Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

APU + Crossfire

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-24-11, 09:43 PM Thread Starter   #1
ssjwizard
Has slightly less legible writing
than Thideras, Member

 
ssjwizard's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Rio Rancho, NM

10 Year Badge
 
APU + Crossfire


Ok so I know that this is new tech and I may not get a good answer but thats ok! I recently got an A8 setup for my wife with a 6670 and the performance is quite nice. However, we were curious if anyone knows about mixed crossfire. So basically can we add a second 6670 without loosing the APUs gfx(as that would invalidate having an APU)?

__________________
Life is what you make of it, we exist for the sole purpose of existing. Dont waste the universe efforts!
All statements, imagery, and ideas contained within any posts are merely retold tales of fictional acts by a figment of the universe imagination.

So your looking for an AMD FX motherboard, things you need to know. Whats the max safe temps/volts for an FX?

Green Gorilla, CM 690-II nVidia, FX 8320, GTX 670, liquid cooled
Liquid Fusion, CM 690-II, A8+6670 Dual GFX, liquid cooled
Extreme evaporative water loop 450mm^3 water cooled beast - Incomplete
ssjwizard is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-25-11, 09:44 AM   #2
Krazy931
Registered



Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lafayette, in

 
umm i havnt dealt with the A8's but i dont think you can and plus doesnt the FM1 boards only have 1 Pci express slot they have multiple pci slots but all ive ever seen is a single slot pci express board
Krazy931 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-25-11, 09:53 AM Thread Starter   #3
ssjwizard
Has slightly less legible writing
than Thideras, Member

 
ssjwizard's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Rio Rancho, NM

10 Year Badge
 
x16,x4 pcie 2.0
3x16 pcie2.0

There are plenty of FM1 that have 2 or more pcie x16 slots.

__________________
Life is what you make of it, we exist for the sole purpose of existing. Dont waste the universe efforts!
All statements, imagery, and ideas contained within any posts are merely retold tales of fictional acts by a figment of the universe imagination.

So your looking for an AMD FX motherboard, things you need to know. Whats the max safe temps/volts for an FX?

Green Gorilla, CM 690-II nVidia, FX 8320, GTX 670, liquid cooled
Liquid Fusion, CM 690-II, A8+6670 Dual GFX, liquid cooled
Extreme evaporative water loop 450mm^3 water cooled beast - Incomplete
ssjwizard is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-25-11, 10:21 AM   #4
Krazy931
Registered



Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lafayette, in

 
ah havnt spent much time with it either way itll prolly be a headache to mess with
Krazy931 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-25-11, 12:10 PM   #5
fall
Member

 
fall's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Arlington

 
If your asking if you can combine the APU and 6670 in CF then no you cannot combine graphic of APU and GPU for better performance.

Now if your asking if you can still use the APU graphics on one monitor and the GPU on another monitor then yes you should be able to do that.

__________________
DESKTOP: i7-2600K @ 4.5ghz & 1.25v | Gigabyte GA-Z77X-D3H | Corsair Vengence 12gb | AMD Radeon 6970 | SSD Mushkin 120 (Debian GNU/Linux)
LAPTOP:Lenovo Thinkpad T400 | Crucial M4 256GB SSD (Debian GNU/Linux)
fall is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-25-11, 02:18 PM Thread Starter   #6
ssjwizard
Has slightly less legible writing
than Thideras, Member

 
ssjwizard's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Rio Rancho, NM

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by fall View Post
If your asking if you can combine the APU and 6670 in CF then no you cannot combine graphic of APU and GPU for better performance.

Now if your asking if you can still use the APU graphics on one monitor and the GPU on another monitor then yes you should be able to do that.

Incorrect the 6670 is the highest card that APUs can crossfire with, that much I already knew. The question is about using multiple 6670s and still keeping the APUs cores in the picture.

__________________
Life is what you make of it, we exist for the sole purpose of existing. Dont waste the universe efforts!
All statements, imagery, and ideas contained within any posts are merely retold tales of fictional acts by a figment of the universe imagination.

So your looking for an AMD FX motherboard, things you need to know. Whats the max safe temps/volts for an FX?

Green Gorilla, CM 690-II nVidia, FX 8320, GTX 670, liquid cooled
Liquid Fusion, CM 690-II, A8+6670 Dual GFX, liquid cooled
Extreme evaporative water loop 450mm^3 water cooled beast - Incomplete
ssjwizard is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-25-11, 02:46 PM   #7
Dr.Beer
New Member



Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Ohio

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssjwizard View Post
Incorrect the 6670 is the highest card that APUs can crossfire with, that much I already knew. The question is about using multiple 6670s and still keeping the APUs cores in the picture.
I am interested in this too. My guess is it would treat it as a triple crossfire setup, but that is only a guess. You could call AMD support with the question and find out. I am sure they'll be willing to give the info. Tell me what you find out.

-Doc
Dr.Beer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-25-11, 03:14 PM   #8
TVolt
New Member



Join Date: Jul 2011

 
I am interested in this topic as well. One thing for everyone to keep in mind: IF they are releasing motherboards that can only hold one specific chip, and they are adding 2 PCI-Express slots, dont you think that they would have to have some sort of support for 3-way Crossfire? Of course, there is a chance the slot could be used for something like a networking/sound card... but the way they space them out looks like it was created to fit 2 large (graphics) cards.

Last edited by TVolt; 07-26-11 at 08:11 AM.
TVolt is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-12-11, 06:37 PM   #9
Seyeklopz
New Member



Join Date: Jan 2004

 
I know some fm1 boards support apu+gpu crossfire, but my question is if they support apu+gpu+gpu 3-way crossfire.
Seyeklopz is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-12-11, 06:55 PM   #10
David
Forums Super Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor



 
David's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Hiding from Americans and making pretty colours in a drybox in St Andrews

10 Year Badge
 
I've heard of hybrid crossfire (such as the APU/6670 combo) and I've heard of Tri-Fire.

What I haven't seen any of (either APU/GPU/GPU or GPU/GPU/GPU) is hybrid Tri-Fire.

My gut feeling is no. The APUs aren't designed for top-end gaming rigs anyway, which is why the 6670 is the fastest that the A6/A8 will hybrid CrossFire with.

A 6670/6670 CrossFire ought to still be an improvement, though.

EDIT: Also, the APU/GPU combo is called Dual Graphics and there's no mention of it working with a three way set-up: http://www.amd.com/us/products/techn...raphics.aspx#4

__________________
David J. Nelson MChem(Edin) PhD(Strath) MRSC [ResearcherID: D-3927-2011]
OC Forums Super Moderator // Overclockers.com Editor


The Workhorse: [Lenovo W510] Intel Core i7-720QM / 8 GB DDR3 / nVidia Quadro FX880M / Crucial M4 256 GB SSD / Windows 7
The HTPC/Server: AMD Phenom X4 9650 / 6 GB DDR2 / nVidia 8300 / 5 TB of HDDs / Antec Solo II Case / Windows 7
The Gaming Rig: AMD Llano A6-3650 / 4 GB DDR3 / nVidia GTX260 / 2x 500 GB HDD in RAID0 / Antec Dark Fleet DF-85 Case / Windows 7
The Benchmarking Setup: Various LGA775 chips / Asus Rampage Formula / 2 GB OCZ 1066 MHz DDR2 / nVidia Quadro NVS 285 / 320 GB HDD / Windows 7

My research fellowship is eating all my time, so I may be slow to reply to emails and private messages.
David is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-13-11, 05:27 AM   #11
Jezus53
Member

 
Jezus53's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2011

 
I'm with David on this one. The APUs aren't setup to have multiple GPUs, they are really meant to be the all around "Hey you don't need a GPU, but if you have one we can use it" kind of processor.
Jezus53 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-21-11, 06:14 PM   #12
pwnmachine
Member

 
pwnmachine's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Alberta, Canada

 
Just built an fm1 system afaik I believe it uses a different setup for crossfire, but some boards use the "hybrid graphics" which assist crossfire setups.

Quote:
1. Hybrid CrossFire X is only available on 790GX, 780G, 760G, 785G, and 880G and 890GX chipsets.

__________________
i5 2500k @ 4.8 gHz. 1.3v..................Q9650 @ 4.0 gHz.
Kingston Hyper 1600mHz 4gb..........XMS3 1600mHz 4gb
Asus P8P67 Pro B3...........................790i Ultra FTW
XFX 5970 BE + XFX 5850..................GTX 260 2xSLI
CM Hyper 212/Thermalright HR-03...Scythe Mugen II
CM Cosmos S Modified......................NZXT H2
Custom Maple Gaming Case
pwnmachine is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-30-12, 09:31 PM   #13
Immortals13
Disabled



Join Date: Apr 2012

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krazy931 View Post
umm i havnt dealt with the A8's but i dont think you can and plus doesnt the FM1 boards only have 1 Pci express slot they have multiple pci slots but all ive ever seen is a single slot pci express board.Now pockie pirates forum is open, we hope you can dive into the forum and discuss whatever you got on your mind.
crossfire,i know little about this.give me more suggestions

Last edited by Immortals13; 09-04-12 at 10:42 PM.
Immortals13 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-30-12, 10:22 PM   #14
Knufire
Senior Member

 
Knufire's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Terre Haute, IN

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by pwnmachine View Post
Just built an fm1 system afaik I believe it uses a different setup for crossfire, but some boards use the "hybrid graphics" which assist crossfire setups.
Hybrid CrossfireX would be combining a GPU with an onboard video chipset. AMD Dual Graphics is combining a GPU with the APU.

Why they needed to change the name and make things confusing, no idea.

__________________
i7-920 3.8 Ghz | Venomous-X w/ Panaflo HS | Sapphire Vapor-X 4890
EVGA X58 SLI LE | 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 | 500GB Samsung OEM | Rosewill 850w | Thermaltake Armor Series | OCZ Vertex 2 60GB

Secondary Rig:
CM Elite 430 | A8-3870K stock | Radeon HD 6670 | 500GB WD Caviar Blue | 4GB G.SKILL DDR3-1333 | ASUS A55

Knufire is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:59 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?