• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

1866Mhz to 2133Mhz safe?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Customizor

Registered
So i have A-data Plus V2.0 2GB 1866Mhz 8-8-8-24
and i have ASUS rampage III Formula MB
on my MB after 1866Mhz frequency for the ram the next option is 2133 and higher, im new to overclocking so is there a way to fine tune this and increase it by a smaller amount?
and if not will setting to 2133Mhz cause any permanent damage if it fails?
i already set timings to 7-7-7-21 and everything is running smooth!

You have some nice sticks of ram there, if I'm thinking of the sticks you actually have, that is...

They are Hyper IC and are known to do great speeds and perform very well. I'm sure if you add some volts to your sticks, you can push them from 1866MHz to 2133MHz if you want. Be careful though, Hyper IC ram gets used to higher voltage and will eventually need more and more volts to stay stable.

EDIT: Let me know how those sticks clock... 1866 won't cut it for me, so I need more like 2133+ with great timings. I'm interested in buying a set, so if yours turn out to be awesome clockers, I may have to jump on this :D

Last edited:
yeah thats them they are very nice indeed!
It was a complete fail increasing to 2133, my computer booted but my screen stayed black, i pressed clr cmos button i have and that reset my settings so i could boot normal again! phew. i diddnt increase voltage though, would that have been why? they were set to auto.
the sticks they they are 1.55-1.75v and run at 1.65 for me.

there is also a 2200Mhz version of these ram but i couldnt find them anywhere! these were hard enough to find.

umm wtf are u using to cool ur CPU if its at 6Ghz?!?