• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need help! *vmware server 2*

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Lineman

Registered
I desperately need some help! I am a college student tasked with setting up VMware server for one of my classes. I am having a hard time getting a guest OS installed. Here's the scoop.

Going right off the install guide I've
- Installed VMware server 2, created a new datastore, and created a VM on that datastore.
- During the configuration I selected to install from an ISO, this will be XP SP1
- When I power on the machine nothing happens at all, no change in screen and no access to the console. I did get an error at this point, "no bootable media inserted"
- I removed and re-made a new VM, this time to boot from CD, I burned the ISO to a bootable CD and no longer get the error message.
- At this point I'm lost, I can't figure out why nothing at all happens when I power on the machine, I do get a confirmation message saying machine powered on successfully.

The project involves creating 4 VM's on my laptop. I'm not sure if needing more than 1 would matter at this point but figured I'd mention it.

This is my first experience with virtual machines, and unfortunately my professor is very hard to reach (it's an online class). Up till now he has been no help at all. I'm sure there is something simple I'm missing :bang head

It has been awhile since I've used VMWare Server, but you need to change the boot order options. If this is for a class, you should really be talking with your teacher if you are having issues. That is what you pay them for.