Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Games
Games Tips and general discussion
Forum Jump

Steam wth?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-13-11, 04:20 PM Thread Starter   #1
Theocnoob
Hates Trashcans
LOVES GRAMMER

 
Theocnoob's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Near Toronto Canada

 
Steam wth?


I buy Deus Ex this morning(physical copy) Install it. Come back like 3 hours later to play, and the steam box pops up and says its loading. Then says this game is currently unavailable. WHat the hell is that supposed to mean?

__________________
2600K @4.8Ghz*Maximus IV Extreme*GTX 580
2x4GB Gskill 1600Mhz*Intel510 120GB SSD
WD Velociraptor 150GB HDD*HX850*NH-D14
Theocnoob is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-13-11, 04:30 PM   #2
Efonzerellie
Member

 
Efonzerellie's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Seattle,WA

 
same thing just happened to me with TF2

__________________
Case: Fractal R4
CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 955BE 4Ghz/Swiftech H220
MOBO: ASUS M4A88T-V
GPU: Sapphire 7950 2L
RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB
Storage: Ocz 60gb SSD+3.5TB
PSU: Corsair 750W
Monitor: Overlord Tempest X270OC
Efonzerellie is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-13-11, 05:16 PM   #3
Janus67
Benching Team Leader
Wannabe Admin Senior

 
Janus67's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Ohio State

 
"Steam servers are too busy to handle your request. Please try again in a few minutes."


when trying to open any game. If only it was Origin, we wouldn't have these issues!

__________________
Haswell Benching and Gaming: ASRock Z87 OC Formula : Intel i7 4770k w/ Phanteks PH-TC14 : 8GB 2x4GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-2666 : MSI, XFX, and Sapphire R9 290X
Other Components: Samsung 840 Evo 500GB SSD : 2TB Hitachi : Silverstone Strider Gold 1250W and Seasonic Platinum 1000W : Auria EQ276W 2560x1440


Folding User Stats
Janus67 is online now Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-14-11, 10:09 AM Thread Starter   #4
Theocnoob
Hates Trashcans
LOVES GRAMMER

 
Theocnoob's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Near Toronto Canada

 
I own the game, I will play it when I damn well please, period. I hope someone from Steam is reading.

__________________
2600K @4.8Ghz*Maximus IV Extreme*GTX 580
2x4GB Gskill 1600Mhz*Intel510 120GB SSD
WD Velociraptor 150GB HDD*HX850*NH-D14
Theocnoob is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-14-11, 03:22 PM   #5
Tokae
Member

 
Tokae's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: London Canada

 
Rage did that with me!

I bought my copy from Bestbuy.. I install it, BAM its in my Steam?!?!?

__________________
I have old stuff!
Tokae is online now Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-14-11, 04:26 PM   #6
Shell
Member

 
Shell's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: CYYZ Pearson

 
As you know steam is DRM that has to call home for the game to work, only way around is to go into offline mode when it is working.

__________________
FX-6300@4.6GHz, 7850, 4x4GB DDR3-1600 CL8, PCP&C 400w, 4x1TB
Shell is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-14-11, 04:47 PM   #7
madhatter256
Special Member ★

 
madhatter256's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: CFL

 
Where the installation of the store-bought games independent of steam? Meaning they just placed a shortcut, installed in their own non-steam folder in program files, etc.? Or did it ask you to install steam during installation of the game?

From what I'm reading here sounds like Steam 'detected' your install and made it part of it without your permission...

__________________
Folding User Stats
Heatware
madhatter256 is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-14-11, 07:24 PM Thread Starter   #8
Theocnoob
Hates Trashcans
LOVES GRAMMER

 
Theocnoob's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Near Toronto Canada

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by madhatter256 View Post
Where the installation of the store-bought games independent of steam? Meaning they just placed a shortcut, installed in their own non-steam folder in program files, etc.? Or did it ask you to install steam during installation of the game?

From what I'm reading here sounds like Steam 'detected' your install and made it part of it without your permission...
That's what it does my friend. If you have Steam installed, which I do, and you buy games from Steam, which I do, when you buy a boxed RETAIL game that happens to be available on Steam it just eats it. Even the installer is the 'steam installer' with the little percentage bar that scrolls across but doesn't tell you what/where is installing. And it installs itself to the /steam folder.

As with all things, once you let them become big enough, they become inherently evil... I mean, unless their motto is not to be evil. Right?

__________________
2600K @4.8Ghz*Maximus IV Extreme*GTX 580
2x4GB Gskill 1600Mhz*Intel510 120GB SSD
WD Velociraptor 150GB HDD*HX850*NH-D14
Theocnoob is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-15-11, 12:10 PM   #9
doz
Member



Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Las Vegas, NV

10 Year Badge
 
http://deusex.com/game/reqs

It says right there on the requirements that it uses the Steam platform...... That should tell you that Steam is REQUIRED, retail or not...... You purchased the game like that (Im sure if you look at the box, itll say the same thing).

__________________
Asus P8P67
Intel i7-2600k @ 4.9ghz
GSkill Ripjaws 8gb 1600mhz c8
EVGA GTX780 ACX 1228//1650
OCZ Agility 2 240gb, Corsair Force 3 180gb, (2)WD 1tb Black
HAF 932w/ Corsair HX750
Heat
doz is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-15-11, 12:39 PM   #10
SolidxSnake
Member

 
SolidxSnake's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Massachusetts, USA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theocnoob View Post
That's what it does my friend. If you have Steam installed, which I do, and you buy games from Steam, which I do, when you buy a boxed RETAIL game that happens to be available on Steam it just eats it. Even the installer is the 'steam installer' with the little percentage bar that scrolls across but doesn't tell you what/where is installing. And it installs itself to the /steam folder.

As with all things, once you let them become big enough, they become inherently evil... I mean, unless their motto is not to be evil. Right?
Retail games that are steam only (Deus Ex) are done through steam. BC2, for instance, is a game that was offered retail and through Steam, and doesn't play through steam if you have the retail version. I know this because I have the retail version and my friends have the Steam version, and I am greatly envious of them.

So to counter your point, Steam does not "eat up" games that happen to be available on steam unless that game is specifically required to use Steam.

As far as the game being unavailable (happened to me yesterday morning with Metro 2033, well.. Steam wouldn't even open), if you're already on and the game is unavailable, I'd just restart into offline mode, problem solved. If it's an online game that you want to play and Steam is down, well, I guess that's something you have to deal with. Not anything new for servers to occasionally have issues, right?

__________________
When I logon to Windows, I press Ctrl+Alt+ELITE
i7-2600 4001MHz @ 39x102.6~ASRock P67 Fatal1ty Professional~MSI N580GTX Lightning 1536MB @ 1000//2400 @ 1.149v~8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24~256GB Samsung 830 SSD and 60GB OCZ Vertex~2x Western Digital Caviar Green 1TBs in RAID1 ~BFG ES-800 PSU
Custom Watercooling Loop | Apogee GT, MCW82, MCP35x + Res, Thermochill PA120.2 and 120.3 (both rev1) w/ Gentle Typhoon AP-15s pull, 7/16"x5/8" MasterKleer, 100% Distilled Water with Iodine ---All encased in a Silverstone TJ07B-W
Join in on the fun! Heatware OCForums Metal Club member #13224

SolidxSnake is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-15-11, 04:55 PM Thread Starter   #11
Theocnoob
Hates Trashcans
LOVES GRAMMER

 
Theocnoob's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Near Toronto Canada

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by SolidxSnake View Post
Retail games that are steam only (Deus Ex) are done through steam. BC2, for instance, is a game that was offered retail and through Steam, and doesn't play through steam if you have the retail version. I know this because I have the retail version and my friends have the Steam version, and I am greatly envious of them.

So to counter your point, Steam does not "eat up" games that happen to be available on steam unless that game is specifically required to use Steam.
Many of the games I have purchased retail have had a STEAM installer and plopped themselves into my STEAM directory. Metro 2033 is another example.

__________________
2600K @4.8Ghz*Maximus IV Extreme*GTX 580
2x4GB Gskill 1600Mhz*Intel510 120GB SSD
WD Velociraptor 150GB HDD*HX850*NH-D14
Theocnoob is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-15-11, 07:47 PM   #12
Supertrucker
Way Too Jealous Member

 
Supertrucker's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Southern California

10 Year Badge
 
Many games, including games not released by valve, are steam only games, that 100% require steam to play, whether you had steam installed before you bought them or not. Like fallout, new vegas. It is a steam only title, even if you bought an in store copy of the game, you have to install steam and launch it through steam, as steam is the publishers chosen method of drm.

Ive never once had a retail game that was not a steam required game force me to install through steam with a retail copy of the game.

__________________
4670k @ 4.5 w/ apogee HD Asrock Extreme 6
Crossfire R9 290 @ 1175/1350 EK fc blocks
Yamasaki Catleap 2560x1440 IPS w/120hz pcb
Senn HD598s w/ Sound Blaster Z
Swiftech mcp 35x 120.6 swiftech qp w/GT ap-14s
Supertrucker is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-15-11, 08:31 PM   #13
SolidxSnake
Member

 
SolidxSnake's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Massachusetts, USA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theocnoob View Post
Many of the games I have purchased retail have had a STEAM installer and plopped themselves into my STEAM directory. Metro 2033 is another example.
You missed my entire post. There are plenty of retail games that are steam only (Deus Ex, and Metro, whatever other games you know of), but there are other ones that are both (BFBC2) and Steam doesn't automatically take over the retail install of the game.

The game will say "requires Steam" on the box if so.

__________________
When I logon to Windows, I press Ctrl+Alt+ELITE
i7-2600 4001MHz @ 39x102.6~ASRock P67 Fatal1ty Professional~MSI N580GTX Lightning 1536MB @ 1000//2400 @ 1.149v~8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24~256GB Samsung 830 SSD and 60GB OCZ Vertex~2x Western Digital Caviar Green 1TBs in RAID1 ~BFG ES-800 PSU
Custom Watercooling Loop | Apogee GT, MCW82, MCP35x + Res, Thermochill PA120.2 and 120.3 (both rev1) w/ Gentle Typhoon AP-15s pull, 7/16"x5/8" MasterKleer, 100% Distilled Water with Iodine ---All encased in a Silverstone TJ07B-W
Join in on the fun! Heatware OCForums Metal Club member #13224

SolidxSnake is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-15-11, 10:42 PM Thread Starter   #14
Theocnoob
Hates Trashcans
LOVES GRAMMER

 
Theocnoob's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Near Toronto Canada

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by SolidxSnake View Post
You missed my entire post.
How could I have missed the post if I replied to it?

I misunderstood it but I didn't miss it

__________________
2600K @4.8Ghz*Maximus IV Extreme*GTX 580
2x4GB Gskill 1600Mhz*Intel510 120GB SSD
WD Velociraptor 150GB HDD*HX850*NH-D14
Theocnoob is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-17-11, 02:25 PM   #15
Aynjell
Member



Join Date: Dec 2008

 
Wait, am I the only person who sees steamplay on a box and is excited?

__________________
Do not break wind in the same room as a dark brother or sister; to do so is to invoke the wrath of Sithis. - Aynjell, in fond memory of Lucien LeChance
Aynjell is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-17-11, 02:27 PM Thread Starter   #16
Theocnoob
Hates Trashcans
LOVES GRAMMER

 
Theocnoob's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Near Toronto Canada

 
With a 20-120GB HD on most people's Xbox I doubt that will be successful.

__________________
2600K @4.8Ghz*Maximus IV Extreme*GTX 580
2x4GB Gskill 1600Mhz*Intel510 120GB SSD
WD Velociraptor 150GB HDD*HX850*NH-D14
Theocnoob is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-17-11, 02:51 PM   #17
Aynjell
Member



Join Date: Dec 2008

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theocnoob View Post
With a 20-120GB HD on most people's Xbox I doubt that will be successful.
I think you misread my post. I said A BOX, not Xbox.

__________________
Do not break wind in the same room as a dark brother or sister; to do so is to invoke the wrath of Sithis. - Aynjell, in fond memory of Lucien LeChance
Aynjell is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-17-11, 04:35 PM   #18
SolidxSnake
Member

 
SolidxSnake's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Massachusetts, USA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theocnoob View Post
With a 20-120GB HD on most people's Xbox I doubt that will be successful.
Now I'm beginning to think you're trolling

__________________
When I logon to Windows, I press Ctrl+Alt+ELITE
i7-2600 4001MHz @ 39x102.6~ASRock P67 Fatal1ty Professional~MSI N580GTX Lightning 1536MB @ 1000//2400 @ 1.149v~8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24~256GB Samsung 830 SSD and 60GB OCZ Vertex~2x Western Digital Caviar Green 1TBs in RAID1 ~BFG ES-800 PSU
Custom Watercooling Loop | Apogee GT, MCW82, MCP35x + Res, Thermochill PA120.2 and 120.3 (both rev1) w/ Gentle Typhoon AP-15s pull, 7/16"x5/8" MasterKleer, 100% Distilled Water with Iodine ---All encased in a Silverstone TJ07B-W
Join in on the fun! Heatware OCForums Metal Club member #13224

SolidxSnake is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Games
Games Tips and general discussion
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?