is would i need a new heatsink if i plan to OC my processor, or is this heatsink good enough already. Also im new to OCing so i don't plan on doing anything amazing compared to some many people on this fourm. My budget on upgrading heatsinks would be 30$, wish i had more but i plan on upgrading my processor :p . I can't have a heatsink any bigger then the XION due to the fact that the Xion is a perfect size so any bigger wouldn't fit at all. Ill post a link to my case if your wondering.

I wasn't sure if i should make a new thread which would take up extra space so i figure i should just post 2 questions on 1 post.

My Processor is an Athlon X4 630 but i plan on upgrading it to either a phenom x4 925 or an 840 but im stuck on deciding which is better. The links to the items are below.

Case
Phenom x4 840
Phenom x4 925
Xion Heatsink

also my final question would be if i overclock would the wattage of the CPU change? just wondering because my motherboard can't go over 95w and both cpu's are at the 95w limit.

It really depends on what temps your are now.

Run prime 95 for 10 minutes, use Coretemp to monitor temps.

Let us know what your idle temps are and what your Prime 95 load temps are.

Yes, your processor works harder when overclocked, thus more wattage. And I don't understand the mobo is limited to 95 watts. I'm sure it just says 'you can only use these processors". Since it's only 95 watts processors you can use, thats why you think it's only 95 watts.