• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclock i7 2600 k

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

SoundFX

here is my specs, need help over clocking as this is my first time
Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z
i7 2600k
corsair h80
16gb if vengeance 1866 memory red

also my memory is at 1333 idk y help is much appreciated thank you.

Go in the bios, find the "Tool" tab, enter asus profiles and save your current settings on 1 of the 8 possibilities, name it and go back to AI Tweaker tab.
Set your multiplier at 43x, set cpu voltage at 1.300, check if all 4 cores are activated,check under dram timing control if all values are correct, check if dram voltage is set as ram specs dictate.
Test in windows with realtemp, cpu-z and prime95 for stability, throw intel burn test in also.
Watch for temps and cpu voltage, check if it stays below or around 70°C max.

When stable up the multiplier by 1, so it reads 44x, and test again in windows. Keep doing that until unstable.
You will find the stable multiplier eventually with 1.300v.
The rest is up to you, if you want 45x or even going after 5Ghz or as high as possible.
You will need extra voltage with each higher multiplier.

Also you would now run on a "fixed" voltage for your cpu. If you want it to throttle down when idle you need to experiment with offset values. There are plenty of threads in this forum explaining how to do this and if it's viable or not etc.
Plenty of opinions to choose from.

But the basic is you find the vcore needed for a certain multiplier, from there you can go further.

Goodluck.

Thank for the help. this is default setting to take a look at

Last edited:
ok i final got around to over clocking and i did it with ai suite from asus and am wondering if these temps are safe also my fans don't ramp up running prime 95

Attachments

• CoreTemp-Scr.png