• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

SOLVED Radeon 5870's not working in crossfire?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

soldierguy

Hi all

I've got two Radeon 5870 2gb gpu's in crossfire and using in Eyefinity and suddenly--just a couple days ago I noticed my multiplayer gaming abilities totally "tanked"--and it took some investigating of my on line connection and other before I noticed on my MSI Afterburner monitoring software that one GPU was "flatlined"... I'm not a hardware pro, but I've assembled a couple machines, including this one, and I just went about analyzing as best possible. First I replaced the Crossfire bridge and reseated all and power connectors etc- and still only one card was working--. And so I removed the cards from Crossfire and just intalled each card in the primary gpu slot and each card when tested ran fine. So its not the cards. Now that I think about it, I probably used the same power connectors. Maybe I better test different power connections--Although I doubt thats it, but... Assuming its not the power is it the MOBO? I guess there's no software config I could have selected that is preventing crossfire? Its enabled in the Catalyst control center, but it only shows the big number "1". I think it should show "two"--Can't remember for sure. Running latest driver AMD 11.6.

Any other diagnosis thoughts before I replace the Mobo?

Could it be the game not supporting crossfire? Have you tried running benchmarks to see if both gpus are running?

I don't know. I guess I've never heard of that as a possibility. That's a new one on me. I wasn't aware Crossfire and such are configured by a specific game. But by the way I was playing BlackOps and I've played it before with no problem.