• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

In the Market for a New Laptop

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Kibokun

So I'm looking for a new laptop. Here's where I'm at.

Primary Requirements:

Great performance.
I'm a coder, and when I'm running lots of VMs and servers in my development environment, I don't want any sluggishness. Being able to play the occasional game on the go would be nice, too.

Battery life.
I'd love to be able to get 5 hours on Wifi.

Screen resolution.

Build quality

Compromises I'm willing to make:
Size
I don't want to go over 15", but I'll accept a medium-behemoth if I have to.

Price: <= $1300

I've been looking at the new Asus UX31, but It feels like I'd be paying a premium for the portability, when I'd rather that money go towards more power.

Thanks a lot!

EDIT: After some researching, I think the best options in my price range are the Thinkpad T420 and Alienware m14x.

T420:
+ Better battery life (9-cell) by almost 2 hours
+ Less gaudy
+ Better keyboard (so I've heard)
+ < 5lbs

m14x:
+ Much more powerful GPU

I'm a little torn, but by the numbers the T420 is ahead. I don't plan to game on this thing primarily. I have a desktop for that. I'm just wondering how the gpu choice may affect any DX11 work I do. I think the Quadro NVS series supports DX11, so I may be fine.

Last edited:
I could probably be considered a thinkpad fanboy, as I've used a lot of them and have been overall happy, despite some issues with older T series models.

I have a T410 and am especially happy with it. The keyboards have always been better in comparison to most laptops in my opinion, despite some purists who would have some criticisms of the thinkpad keyboards in certain models.