Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

2600k oc question.

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-03-11, 07:49 AM Thread Starter   #1
insanedeath44
Registered

 
insanedeath44's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Virginia USA

 
2600k oc question.


hey guys i just got my corsair h100 and i was able to oc the CPU too 4.8mhz with 1.415 vcore the highs core reach 68. i was wondering if this is safe. i don't use my PC 24/7. i use my PC Monday throw Friday like 4 hours a day and i always shut the PC off when in not using it . but Saturday after 3 and Sunday are my gaming days .. ????? thxs in advance
insanedeath44 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-03-11, 08:03 AM   #2
Janus67
Benching Team Leader
Grabbed Senior

 
Janus67's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Ohio State

 
That vcore is a bit too high for that OC, I would expect you to be able to hit 4.8 with around 1.35vcore. for 24/7 (every-day) use, I wouldn't want to be over 1.35-1.4v. the temps sound good though.

__________________
Haswell Benching and Gaming: ASRock Z87 OC Formula : Intel i7 4770k w/ Phanteks PH-TC14 : 8GB 2x4GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-2666 : MSI, XFX, and Sapphire R9 290X
Other Components: Samsung 840 Evo 500GB SSD : 2TB Hitachi : Silverstone Strider Gold 1250W and Seasonic Platinum 1000W : Auria EQ276W 2560x1440


Folding User Stats
Janus67 is online now Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-03-11, 04:17 PM   #3
doz
Member



Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Las Vegas, NV

10 Year Badge
 
1.35v @ 4.8ghz stable? Where are you finding these cherry chips Janus?

As per HC, they did a test of 100 CPUs and they stacked out like this stable:

Approximately 50% of CPUs can go up to 4.4~4.5 GHz
Approximately 40% of CPUs can go up to 4.6~4.7 GHz
Approximately 10% of CPUs can go up to 4.8~5 GHz (50+ multipliers are about 2% of this group)

From what Ive seen, these results are right on. How many people do you know running 5ghz daily? Not many from what Ive seen. You see a greater percentage running around 4.7, and you see a ton of people running 4.5ghz. I think theres a pretty good reason for that. Think of it like this. 5ghz is the new 4.5ghz. How many old core I cpus did 4.5ghz stable? Not many.

__________________
Asus P8P67
Intel i7-2600k @ 4.9ghz
GSkill Ripjaws 8gb 1600mhz c8
EVGA GTX780 ACX 1228//1650
OCZ Agility 2 240gb, Corsair Force 3 180gb, (2)WD 1tb Black
HAF 932w/ Corsair HX750
Heat
doz is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-03-11, 06:07 PM   #4
bennoculus

 
bennoculus's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: SoFla/Indiana

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by doz View Post
1.35v @ 4.8ghz stable? Where are you finding these cherry chips Janus?

As per HC, they did a test of 100 CPUs and they stacked out like this stable:

Approximately 50% of CPUs can go up to 4.4~4.5 GHz
Approximately 40% of CPUs can go up to 4.6~4.7 GHz
Approximately 10% of CPUs can go up to 4.8~5 GHz (50+ multipliers are about 2% of this group)

From what Ive seen, these results are right on. How many people do you know running 5ghz daily? Not many from what Ive seen. You see a greater percentage running around 4.7, and you see a ton of people running 4.5ghz. I think theres a pretty good reason for that. Think of it like this. 5ghz is the new 4.5ghz. How many old core I cpus did 4.5ghz stable? Not many.
Why thank you! I thought I was the only insane one while reading that... apparently not.

I don't think he's finding cherry chips, either

__________________
JOIN THE BENCHING TEAM!
Core i5 2500K @ 5962MHz (DICE Cooling)
P8P67-DELUXE
4GB GSkill RipJawsX 2133MHz, 7-9-8-24
2xGTX580 Matrix SLI
90GB OCZ Agility 2 SSD
VenomousX
Windows 7 Ultimate - SP1
OptyTrooper: "Be warned though overclocking is a drug."
bennoculus is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-03-11, 06:36 PM Thread Starter   #5
insanedeath44
Registered

 
insanedeath44's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Virginia USA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by bennoculus View Post
Why thank you! I thought I was the only insane one while reading that... apparently not.

I don't think he's finding cherry chips, either
ok so back to the topic lol what u guys think about my settings? is that good or running to much vcore ? btw when im on windows cpu drops to 1600mhz and core voltage drops way down to like 1.00 something .
insanedeath44 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-03-11, 06:47 PM   #6
doz
Member



Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Las Vegas, NV

10 Year Badge
 
IMO, your vcore is fine but thats subjective. Temps look great too.

__________________
Asus P8P67
Intel i7-2600k @ 4.9ghz
GSkill Ripjaws 8gb 1600mhz c8
EVGA GTX780 ACX 1228//1650
OCZ Agility 2 240gb, Corsair Force 3 180gb, (2)WD 1tb Black
HAF 932w/ Corsair HX750
Heat
doz is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-03-11, 06:56 PM   #7
ChanceCoats123
d20 in a jacket


 
ChanceCoats123's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Illinois

 
+1. Everything seems fine. The speed and voltage drops from in windows is just Speedstep kicking in. It's so that when you're not using the computer, it uses less power.

__________________
Ed - "Aight it's pulling down... Thing is really tuned for LN2 though."
This is the team you are looking for...
I accept Bitcoins!
ChanceCoats123 is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-03-11, 07:18 PM   #8
Janus67
Benching Team Leader
Grabbed Senior

 
Janus67's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Ohio State

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by doz View Post
1.35v @ 4.8ghz stable? Where are you finding these cherry chips Janus?

As per HC, they did a test of 100 CPUs and they stacked out like this stable:

Approximately 50% of CPUs can go up to 4.4~4.5 GHz
Approximately 40% of CPUs can go up to 4.6~4.7 GHz
Approximately 10% of CPUs can go up to 4.8~5 GHz (50+ multipliers are about 2% of this group)

From what Ive seen, these results are right on. How many people do you know running 5ghz daily? Not many from what Ive seen. You see a greater percentage running around 4.7, and you see a ton of people running 4.5ghz. I think theres a pretty good reason for that. Think of it like this. 5ghz is the new 4.5ghz. How many old core I cpus did 4.5ghz stable? Not many.
I haven't seen a chip that can't do at least 4.8-5ghz. I run mine at 4.5 so that I can use sleep mode with pll overvoltage turned off, but my chip is a 52x chip.

__________________
Haswell Benching and Gaming: ASRock Z87 OC Formula : Intel i7 4770k w/ Phanteks PH-TC14 : 8GB 2x4GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-2666 : MSI, XFX, and Sapphire R9 290X
Other Components: Samsung 840 Evo 500GB SSD : 2TB Hitachi : Silverstone Strider Gold 1250W and Seasonic Platinum 1000W : Auria EQ276W 2560x1440


Folding User Stats
Janus67 is online now Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-03-11, 07:29 PM Thread Starter   #9
insanedeath44
Registered

 
insanedeath44's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Virginia USA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by doz View Post
IMO, your vcore is fine but thats subjective. Temps look great too.
what u mean subjective ?
insanedeath44 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-03-11, 07:31 PM Thread Starter   #10
insanedeath44
Registered

 
insanedeath44's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Virginia USA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChanceCoats123 View Post
+1. Everything seems fine. The speed and voltage drops from in windows is just Speedstep kicking in. It's so that when you're not using the computer, it uses less power.
so pretty much u are saying that my computer will be fine ... im not risking burning something up ? good for normal use ? and gaming
insanedeath44 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-03-11, 07:31 PM   #11
bennoculus

 
bennoculus's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: SoFla/Indiana

 
Yep

__________________
JOIN THE BENCHING TEAM!
Core i5 2500K @ 5962MHz (DICE Cooling)
P8P67-DELUXE
4GB GSkill RipJawsX 2133MHz, 7-9-8-24
2xGTX580 Matrix SLI
90GB OCZ Agility 2 SSD
VenomousX
Windows 7 Ultimate - SP1
OptyTrooper: "Be warned though overclocking is a drug."
bennoculus is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-03-11, 09:30 PM Thread Starter   #12
insanedeath44
Registered

 
insanedeath44's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Virginia USA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by bennoculus View Post
Yep
thank you very much
insanedeath44 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-04-11, 08:39 AM Thread Starter   #13
insanedeath44
Registered

 
insanedeath44's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Virginia USA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by bennoculus View Post
Yep
hey guys i got a question what is the difference between manual voltage and offset mode ? cause i was running my CPU at 4.8 with a 1.415 vcore and this morning rock solid i set it too offset mode and i did +15 and my temps and vcore drop 1.385 and the highs core 65 (1.385 voltage rock solid stable)
should i leave it in offset mode or switch it back ?
another question should have PPL Overvoltage enable or disable ? or auto ?
my cpu is revision d2
thxs

Last edited by insanedeath44; 08-04-11 at 08:46 AM.
insanedeath44 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-04-11, 09:40 AM   #14
Bisquit
Member



Join Date: May 2011
Location: Amsterdam, Holland

 
offset mode allows your voltage to go lower when doing simple tasks.
Tasks that require just the 1600Mhz don't need 1.4v.
It saves some power also.

Your temps dropped because of the lower vcore, if you use auto for voltage the mobo sets a value that's certain to be stable, but in most cases higher than needed.
I found on my cpu a vcore difference of 0.015 can make a difference of 2C.
Not important with good cooling, but with devices that are just on the edge it could mean the difference of going over 80, or staying just below.

In your case it's not a biggy, your temps are great, and since you don't use the computer 24/7 I don't see why you shouldn't take advantage of the offset mode.

My 2600k needs 1.385v. Setting 1.35 in bios doesn't cut it, but seems the same as your chip at 4.8Ghz. Alas, my cooler is great for 4.5Ghz, not so great for 4.8, but no loss, there is no performance gain in everydays use, or gaming running this cpu at 4.8.

Finally, pll overvoltage on asus boards, I believe I read several times it's not really needed, however, in the efi bios you will see next to the option when you highlight it a description. It will not increase stability on an unstable vcore, it can help in reaching just that higher overclock. I find this a bit confusing, it helps overclocking higher but doesn't improve stability?
Anyway, on my board it's off by default, and on later p8p67's it's on auto, I pressume a bios update would set it on in my case also.
I would say you can leave it as is, since your overclock is stable at 1.385v , you will have a hard time with the asus bios getting that vcore even lower.
That is ofcourse if you have an asus board.
Bisquit is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-04-11, 10:27 AM   #15
Eldonko
Revolutionary Mule

 
Eldonko's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Calgary, Alberta

 
I wouldnt worry about it. Ive been running that voltage since January and havent lost a Mhz.

__________________
Motherboard Reviewer at Hardware Canucks
Team OCX Bench Team
Always lurking the motherboard section
Eldonko is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-04-11, 10:30 AM   #16
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor
First Responders


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
Quote:
Finally, pll overvoltage on asus boards, I believe I read several times it's not really needed, however, in the efi bios you will see next to the option when you highlight it a description. It will not increase stability on an unstable vcore, it can help in reaching just that higher overclock. I find this a bit confusing, it helps overclocking higher but doesn't improve stability?
Anyway, on my board it's off by default, and on later p8p67's it's on auto, I pressume a bios update would set it on in my case also.
I would say you can leave it as is, since your overclock is stable at 1.385v , you will have a hard time with the asus bios getting that vcore even lower.
That is ofcourse if you have an asus board.
PLL Override is needed past a certain multilpier usually. It will not increase stability correct. Why, no clue. But if you are walling at say 4.8Ghz (48x) to get past that, enabling the PLL Override will get you to the chips multi limit if you are brave enough and your cooling can handle it.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-04-11, 10:57 AM   #17
Eldonko
Revolutionary Mule

 
Eldonko's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Calgary, Alberta

 
Exactly. Keep PLL overvolt disabled until you run into multi instability. Usually not needed until 48x or higher.
Quote:
Originally Posted by EarthDog View Post
PLL Override is needed past a certain multilpier usually. It will not increase stability correct. Why, no clue. But if you are walling at say 4.8Ghz (48x) to get past that, enabling the PLL Override will get you to the chips multi limit if you are brave enough and your cooling can handle it.

__________________
Motherboard Reviewer at Hardware Canucks
Team OCX Bench Team
Always lurking the motherboard section
Eldonko is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-04-11, 02:00 PM Thread Starter   #18
insanedeath44
Registered

 
insanedeath44's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Virginia USA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldonko View Post
I wouldnt worry about it. Ive been running that voltage since January and havent lost a Mhz.
what voltage u been running 1.415 ?
insanedeath44 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-04-11, 02:18 PM   #19
Eldonko
Revolutionary Mule

 
Eldonko's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Calgary, Alberta

 
My chip needs 1.415-1.425 (depending on board) under load to run 5Ghz 24/7 so Ive been using that since January.

__________________
Motherboard Reviewer at Hardware Canucks
Team OCX Bench Team
Always lurking the motherboard section
Eldonko is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-04-11, 02:21 PM   #20
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor
First Responders


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Janus67 View Post
I haven't seen a chip that can't do at least 4.8-5ghz. I run mine at 4.5 so that I can use sleep mode with pll overvoltage turned off, but my chip is a 52x chip.
+1 thats makes more than ,y 4/4 I talked about with Doz via PM...

so I guess now we need 50 that cant reach 5Ghz stable to make those numbers right...

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?