Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Memory Banks - nooby

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-05-11, 07:56 PM Thread Starter   #1
tjp368
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2009

 
Memory Banks - nooby


Hi, one of my bad memory sticks might be replaced and I was wondering how do the different memory banks work? Do they have separate memory controllers for each and can they run at different speeds and timings? On my Gigabyte mobo, you put two memories in the first two slots, but I think they're going in different banks so bank 1 is slot 1 and 3 and bank 2 is slot 2 and 4. Would I be able to run just 3 memories at one time too? And if I'm stuck with two different memories, would it have to run at the pace of the slowest one? Thanks in advance for your replies.
tjp368 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-05-11, 08:14 PM   #2
MattNo5ss
5up3r m0d3r4t0r
Overclockers.com Editor


 
MattNo5ss's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: AL

 
All RAM installed will have to run at the same speed/timings/voltage. So, if you have two sticks that are rated differently, you'll have to run the slowest speed, loosest timings, and highest voltage of the two sticks (unless you OC the slower/loosest stick). You can run only three sticks, but it will probably be in single channel mode. So, I would run two in dual channel until you get your replacement stick.

__________________
i7 3770K | ASUS Maximus V Gene | 4x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24 | EVGA GTX780 SC ACX | 256GB OCZ Vertex 4 | SeaSonic SS-1000XP

My Overclockers.com Articles | HWBot Profile | Heatware (98-0-0)

Projects: Copper-Framed, MDF Station | PVC-Framed, MDF Station | Custom Cascade Cart/Case | Untitled TJ07 Build
MattNo5ss is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-06-11, 08:35 PM Thread Starter   #3
tjp368
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2009

 
Thanks for the reply. I'm still a little confused, what's dual channel mode and how does it relate to matched pairs and which mems go in which banks? Does one channel go to two different banks or does one channel go to the same bank twice? And does dual channel double the memory bandwidth, this article says it increases performance by only 10%?
tjp368 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?