Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Step-by-step guide to setting up SSD caching on Z68 and Z77

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-07-11, 01:52 PM   #61
Mordachai
Member



Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Massachusetts USA

 
Are all of the devices on the Intel CH-10 controller? You've not got some part of it attached to the Marvell?

__________________
Intel i5-2500K @ 4.4GHz 1.335, MSI APS, no LLC, PLL enabled, speed step on, all C-states enabled
MSI Z68A-GD55 (G3)
Corsair Vengeance 8GB 9-9-9-24-1T @ stock
Gigabyte GV-N580UD-15I GTX 580 1.5GB
Cooler Master 932 HAF, Antec HCG 750 PS, Corsair H60 water cooler
2x Samgung 830 256GB SSD->512GB RAID0 (SATA3), 2TB Hitachi 5400 RPM HDD (SATA3)
Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1
Mordachai is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 11-07-11, 01:59 PM   #62
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
The Marvell controller sucks...thats why!

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is online now Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-11, 03:10 PM Thread Starter   #63
Eldonko
Revolutionary Mule

 
Eldonko's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Calgary, Alberta

 
That is prob the issue, both drives have to be on the Intel ports.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mordachai View Post
Are all of the devices on the Intel CH-10 controller? You've not got some part of it attached to the Marvell?

__________________
Motherboard Reviewer at Hardware Canucks
Team OCX Bench Team
Always lurking the motherboard section
Eldonko is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-11, 05:06 PM   #64
Artemis-X
Registered



Join Date: Oct 2011

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldonko View Post
That is prob the issue, both drives have to be on the Intel ports.
lol man ... no idea what you guys are talking about. 1 the cables run the same way that my old HDD was connected via sata 6.0 or w/e thingy
if thats not what you guys are talking about then i has no clue lmk if theres a way to find out

__________________
Mobo- Asus P8Z68-V Pro // CPU I5-2500k // GPU Asus 6970 // PSU - Corsair AX750 // HDD - Hitachi Deskstar 1TB // SSD - Crucial M4 64GB // RAM - 8GB Vengenance 1600 // OS - Win7 64bit // Case - Antec 1200
Artemis-X is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-11, 05:33 PM Thread Starter   #65
Eldonko
Revolutionary Mule

 
Eldonko's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Calgary, Alberta

 
Look in your manual at the sata port page. There will be 2 ports that connect directly to the chipset, they will say Intel Z68 sata 6gb/s ports or similar. Ensure that your caching SSD and the HD that you want cached are connected to those 2 ports.

__________________
Motherboard Reviewer at Hardware Canucks
Team OCX Bench Team
Always lurking the motherboard section
Eldonko is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-11, 08:05 PM   #66
Mordachai
Member



Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Massachusetts USA

 
@Artemis - most Z68 mobos have 4 SATA III (6Gb/s) ports, plus 4 SATA II (3Gb/s). 2 of the Sata III ports will be attached to the native Intel chipset. 2 are attached to a built-in Marvel controller. You must ensure that all drives - HDD and SDD that you wish to link for acceleration, are on the Intel side of things.

Usually your mobo will have some markings to indicate which is which. Or their website / manual certainly will.

And as Earthdog subtly hinted, the Marvel controllers suck ass.

__________________
Intel i5-2500K @ 4.4GHz 1.335, MSI APS, no LLC, PLL enabled, speed step on, all C-states enabled
MSI Z68A-GD55 (G3)
Corsair Vengeance 8GB 9-9-9-24-1T @ stock
Gigabyte GV-N580UD-15I GTX 580 1.5GB
Cooler Master 932 HAF, Antec HCG 750 PS, Corsair H60 water cooler
2x Samgung 830 256GB SSD->512GB RAID0 (SATA3), 2TB Hitachi 5400 RPM HDD (SATA3)
Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1
Mordachai is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-11, 11:48 PM   #67
Artemis-X
Registered



Join Date: Oct 2011

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mordachai View Post
@Artemis - most Z68 mobos have 4 SATA III (6Gb/s) ports, plus 4 SATA II (3Gb/s). 2 of the Sata III ports will be attached to the native Intel chipset. 2 are attached to a built-in Marvel controller. You must ensure that all drives - HDD and SDD that you wish to link for acceleration, are on the Intel side of things.

Usually your mobo will have some markings to indicate which is which. Or their website / manual certainly will.

And as Earthdog subtly hinted, the Marvel controllers suck ass.
as awesome as it would of been if this was the prob. it wasn't both are on the intell thingy

__________________
Mobo- Asus P8Z68-V Pro // CPU I5-2500k // GPU Asus 6970 // PSU - Corsair AX750 // HDD - Hitachi Deskstar 1TB // SSD - Crucial M4 64GB // RAM - 8GB Vengenance 1600 // OS - Win7 64bit // Case - Antec 1200
Artemis-X is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-08-11, 08:36 AM   #68
Mordachai
Member



Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Massachusetts USA

 
Bummer!

I assume that your BIOS for the ICH10/Z68 chipset is set to "RAID" not 'AHCI' or 'IDE'?

__________________
Intel i5-2500K @ 4.4GHz 1.335, MSI APS, no LLC, PLL enabled, speed step on, all C-states enabled
MSI Z68A-GD55 (G3)
Corsair Vengeance 8GB 9-9-9-24-1T @ stock
Gigabyte GV-N580UD-15I GTX 580 1.5GB
Cooler Master 932 HAF, Antec HCG 750 PS, Corsair H60 water cooler
2x Samgung 830 256GB SSD->512GB RAID0 (SATA3), 2TB Hitachi 5400 RPM HDD (SATA3)
Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1
Mordachai is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-08-11, 09:46 AM   #69
Artemis-X
Registered



Join Date: Oct 2011

 
yup its raid

__________________
Mobo- Asus P8Z68-V Pro // CPU I5-2500k // GPU Asus 6970 // PSU - Corsair AX750 // HDD - Hitachi Deskstar 1TB // SSD - Crucial M4 64GB // RAM - 8GB Vengenance 1600 // OS - Win7 64bit // Case - Antec 1200
Artemis-X is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-08-11, 01:14 PM Thread Starter   #70
Eldonko
Revolutionary Mule

 
Eldonko's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Calgary, Alberta

 
Do you have the latest driver from Intel? Sometimes you can get issues like that with an older version.

__________________
Motherboard Reviewer at Hardware Canucks
Team OCX Bench Team
Always lurking the motherboard section
Eldonko is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-08-11, 02:29 PM   #71
Artemis-X
Registered



Join Date: Oct 2011

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldonko View Post
Do you have the latest driver from Intel? Sometimes you can get issues like that with an older version.
i'm pretty sure i have everything up to date.... basically the problem here is this my hdd died i got a different one while i wait for the RMA

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822145473
^link to new one

old one is the one in my sig

i got the new one on sale at fry's for 109 (this week lucky cuz of the hdd crisis)

i did everything i did before just that this time when i was installing the OS i installed it under raid instead of doing that registry edit i did before because i had the OS already installed

__________________
Mobo- Asus P8Z68-V Pro // CPU I5-2500k // GPU Asus 6970 // PSU - Corsair AX750 // HDD - Hitachi Deskstar 1TB // SSD - Crucial M4 64GB // RAM - 8GB Vengenance 1600 // OS - Win7 64bit // Case - Antec 1200
Artemis-X is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-09-11, 02:51 PM   #72
Technowitch
New Member



Join Date: Nov 2011

 
Eldonko: I also just joined today to thank you for your invaluable information on how to enable Intel Rapid Storage on an already existing Windows 7 installation. I, too, was getting the BSOD at boot whenever RAID was selected in BIOS...and finally you gave me the clue here with that registry entry that the problem was Windows failing to install the driver at boot.

Anyway, I'm using an OCZ 60GB SATA III SSD and it's working like a dream now. You have my deepest gratitude.
Technowitch is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-10-11, 03:44 PM Thread Starter   #73
Eldonko
Revolutionary Mule

 
Eldonko's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Calgary, Alberta

 
No problem m8, happy to help. I just remember being totally confused when I set this up for the first time so I thought I would post a short guide to save others some time.

__________________
Motherboard Reviewer at Hardware Canucks
Team OCX Bench Team
Always lurking the motherboard section
Eldonko is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-12-11, 05:28 AM   #74
DigitalMonkey
Member

 
DigitalMonkey's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago, IL

 
I forgot to ask this.
Will I have any problems or conflicts if I set a 240GB SSD for OS and 60GB SSD (cache) + 2TB HDD (storage)?

If not, should I setup SSD + HDD combo first before OS drive?
Also, will it be possible to do the SSD caching on X79? Or is it to early to tell?


Thanks

__________________
Project Akachi Coming Soon...
DigitalMonkey is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-12-11, 10:12 AM   #75
Mordachai
Member



Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Massachusetts USA

 
Mixing free SSD and ganged SSD+HDD is known to work. I haven't done it, but I imagine it's very easy. The main thing is to set your BIOS to RAID before installing everything. Otherwise you have to do the registry hack thing to make it work.

I don't know about the X79 support for SSD caching. From what I understand it's a marketing limitation, not a chipset limitation. So... guess it depends on if they think they can wring more money by having two tiers / a later chipset that forces you to buy again (maybe someone can correct me if I'm wrong about this).

__________________
Intel i5-2500K @ 4.4GHz 1.335, MSI APS, no LLC, PLL enabled, speed step on, all C-states enabled
MSI Z68A-GD55 (G3)
Corsair Vengeance 8GB 9-9-9-24-1T @ stock
Gigabyte GV-N580UD-15I GTX 580 1.5GB
Cooler Master 932 HAF, Antec HCG 750 PS, Corsair H60 water cooler
2x Samgung 830 256GB SSD->512GB RAID0 (SATA3), 2TB Hitachi 5400 RPM HDD (SATA3)
Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1
Mordachai is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-12-11, 03:48 PM   #76
wingman99
Member

 
wingman99's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalMonkey View Post
I forgot to ask this.
Will I have any problems or conflicts if I set a 240GB SSD for OS and 60GB SSD (cache) + 2TB HDD (storage)?

If not, should I setup SSD + HDD combo first before OS drive?
Also, will it be possible to do the SSD caching on X79? Or is it to early to tell?


Thanks
You don't need a SSD cache if your using a 240GB SSD for OS

__________________
i5 2500K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68A-D3-B3
G.SKILL RipjawsX X.M.P. 1600MHz
EVGA SuperClocked GTX 570
wingman99 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-12-11, 05:41 PM   #77
DigitalMonkey
Member

 
DigitalMonkey's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago, IL

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by wingman99 View Post
You don't need a SSD cache if your using a 240GB SSD for OS
Im using the SSD to cache my HDD (storage). Please re-read what I posted previously.

__________________
Project Akachi Coming Soon...
DigitalMonkey is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-13-11, 07:40 AM   #78
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
You would have to put the SSD+HDD on the Intel ports then put your other SSD on another SATA3 port. But I believe it can be done, yes.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is online now Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-14-11, 10:28 AM Thread Starter   #79
Eldonko
Revolutionary Mule

 
Eldonko's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Calgary, Alberta

 
Should be no problem. Like ED said, put the caching SSD and the storage drive on the Intel ports.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalMonkey View Post
I forgot to ask this.
Will I have any problems or conflicts if I set a 240GB SSD for OS and 60GB SSD (cache) + 2TB HDD (storage)?

If not, should I setup SSD + HDD combo first before OS drive?
Also, will it be possible to do the SSD caching on X79? Or is it to early to tell?


Thanks

__________________
Motherboard Reviewer at Hardware Canucks
Team OCX Bench Team
Always lurking the motherboard section
Eldonko is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-20-11, 06:10 AM   #80
muqtar
New Member

 
muqtar's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2011

 
LOL TechnoWitch. My wife and I chuckled at your post a moment ago as I prepared to post in this thread.

ElDonko - this thread, specifically your advice and concise information helped me get through this task. I knew I wanted to enable smart response, but didn't know what I was getting into when I bought the drive at MicoCenter. I got home and began reading story after story of people messing up their machines trying to make it work.

Steps

1.) Flashed my ASUS BIOS to version 606.

2.) Downloaded IRST Version 10601002 from ASUS. (I thought this software would be available from intel.com, but could not find it anywhere - imperative that users check their motherboard manufacture's site and ensure that the BIOs and IRST software are compatible. Installed the IRST software which seemed to load the software package and install the appropriate drivers.

3.) Performed the Registry hack to enable the RAID driver in Windows. The explanation that the driver isn't enabled by default when Windows is installed with AHCI or IDE mode was critical.

4.) I was confused when you said "install the driver". I went ahead, rebooted and set the SATA controller to RAID mode in the BIOS. Once Windows loaded, it automatically installed the driver. This was a small leap of faith, but I saw what you meant when I was done.

5.) I shut down and plugged in my SSD.

6.) Booted up and all drivers finished installing. I loaded the Intel software and although it saw both drives, I couldn't read any info from either in the Intel SRT software.

After working through the knot in my stomach, I reviewed this thread for the 40th time on my phone. I rebooted and went into the BIOS where I noticed my SSD was on Sata 1 and my HDD was on Sata 2. I powered off and switched it so that my HDD was on Sata 1 and SSD was on SATA 2.

Powered up, and everything looked proper. I was able to enable acceleration and I can confirm that my newly built rig (this was the last finishing touch) is using caching properly. It made a HUGE difference.

I am sincerely grateful to your guide. Its easy when you already know how to do it, but the halls of the internet are littered with the corpses of folks like me who tried to wing it and went down in flames. I do appreciate it.

Respect,
Muqtar
muqtar is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?