Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

Computer randomly shuts down?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-16-11, 07:43 PM Thread Starter   #1
Kado
Member

 
Kado's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Menomonie, WI

 
Computer randomly shuts down?


I have an XFX 850 watt power supply which is more than enough which im running. But every once and awhile (usually a couple weeks apart) my computer just randomly shuts down. Is my power supply bad? i have run stress tests on the machine and it runs for hours with no issues. Then i try gaming and it will just shut off.

__________________
CPU-Intel Ivy Bridge I5 3570k
CPU cooling-Hyper 212+
MOBO-Asus Sabertooth Z77
GPU-EVGA 670 FTW (amazing card)
RAM-8GB Mushkin Enhanced Blackline 1600Mhz 9-9-9-24
PSU-Antec 900 Watt
Case-Cooler master 932 Full ATX Blue edition
Kado is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-16-11, 10:31 PM   #2
ratbuddy
Member

 
ratbuddy's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Hartford, CT

 
What stress tests? I just ask cause I think the 6870 will throttle itself if you're running furmark, and it won't draw as much power as an actual game.

Is gaming the only time it happens?

__________________
HTPC - 2500k - 212+ - GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3 - 2x4GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 - Vertex 2 90GB, Spinpoint F3 1TB w/M4 64GB ISRT Cache - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone LC10B-E - Corsair RM550

-----
Main - X3 450 - ASRock A790GMH/128M 790GX - 2x2GB G.Skill 4-4-4-12 - 2xWD Green 1TB - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone TJ08 - Corsair CX400W

Nothin' up my sleeve..
ratbuddy is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-24-11, 10:56 PM   #3
Mehovoric
Member

 
Mehovoric's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Somewhere in the US

 
Do you run your computer 24/7?

__________________
Indeed ...

Case: CM HAF 932 --- CPU: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T --- GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 465 (Fermi) 1GB --- MOBO: Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3 --- RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws 8GB (4x2GB) DDR3 1600 --- PSU: Kingwin Lazer 1000W --- SSD: OCZ Agility 2 120GB --- HDD: 2x1TB Western Digital Caviar Black --- x2 Screens: ASUS VE258Q Black 25"
Mehovoric is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-25-11, 04:48 PM   #4
PanteraGSTK
Member

 
PanteraGSTK's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: over there

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mehovoric View Post
Do you run your computer 24/7?
I would like to know this as well. If the computer shuts off it could just be an unstable overclock (if you are oc'd that is). My EVGA motherboard and an old gigabyte both would shut off when the oc wasn't stable. Try it without the OC and see if it still happens.

__________________
EVGA 750i SLI FTW, Q6600 @ 3200mhz 1.325v, vdroop mod, Kingston pc8500 4gb, 2x 8800GT in SLI, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB,WD 320GB for games, Xclio 650w psu, Scythe Infinity 2X Kingwin 80cfm 120mm fans, X-fi xtreme gamer, Windows 7 Ultimate


Bill Gates over heard saying "If i had a penny for every time Windows Crashed... Oh wait, I do."
PanteraGSTK is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-07-11, 12:33 PM Thread Starter   #5
Kado
Member

 
Kado's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Menomonie, WI

 
My 890fxa-gd65 requires overclocking to get ram to run at 1600 mhz with 9-9-9-24 timings. but when i overclocked it and bumped the voltage to 1.65. the ram timings were well above 9-9-9-24. so i brought them down figuring it would handle the rams default timings. so i set the ram back to 1333 and put the timings at 9-9-9-24 and its been running stable ever since.

__________________
CPU-Intel Ivy Bridge I5 3570k
CPU cooling-Hyper 212+
MOBO-Asus Sabertooth Z77
GPU-EVGA 670 FTW (amazing card)
RAM-8GB Mushkin Enhanced Blackline 1600Mhz 9-9-9-24
PSU-Antec 900 Watt
Case-Cooler master 932 Full ATX Blue edition
Kado is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-07-11, 12:48 PM Thread Starter   #6
Kado
Member

 
Kado's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Menomonie, WI

 
Since my little issue came up, i have been doing alot of reading on how AMD performs with ram. From what i can come up with a lower frequency (since most AMD chips max at 1333) its better to run at 1333 Mhz and go for tight timings. What would you guys recommend. i have done light CPU overclocking but dont want to go in to heavy until i know alot more about ram and how over clocking it will affect my machine.

__________________
CPU-Intel Ivy Bridge I5 3570k
CPU cooling-Hyper 212+
MOBO-Asus Sabertooth Z77
GPU-EVGA 670 FTW (amazing card)
RAM-8GB Mushkin Enhanced Blackline 1600Mhz 9-9-9-24
PSU-Antec 900 Watt
Case-Cooler master 932 Full ATX Blue edition
Kado is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-07-11, 02:36 PM   #7
Crapxxas119
Member



Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Exton, Pennsylvania

 
Cant you underclock nice ram and tighten the timings via bios?
Crapxxas119 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-07-11, 05:42 PM   #8
wingman99
Member

 
wingman99's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003

10 Year Badge
 
Some times that works and some times it will not work.

__________________
i5 2500K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68A-D3-B3
G.SKILL RipjawsX X.M.P. 1600MHz
EVGA SuperClocked GTX 570
wingman99 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-07-11, 08:15 PM   #9
RJARRRPCGP
Member



Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA (Springfield, Vermont)

10 Year Badge
 
A shutoff is ->not<- typical with an unstable OC.

A shutoff is 99 percent a thermal issue. Please check the PSU fan!

I have a PSU here that disabled itself. PC unexpectedly shut off when just running a utility and
I decided to check the PSU and found the PSU blazing!
-> Likely thermally protected with a thermistor.
And the fan was turning too slow!

The fan circuit, on that one, appeared to be bad and has been working fine after connecting the PSU fan to the motherboard fan connector.

__________________
Asus Maximus II Gene- Core 2 Quad Q6600 SLACR @ 3.3 Ghz (367x9.0)

Where I come from "Z97" is a radio station
-ICH10R
- eVGA GeForce GT 640-Antec VP-450


" holy cow!! you find a rat in there too!?!?!? " -turbohans
"Reinstall winders." -jivetrky
"I think I am going to need another coke before I start this up." -cadman420
"Soon Windows will be 50 gb! lololol" -Tokae
"NOT FOR SALE IN CALIFORNIA."
RJARRRPCGP is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-08-11, 08:18 AM Thread Starter   #10
Kado
Member

 
Kado's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Menomonie, WI

 
I will see how much i can get out of the ram i currently have later today. As for my PSU, it could very well be overheating. It is not on 24/7 and i notice that the shut off's were kind of random. Also i can turn the machine right back on and it will run fine like nothing ever happened.

__________________
CPU-Intel Ivy Bridge I5 3570k
CPU cooling-Hyper 212+
MOBO-Asus Sabertooth Z77
GPU-EVGA 670 FTW (amazing card)
RAM-8GB Mushkin Enhanced Blackline 1600Mhz 9-9-9-24
PSU-Antec 900 Watt
Case-Cooler master 932 Full ATX Blue edition
Kado is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-08-11, 01:05 PM   #11
jameseboy

 
jameseboy's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Livingston, Scotland

 
generally unstable oc will lead to BSOD not shutdown. Sounds thermal whats your core temps at idle? also, as you said it was when gaming, your gfx card could be dying or faulty. If you have a spare psu, test it, if you have a spare gfx card, test it.

__________________
Daily Rig // i5 2500K @4.5ghz 1.34v // Asus P8Z68-v Pro // 8GB Samsung Green Ram 1866mhz // H100/CoolerMaster Fans // Samsung BluRay Reader // MSI Power Edition gtx670 oc // 2TB Spinpoint F4 (storage), 750GB Spinpoint F3 (Games & Apps) // Crucial m4 128GB (Boot Win8 w/ mods) //
Laptop/HP pavilion DV6 // AMD turion 2.3Ghz // 4GB corsair Vengeance // AMD HD5470 // 500GB Spinpoint M8 // WIN7
LanRig/Personal Server/Htpc // Pentium G850 @ 3ghz // MSI Z68A-G43 // Corsair XMS3 4Gb 1600Mhz & 8Gb Corsair Vengeance (2 x 4GB 1600) // Stock Cooler // Samsung DVD Writer // MSI Cyclone gtx 460 1Gb // WD Blue & Green 250 GB drives //

Open Acrylic Bench/HTPC -- MY OLD CM690 --Super Clean htpc/lan rig/ personal Server [WIP]--
Steam = Jameseboy57 Origin = jameseboy57

jameseboy is offline Benching Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-11, 09:15 AM Thread Starter   #12
Kado
Member

 
Kado's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Menomonie, WI

 
i had this issue awhile back with my old PSU it was a coolermaster 650 watt. So after doing some digging finally decided to get an XFX 850 watt as its replacement. My idle temps are about 32c and when gaming around 44c for my CPU. I am running duel video cards. a HIS 6870 x IcyQ x and a stock HIS 6870 both idle around 42c and gaming around 60c. I did put the tower on some coasters to give the PSU a bit more breathing room from the bottom vent. My temp1(which after calling MSI discovered was my northbridge chip) has been running pretty hot, around 44c idle and 51c while gaming. i have been fighting with different fan set ups to get this temp down but with little success with 2 video cards dumping a ton of heat into the case.

__________________
CPU-Intel Ivy Bridge I5 3570k
CPU cooling-Hyper 212+
MOBO-Asus Sabertooth Z77
GPU-EVGA 670 FTW (amazing card)
RAM-8GB Mushkin Enhanced Blackline 1600Mhz 9-9-9-24
PSU-Antec 900 Watt
Case-Cooler master 932 Full ATX Blue edition
Kado is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-16-11, 12:34 PM Thread Starter   #13
Kado
Member

 
Kado's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Menomonie, WI

 
I thought i solved this problem, guess i was wrong since it did another random shutdown while i was using it. I have modified the case a bit so that i could mount another fan inside near the motherboard to add airflow across my northbridge. This brought the temp down extremely. But i think its time i break down the entire machine and check it out, clean it up (even thought i do clean it on a regular basis), and see if that helps. Really have no way of testing the power supply but i dont think thats it from how infrequent this happens.

__________________
CPU-Intel Ivy Bridge I5 3570k
CPU cooling-Hyper 212+
MOBO-Asus Sabertooth Z77
GPU-EVGA 670 FTW (amazing card)
RAM-8GB Mushkin Enhanced Blackline 1600Mhz 9-9-9-24
PSU-Antec 900 Watt
Case-Cooler master 932 Full ATX Blue edition
Kado is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-16-11, 02:02 PM   #14
wingman99
Member

 
wingman99's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003

10 Year Badge
 
To check if it's heat related you need to run bench mark or testing programs for the CPU and GPU.

like FurMark and prime95

__________________
i5 2500K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68A-D3-B3
G.SKILL RipjawsX X.M.P. 1600MHz
EVGA SuperClocked GTX 570
wingman99 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-18-11, 10:10 AM Thread Starter   #15
Kado
Member

 
Kado's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Menomonie, WI

 
I ran Prime95, Burn-in-Test(which really does suck at getting my computer hot), and Memtest86+.

__________________
CPU-Intel Ivy Bridge I5 3570k
CPU cooling-Hyper 212+
MOBO-Asus Sabertooth Z77
GPU-EVGA 670 FTW (amazing card)
RAM-8GB Mushkin Enhanced Blackline 1600Mhz 9-9-9-24
PSU-Antec 900 Watt
Case-Cooler master 932 Full ATX Blue edition
Kado is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:36 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?