• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

OC Virgin need help: i5 2500k on Asus P8P78-Deluxe

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

crisscutfries

This is my first build and I want to OC my CPU...

My computer has:
CPU: i5 2500k @ 3.3GHz (stock)
MB: Asus P8P67-Deluxe
GPU: EVGA Superclocked 580GTX
RAM: GSKILL Ripjaw 2x4GB (DDR3 1600) F3-12800CL8D-8GBXM
PSU: Corsair 650TXV2 650W
SSD: Intel 510 Series 120 GB
HDD: WD 2TB Green Caviar

I've been reading up on threads and went with these settings for 4.5 GHz:

Ai Overclock Tuner - Manual
BCLK/PEG Frequency - 100
Turbo Ratio: By All Cores:45
Internal PLL Overvoltage - Enabled
Memory Frequency - DDR3 1600
EPU Power Saving Mode - Disabled

CPU Ratio - Auto
Enhanced Intel SpeedStep Technology - Enabled
Turbo Mode - Enabled

Load-Line Calibration - Extreme
VRM - Auto
Phase Control - Extreme
Duty Control - Extreme
CPU Current Capability - 100%

CPU Voltage - Manual Mode
CPU Manual Voltage - 1.35v
DRAM Voltage - 1.5v
CPU Spread Spectrum - Disabled

Intel Adaptive Thermal Monitor - Disabled
Active Processor Cores - All
Limit CPUID Maximum - Disabled
Execute Disable Bit - Enabled
Intel Virtualization Technology - Disabled
Turbo Mode - Enabled
CPU C1E - Disabled
CPU C3 Report - Disabled
CPU C6 Report - Disabled

I was able to stress test it... and everything seemed fine. Turned it off, then cold booted and I get an error saying "Overclock has failed". Now I'm back to stock speed and I want to clock it to at least 4.0-4.5 but I'm not sure what caused the coldboot problem. Can someone help, please?

Can someone help me get my OC up and running?

Disabling Speedstep and turbo is typical when OCing, you have those enabled.