Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Samsung TV (no picture, but sound)

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-31-11, 01:55 AM Thread Starter   #1
JKessell
Member



Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Long Island, NY

 
Question Samsung TV (no picture, but sound)


Came home, turned on tv, watched it for about ten minutes until the picture vanished, but I could still hear the sound.

Checked connections, wasn't it.
Tried other outlets, wasn't it.

I can faintly see something moving in the background despite the picture being pitch black.

I'm assuming something is royally ed up.


Has anyone experienced this before?

I'm a graduate student paying off student loans, so, am I completely screwed now that my 40" TV doesn't work?

__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K Sandy Bridge 4.5GHz
ASUS P8Z68 DELUXE/GEN3
G.SKILL Ripjaw X 12GB 1600Mhz
MSI N560GTX-TI Twin Frozr II/OC
Antec TruePower TP-750 750W
COOLER MASTER HAF X
Noctua NH-D14

Heatware 1-0-0
JKessell is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-31-11, 03:41 AM   #2
Theocnoob
Hates Trashcans
LOVES GRAMMER

 
Theocnoob's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Canada. Eh?

 
Sounds like the backlight is kerput if you can still see an image.
Did you call tech support? Samsung TVs seem to die after not too long due to capacitors going on them. Usually just change the caps and theyre good for years.
Theocnoob is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-31-11, 06:52 PM Thread Starter   #3
JKessell
Member



Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Long Island, NY

 
I unplugged the TV for five hours today, as I heard this can sometimes help. I came home ~8 hours later, plugged in the TV. It ran smooth for about ~4 hours, but now it's blacking out again.


__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K Sandy Bridge 4.5GHz
ASUS P8Z68 DELUXE/GEN3
G.SKILL Ripjaw X 12GB 1600Mhz
MSI N560GTX-TI Twin Frozr II/OC
Antec TruePower TP-750 750W
COOLER MASTER HAF X
Noctua NH-D14

Heatware 1-0-0
JKessell is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-31-11, 07:09 PM   #4
Theocnoob
Hates Trashcans
LOVES GRAMMER

 
Theocnoob's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Canada. Eh?

 
What you need to find out then is why it helps? If it's a known issue people must know the culprit. I'm sure something needs replacing in there but knowing what would reduce your cost. I guess you're out of warranty at this point? If you're still under mfg warranty that'd be covered. They usually have service centers for Panasonic/Sony/Samsung etc in major cities. You can probably drive it to one.
Theocnoob is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-31-11, 07:51 PM Thread Starter   #5
JKessell
Member



Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Long Island, NY

 
I actually work for Best Buy and I do have it under warranty for replacement/repair. However, the turn around time is ~2 weeks currently and I was trying to look for a solution that I might be able to accomplish myself.

Thanks for all the advice.

__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K Sandy Bridge 4.5GHz
ASUS P8Z68 DELUXE/GEN3
G.SKILL Ripjaw X 12GB 1600Mhz
MSI N560GTX-TI Twin Frozr II/OC
Antec TruePower TP-750 750W
COOLER MASTER HAF X
Noctua NH-D14

Heatware 1-0-0
JKessell is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-31-11, 07:59 PM   #6
Randyman...
Member

 
Randyman...'s Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Houston, TX

 
This sounds like it might be a different issue, but Samsungs have a well-known issue with 3-5 caps in the PSU section (these caps "bulge" and effectively quit working). The symptoms for this are generally that the TV takes longer and longer to TURN ON, and eventually won't turn on at all (repeated clicking, but the unit never actually powers on). This happened to me personally and to a buddy at work - replacing the 3-5 caps in the PSU did the trick (mine has been going strong for well over 18 months after the fix).

Your issue sounds a bit different, though. Does your TV take a while to turn on accompanied with repeated clicks before coming to life? Seems like your issue is isolated to the backlight itself or the backlight driver circuitry, but the PSU is certainly a possible culprit, too.


__________________
Randy V - Audio-Dude/Musician/PC Guru/Crazy Guy

PC#1 (Main Rig) : Lian Li PC-V1010 / P8Z68-V-GEN3 / 3750K @ 4.5GHz + Ven-X / 16GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 / HD5770 "XXX" 1GB / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / (6x) 2TB 5K3000 on Areca ARC1222 in RAID-6 / Seasonic X660 PSU / 2407WFP-HC / RME "Multiface" 38 Ch. Audio I/O / Dynaudio AIR-15 + AIR-BASE-2 Studio Monitors
PC#2 (Realtime DAW) : Lian-Li PC-K65B / Sabertooth X79 / i7-3820 @ 4.8GHz + TRUE / 8GB RipJaws DDR3-2133 / HD6570 / 120GB Intel 520 / 4x 1TB on Areca ARC-1210 in RAID-5 / RME "HDSPe MADI" 128 Channel Audio I/O / 2x SSL AlphaLink MADI AX / 48 Mic Inputs + Fully-discrete Mic Preamps + 4260Watt PA System with 5x 18" JBL Subs :-)
NAS#1: NSC-800 ITX Case / Asus P8H61-ITX / i3-2120 / (8x) 1TB 7200.12's in RAID-6 on Areca ARC-1220 Card
NAS#2: 12TB ReadyNAS Ultra-4+ / (4x) 3TB 5K3000's
And 7 other i7/i5/C2D/C2Q PC's
Randyman... is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-31-11, 08:18 PM Thread Starter   #7
JKessell
Member



Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Long Island, NY

 
The TV is nearing ~3 years old.

The TV is usually on ~18 hours a day. My dog gets really upset if she doesn't have some background noise.

The TV powers on just fine, but after a while, the picture fill fade to black, and I can only hear sound. Unplugging the TV, letting it sit there for ~15 minutes, and replugging it in usually fixes it for roughly ~6 hours.

I can only assume it's getting old since it runs so much.

__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K Sandy Bridge 4.5GHz
ASUS P8Z68 DELUXE/GEN3
G.SKILL Ripjaw X 12GB 1600Mhz
MSI N560GTX-TI Twin Frozr II/OC
Antec TruePower TP-750 750W
COOLER MASTER HAF X
Noctua NH-D14

Heatware 1-0-0
JKessell is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-31-11, 09:15 PM   #8
4GHZ_or_bust
Now 6GHz or Bust!

 
4GHZ_or_bust's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Michigan

 
18 hours a day for 3 years is quite a lot, especially if cheap parts were used in the manufacture of your TV. It does sound like bad cap or possibly bad solder join if it works while cooled down but fails after its warmed up.

Unless you're good with basic electronics repair and can identify and replace bad caps, you're better off letting Best Buy deal with it.

__________________
space for rent
4GHZ_or_bust is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-31-11, 09:23 PM   #9
RJARRRPCGP
Member



Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA (Springfield, Vermont)

10 Year Badge
 
Bad caps in LCD screen units are not just a Samsung thing.

It appears to be common with LCDs, especially ones made in 2006.

I would go here:

http://www.badcaps.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=30

__________________
Asus Maximus II Gene- Core 2 Quad Q6600 SLACR @ 3.3 Ghz (367x9.0)

Where I come from "Z97" is a radio station
-ICH10R
- eVGA GeForce GT 640-Antec VP-450


" holy cow!! you find a rat in there too!?!?!? " -turbohans
"Reinstall winders." -jivetrky
"I think I am going to need another coke before I start this up." -cadman420
"Soon Windows will be 50 gb! lololol" -Tokae
"NOT FOR SALE IN CALIFORNIA."
RJARRRPCGP is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-31-11, 09:29 PM   #10
Randyman...
Member

 
Randyman...'s Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Houston, TX

 
Wow - An entire forum dedicated to Bad Caps! I'm just glad I figured this out myself before I paid some dude $200 to fix it (plus a few weeks of turn-around time!) . $8 in caps from my local Fry's (105*C caps) and 2 hours did the trick for me. Mine is also close to 3 years old and is on for a good ~10 hours a day - and the cap fix is still holding up after 18 months (my initial issue appeared after 18 months, 6 months after the warranty ran out ).


__________________
Randy V - Audio-Dude/Musician/PC Guru/Crazy Guy

PC#1 (Main Rig) : Lian Li PC-V1010 / P8Z68-V-GEN3 / 3750K @ 4.5GHz + Ven-X / 16GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 / HD5770 "XXX" 1GB / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / (6x) 2TB 5K3000 on Areca ARC1222 in RAID-6 / Seasonic X660 PSU / 2407WFP-HC / RME "Multiface" 38 Ch. Audio I/O / Dynaudio AIR-15 + AIR-BASE-2 Studio Monitors
PC#2 (Realtime DAW) : Lian-Li PC-K65B / Sabertooth X79 / i7-3820 @ 4.8GHz + TRUE / 8GB RipJaws DDR3-2133 / HD6570 / 120GB Intel 520 / 4x 1TB on Areca ARC-1210 in RAID-5 / RME "HDSPe MADI" 128 Channel Audio I/O / 2x SSL AlphaLink MADI AX / 48 Mic Inputs + Fully-discrete Mic Preamps + 4260Watt PA System with 5x 18" JBL Subs :-)
NAS#1: NSC-800 ITX Case / Asus P8H61-ITX / i3-2120 / (8x) 1TB 7200.12's in RAID-6 on Areca ARC-1220 Card
NAS#2: 12TB ReadyNAS Ultra-4+ / (4x) 3TB 5K3000's
And 7 other i7/i5/C2D/C2Q PC's
Randyman... is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?