Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

issues with cooling the phenom II x6 1100t

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-09-11, 05:20 AM Thread Starter   #1
stevecul
New Member



Join Date: Jul 2011

 
issues with cooling the phenom II x6 1100t


Hi all i am new to the site so i am not sure if im posting this in the right place....if i am im sorry.

anyway i have a few questions about my recent pc build. i will tell you the spec and them ask the questions. any help will be greatly appreciated.

motherboard.....Asus M4A785TD-V EVO

Processor..........AMD Phenom II x6 1100T

Ram.................G.skill F3.12800CL9T6GBNQ (3 X 2GB)

Cooler..............Arctic freezer 13 with pre-applied ARCTIC MX-4 thermal compound

Graphics...........ATI sapphire Radeon HD6870 1gb

sound...............sound blaster xfi extreme gamer.

PSU..................Novatech 500w modular

case..................coolermaster CM 690 II

right here is my first question.....i have installed the rams into three of the four slots, what are the best three slots to use. i have used slots
dimm_b1
dimm_a1
dimm_b2
leaving slot dimm_a2 emty (closest to the processor)

question 2....is the pre-applied ARCTIC MX-4 thermal compound any good??? i have an idle temp of 44c. and when running prime95 for 10 mins it goes to 62c, is this a safe temp? is the cooler any good?

i will post screen shots of speed fan, cpu-z. i have had a little tweak in bios taken a few things off auto but not sure if i have done the right thing.

any advice would be great.....thanks steve.



stevecul is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-09-11, 11:42 AM   #2
trents
Senior Member

 
trents's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Centralia, WA

 
If you're asking why your core temp shows "0" its probably because you have the core unlocking enabled in bios. It's usually called ACC ("Advanced Clock Calibration") but may be termed something else in your particular bios. Turn that off as you don't have any cores to unlock anyway.

__________________
CPU: i7 2600k@4.6 ghz
Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe b3
Cooler: Swiftech H320
RAM: 16 (4x4) gb Team Group Vulcan 2400 mhz @ 2176 mhz / 11-13-13-35-2T
GPU: Sapphire Radeon 7870
Case: NZXT Source 530
PSU: OCZ 750W
Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 2x300 gb WD Velociraptors


Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6
trents is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-09-11, 12:26 PM Thread Starter   #3
stevecul
New Member



Join Date: Jul 2011

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by trents View Post
If you're asking why your core temp shows "0" its probably because you have the core unlocking enabled in bios. It's usually called ACC ("Advanced Clock Calibration") but may be termed something else in your particular bios. Turn that off as you don't have any cores to unlock anyway.
thanks for that info.....i always thought that my core was the top one (temp 1).....so my core is idle at 34-35c is that good????
Attached Images
 
stevecul is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-09-11, 01:49 PM   #4
Theocnoob
Hates Trashcans
LOVES GRAMMER

 
Theocnoob's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Canada. Eh?

 
What's your load temp? That's what matters.
Over 55 will result in an unstable overclock. Stock voltage/clock you can get into the 60s.
Theocnoob is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-09-11, 03:05 PM   #5
trents
Senior Member

 
trents's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Centralia, WA

 
CPU temp is measured from the socket area of the motherboard and is not as useful or critical as core temp.

__________________
CPU: i7 2600k@4.6 ghz
Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe b3
Cooler: Swiftech H320
RAM: 16 (4x4) gb Team Group Vulcan 2400 mhz @ 2176 mhz / 11-13-13-35-2T
GPU: Sapphire Radeon 7870
Case: NZXT Source 530
PSU: OCZ 750W
Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 2x300 gb WD Velociraptors


Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6
trents is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?