• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

AMD Athlon II X4 640 OC capability. + a question

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Mitukczuk

Hi guys. I am new to this whole overclocking stuff so i hope i will not sound as a complete idiot.

First of all my specs :

Processor : AMD Athlon II X4 640 3,0Ghz with Arctic Freezer 13 cooler on.
MotherBoard : Gigabyte GA-MA74GMT-S2
RAM : 4Gb DDR III 1333Mhz (Kingston)
Grraphics card : ASUS Nvidia GTS 450 1gb
I have a mid-tower case with 500 W power supply and one additional 120mm fan for better air circulation.

The question id like to ask you is, to which number of Ghz is this processor capable of getting and if it is even worth doing considering my specs and that it is not in any way somewhat a great processor.
To have some additional info i ran an hour long test in Prime95 and under 100% loaded cores i did not exceed 39C degrees. (Dunno if it is good or not).

I browsed through this forum numerous times but found out that asking myself will be better.

Also , kind of an off-topic : Sometimes when play (Black Ops or something like that) i get ridiculously low FPS. Normally im getting from 50-180 FPS in Black Ops but sometimes its just unplayable. What makes it better is just exitting the game and restarting it again and my fps is ok,or a simple reload. It is happening to me almost in every game. World of Warcraft, League of Legends. Any thoughts ?

Bear in mind that i am not a multitasking person so when i play i close down everything but ICQ. I take care of my pc and i am regularly removing dust from fans and coolers.

Thank you and i apologize for my English. As you can probably tell i am not a native speaker.