Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cases and Case Modding
Cases and Case Modding
Forum Jump

HTPC Case

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-16-11, 06:14 AM Thread Starter   #1
Parvic
Registered



Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Denmark

 
HTPC Case


As my better half is soon looking at having to upgrade her system(primarily GPU) she'll need a new case to fit in the newer cards.
But she's picky and prefers the HTPC ones as she thinks the rest i butt ugly.

As im all in the dark here, i turn to you.

So my question is, do any of you have any experience with HTPC cases able to fit in modern cards and standard ATX motherboards?
Parvic is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-16-11, 07:46 AM   #2
Pierre3400
annnnnnd it's gone

 
Pierre3400's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Euroland, Denmark

 
What is an HTPC case?

What does your better half do since GPU needs to be replaced with somthing so big that you need a new pc case?

__________________
Daily Gamer Enthoo Primo
Intel i7 4770K @ 4.4Ghz w/ EK Supreme - Asus Maximus VI Formula - 16Gb Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz cl9 - Corsair AX1200 - 2x Sapphire HD7970 GHz Vapor-X 6Gb w/ EK Supremacy VGA
Samsung 840 Pro 128Gb - Samsung 840 EVO 120Gb - Intel 80Gb SSD - Seagate Thin SSHD 500Gb

Lan Rig Bitfenix Prodigy White - Watercooled mATX
Intel i5 2500K @ 5Ghz w/ EK Supreme LT - Asus Maximus V Gene - Gigabyte 670 GTX Windforce 3x w/ EVGA GTX680 Hydro Copper
2x 2Gb Kingston 1866mhz - OCZ Octane 2.0 64Gb SSD - Kingston Vseries 128Gb SSD - Corsair AX750 - Samsung 50"
BTC:1GeAnxaou7Fa4TbAorDPqFHXngh4Fp7vsy
Pierre3400 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-16-11, 08:47 AM   #3
madhatter256
Special Member ★

 
madhatter256's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: CFL

 
HTPC cases that are made to fit standard PC components, such as ATX motherboards and standard length GPUs are huge, expensive and are often very heavy....

Just get her an Antec 300;-)

__________________
Folding User Stats
Heatware
madhatter256 is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-16-11, 09:38 AM   #4
Pierre3400
annnnnnd it's gone

 
Pierre3400's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Euroland, Denmark

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by madhatter256 View Post
HTPC cases that are made to fit standard PC components, such as ATX motherboards and standard length GPUs are huge, expensive and are often very heavy....

Just get her an Antec 300;-)
Would it happen to be Home Theater Personal Computer?

Cos if that is the case, then i just built one yestoday, was space for an ATX mobo. It was an older series Silverstone, and i would easy fit my HD6950 in it.

But i still think more info on purpose and aim for GPU would help out.

__________________
Daily Gamer Enthoo Primo
Intel i7 4770K @ 4.4Ghz w/ EK Supreme - Asus Maximus VI Formula - 16Gb Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz cl9 - Corsair AX1200 - 2x Sapphire HD7970 GHz Vapor-X 6Gb w/ EK Supremacy VGA
Samsung 840 Pro 128Gb - Samsung 840 EVO 120Gb - Intel 80Gb SSD - Seagate Thin SSHD 500Gb

Lan Rig Bitfenix Prodigy White - Watercooled mATX
Intel i5 2500K @ 5Ghz w/ EK Supreme LT - Asus Maximus V Gene - Gigabyte 670 GTX Windforce 3x w/ EVGA GTX680 Hydro Copper
2x 2Gb Kingston 1866mhz - OCZ Octane 2.0 64Gb SSD - Kingston Vseries 128Gb SSD - Corsair AX750 - Samsung 50"
BTC:1GeAnxaou7Fa4TbAorDPqFHXngh4Fp7vsy
Pierre3400 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-16-11, 12:26 PM Thread Starter   #5
Parvic
Registered



Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Denmark

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pierre3400 View Post
Would it happen to be Home Theater Personal Computer?

Cos if that is the case, then i just built one yestoday, was space for an ATX mobo. It was an older series Silverstone, and i would easy fit my HD6950 in it.

But i still think more info on purpose and aim for GPU would help out.
Spot on!
She just needs it for basic gaming and such.
Think midrange graphic cards, like GTX560/ti/70
Parvic is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-16-11, 01:33 PM   #6
Pierre3400
annnnnnd it's gone

 
Pierre3400's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Euroland, Denmark

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Parvic View Post
Spot on!
She just needs it for basic gaming and such.
Think midrange graphic cards, like GTX560/ti/70
Well im running my nVidia 9600 GSO 768mb in my HTPC, slightly overclocked.
Runs Dirt 3 in full graphics, so it all depends on her gaming, i doubt you'll need a top of the line GPU. Im sure there should be a GPU out there to suit her, and has the right size.

__________________
Daily Gamer Enthoo Primo
Intel i7 4770K @ 4.4Ghz w/ EK Supreme - Asus Maximus VI Formula - 16Gb Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz cl9 - Corsair AX1200 - 2x Sapphire HD7970 GHz Vapor-X 6Gb w/ EK Supremacy VGA
Samsung 840 Pro 128Gb - Samsung 840 EVO 120Gb - Intel 80Gb SSD - Seagate Thin SSHD 500Gb

Lan Rig Bitfenix Prodigy White - Watercooled mATX
Intel i5 2500K @ 5Ghz w/ EK Supreme LT - Asus Maximus V Gene - Gigabyte 670 GTX Windforce 3x w/ EVGA GTX680 Hydro Copper
2x 2Gb Kingston 1866mhz - OCZ Octane 2.0 64Gb SSD - Kingston Vseries 128Gb SSD - Corsair AX750 - Samsung 50"
BTC:1GeAnxaou7Fa4TbAorDPqFHXngh4Fp7vsy
Pierre3400 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-17-11, 01:57 AM Thread Starter   #7
Parvic
Registered



Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Denmark

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pierre3400 View Post
Well im running my nVidia 9600 GSO 768mb in my HTPC, slightly overclocked.
Runs Dirt 3 in full graphics, so it all depends on her gaming, i doubt you'll need a top of the line GPU. Im sure there should be a GPU out there to suit her, and has the right size.
She just corrected me last night.
-it's Not for midrange, she's all into highend gaming
Her current card is a GTS 250, and it fits into her current HTPC Case.
So it seems it should be able to fit a GTX560 if that's what she wants.
(thou it might require a new CPU/MOBO to get the full use of a new GPU?)
Parvic is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-17-11, 03:03 AM   #8
Pierre3400
annnnnnd it's gone

 
Pierre3400's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Euroland, Denmark

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Parvic View Post
She just corrected me last night.
-it's Not for midrange, she's all into highend gaming
Her current card is a GTS 250, and it fits into her current HTPC Case.
So it seems it should be able to fit a GTX560 if that's what she wants.
(thou it might require a new CPU/MOBO to get the full use of a new GPU?)
What CPU and mainboard is she running right now?

__________________
Daily Gamer Enthoo Primo
Intel i7 4770K @ 4.4Ghz w/ EK Supreme - Asus Maximus VI Formula - 16Gb Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz cl9 - Corsair AX1200 - 2x Sapphire HD7970 GHz Vapor-X 6Gb w/ EK Supremacy VGA
Samsung 840 Pro 128Gb - Samsung 840 EVO 120Gb - Intel 80Gb SSD - Seagate Thin SSHD 500Gb

Lan Rig Bitfenix Prodigy White - Watercooled mATX
Intel i5 2500K @ 5Ghz w/ EK Supreme LT - Asus Maximus V Gene - Gigabyte 670 GTX Windforce 3x w/ EVGA GTX680 Hydro Copper
2x 2Gb Kingston 1866mhz - OCZ Octane 2.0 64Gb SSD - Kingston Vseries 128Gb SSD - Corsair AX750 - Samsung 50"
BTC:1GeAnxaou7Fa4TbAorDPqFHXngh4Fp7vsy
Pierre3400 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-18-11, 01:37 AM   #9
Phelix08
Member

 
Phelix08's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2010

 
There's no reason you should have to upgrade cpu/motherboard if she has a 250 in it already (at least physically: the GTS 250 uses the same PCIe slot all other current graphics cards use. Though if it's a slower processor it may be a bottleneck). You may need additional power to run the card though. Can you give us a rundown of what all she has? CPU, Motherboard, and power supply are the most important for this.

Look on newegg for case ideas and tell us what you (or she) like. It seems like the important thing to her is how it looks, but we don't really know what she likes. If you can give us something to go off of we can give you more ideas and tell you if that case would fit what you need, etc.
Phelix08 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-22-11, 11:09 AM Thread Starter   #10
Parvic
Registered



Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Denmark

 
I finally managed to get around figuring it all out, find below shots of the case(AeroCool M40) and what it contains(missed the PSU i just realized, but seems this case only accommodates small(>140mm) PSU):









Parvic is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cases and Case Modding
Cases and Case Modding
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:34 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?