• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

AMD Athlon II X4 640 OC Question

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Lone Wolf

Hi guys first post so Hi!

Anywho for XMAS I received my new custom rig (will post specs below). I've been running my stock clock rate and cooler ever since and haven't touched one bit of OC'ing in my life :D Recently i have been thinking of OC'in my AMD Athlon II 640 CPU to roughly 3.4/3.6GHz so i get some increase from 3GHz.

What I want to know is some starting pointers because i am a beginner in OC'ing. I understand basic risks like CPU damage and board damage plus know that i defo need an upgrade from stock cooler. I've ordered a Corsair A70 as it fit my budget and looked pretty decent.

Cheers,
Lone

Oh Yes, My Specs :) :

Motherboard: AsRock N68C-S UCC Edition
CPU: AMD Athlon II X4 640 3GHz
GFX Card: Sapphire HD Radeon 5670 1GB GDDR5
Memory: 4GB (2x2GB Sticks) DDR3 1666MHz (Corsair XMS3 2GB and One Unknown Stick 2GB)
PSU: 700W PSU with 42 amp running on seperate +12v Rails (+12v1=21a. +12v2=21a)

Please download and install:

CPU-z

HWMonitor

Prime95

Please remove the Corsair memory stick temporarily and then . . .

Please run CPU-z and upload pics of these three tabs: "CPU", "Memory" and "SPD". These tabs will tell us a lot about your hardware and your bios settings. Particularly, we need to know more about that "unknown" memory stick and this may help with that.

What CPU cooler are you using? Stock, OEM?

As said in my first post I am running a stock cooler but I don't think it's an AMD one as there is no AMD Sticker in the middle of the fan.

Here are the Screenshots you've requested:

CPU:

LoneWolfImage-2011-08-03-10-42-000.png

Memory:

LoneWolfImage-2011-08-03-10-43-000.png

SPD - Slot #1:

LoneWolfImage-2011-08-03-10-43-001.png

SPD - Slot #2: