Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

honestly dont know what to put PLEASE READ

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-21-02, 11:05 PM Thread Starter   #1
jstutman

 
jstutman's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: MOOissouri

10 Year Badge
 
honestly dont know what to put PLEASE READ


ok here is my question i will try to explain it as much as i can,

in the bios of the 8k7a+ the memory cas settings have auto

and manual. exactly what does changing the setting in manual do?
im using 2x 256 crucial ddr mem ecc

what is everyones reccomended settings, and then try to explain why you reccomend that setting

thanks in advance

__________________
Folding User Stats

Heatware
jstutman is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-21-02, 11:25 PM   #2
Placid
Senior Member

 
Placid's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Connecticut

 
In auto the board should set the memory timings based on the information programmed into the memory's spd.

In manual you override the auto settings to either get better performance or better stabilty.

For me the performance with stabilty at 150fsb using crucial 2100 on the 8K7A is from the top setting (phlimit) to bottom,

16
8
8
2
6
2
2

Your best bet is to get sisoft sandra and run the memory benchmark and then adjust the different settings and see what gives you the highest score without causing stability problems.

You can use the information here http://www.itcp.net/~awsh/Speed_Demo...uide_Index.htm
to find out what each setting does.

__________________
IC7 2.53b@3.33ghz
512mb Mushkin 3200ddr
9800pro 128
Placid is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-21-02, 11:29 PM Thread Starter   #3
jstutman

 
jstutman's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: MOOissouri

10 Year Badge
 
what would cause sandra to "not respond" when attempting memory test?

nothing running!

__________________
Folding User Stats

Heatware
jstutman is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-22-02, 01:31 AM   #4
TranceBear
Big Daddy Bear Senior

 
TranceBear's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2001
Location: Denver, CO

10 Year Badge
 
Re: honestly dont know what to put PLEASE READ


Quote:
Originally posted by jstutman
ok here is my question i will try to explain it as much as i can,

in the bios of the 8k7a+ the memory cas settings have auto

and manual. exactly what does changing the setting in manual do?
im using 2x 256 crucial ddr mem ecc

what is everyones reccomended settings, and then try to explain why you reccomend that setting

thanks in advance
Using ECC memory is actually crippling your system. It is slower RAM than standard PC2100.

__________________
AMD 9950BE Phenom 3.5ghz 1.47v 250x14 CPU For Sale
Coolermaster V-8 41c Idle-51c Load
Asus M3A79-T Deluxe 790FX/SB750
G-Skill 2x2gb DDR2-800 5-5-5-15-24
2x74gb Raptors-2x750gb WD Raid-0
Antec 1200 Case/ Antec 1000 Watt P/S
What's Fragging? I Don't Play Games
It's About Bragging Right's, Right?
My Heatware 100% since 2002
TranceBear is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?