• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Advice on OC'ing a new system

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Manx

Hi all,

I just put this system together but have a couple of questions please. I want to OC the system but not pushed it. Just enough to take advantage of the components I've purchased. I don't want to get into alot of benchmark testing or details unless I have to based on your advice. I have a strong knowledge of computers and have read a few guides and forum posts trying to get up to speed and keep getting overwhelmed with the details. I'm a newbie to OC'ing and really just want to stay one, but also don't want to waste the money I've spent.

One problem I do have is that my RAM speed is 1063 (don't remember exact number) not 2000. I even know why, I've read that I need to OC to get the higher speeds to be available. I'll be happy with 1600.

Is Easytune6 ok to trust, or should I make changes in the BIOS and work my way up like what alot of guides talk about. I really want to make this as easy as possible. This is strictly a gaming machine. Should I just leave everything a stock speeds? Will I even notice a difference upping my CPU and RAM speeds at this point (3.3GHz to say 4GHz, RAM 1063 to 1600)?

Windows 7 64-bit
Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3
i5-2500K CPU @ 3.30GHz
CORSAIR XMS3 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 2000 (PC3 16000)
NVIDIA EVGA GeForce GTX 580 superclocked
HD: WDC WD1002FAEX-00Y9A0 ATA Device 1T

Manx

Last edited: