Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

HIS H677FN1GD Radeon HD 6770 1GB

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-13-11, 05:11 PM Thread Starter   #1
travle
New Member



Join Date: Oct 2011

 
Unhappy HIS H677FN1GD Radeon HD 6770 1GB


I built a new computer last week. I bought the video card as listed in the title. What i'm trying to do is get it overclocked right. I have AMD's newest drivers installed and i also have AMD's Vision Engine Control Center to overclock it because its suppose to be an easy process and i've never overclocked. The problem is i have overclocked it in the Vision Engine Control Center from 850MHz Core Clock to 950MHz and the Memory clock i took from 1200MHz to 1435MHz. When i run a benchmark like 3D Mark11 the Vision Engine Control Center says my Core clock never goes over 850MHz and memory never gets over 1200MHz. I have ran 3 different benchmarks with it at factory clock and with it overclocked to what i stated. On every benchmark i see absolutely no improvement, and even on the Heaven benchmark with it at factory clock my score was 1 point better. I have read if you overclock passed 900MHz you have to up the GPU voltage. AMD Overdrive program said my GPU voltage was at 1.2. Help needed to get this overclocked right and with some kind of improvement when overclocked.

My System Specs:
AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition--overclocked from 3.2MHz to 3.6Mhz
MSI 970A-G45 motherboard
Video card listed in title
PNY 8Gigs Ram at 1066
Diablotek 600watt PSU
Seagate Barracuda 1TB 7200RPM 32MB buffer

Last edited by travle; 10-13-11 at 05:18 PM.
travle is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-13-11, 05:55 PM   #2
dkizzy
Premium Member #15






Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: PA

 
Hello Travle, welcome to the OC forums. You should read some of the stickies that members here have created to help first timers such as yourself. Many of them have made some great guides, and I encourage you to look at them. Right off the bat I would suggest that you don't push the memory clock that high until you know what your card can handle at stock voltage. clock it down and do 5-10 mhz increments. Second I know this sounds silly but you should make sure that you click apply after tweaking settings in catalyst control center, otherwise download MSI Afterburner (latest version) and use that to modify/save your tweaks. Also, I would check with HIS or other people owning the card to see if there was some sort of restriction imposed on the card's BIOS. HIS might provide an overclock tweaking program, but I would stick with the aforementioned MSI Afterburner. Third I would monitor your temps, and be mindful not to let them get out of control. Adjust fan speed accordingly. From your specs list I see that you have attempted a light overclock on your 955. Just remember not to assume that you can jump 400 mhz right off the bat without some settings being changed. The same methodology should be applied to your video card. Good luck!

__________________
i7 4770k @ Stock for now, Corsair 600T, H70 Cooler
16gb Crucial Ballstix Tactical Low Profile CL8 1.35v
Plextor M3 128GB SSD F/W 1.07
Samsung 830 128gb
2TB Hitachi 64mb cache
MSI GTX 770 Gaming
MSI Z87 M Power
Heatware Profile

Last edited by dkizzy; 10-13-11 at 06:02 PM.
dkizzy is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-13-11, 06:02 PM   #3
Austin3334
Member

 
Austin3334's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: West Georgia

 
First don't use CCC/AMD VECC.

MSI afterburner seems to be the most common on this forum, don't quote me on that though.

1. Set the clocks back to defaults.
2. Install MSI afterburner.
3. Overclock
4. Test. My favorite way to test a GPU OC is simply gaming, as long as it works in game I could careless about 3Dmark...etc. However gaming doesn't stress the card as much as benchmarks.

As with all overclocks(GPU and CPU alike) start small and work your way up and typically you can't plug in someones clocks and get the same results.

With all that said, I rarely overclock GPUs. The gain isn't that significant imo, especially with a low end 6770. Better off buying a better card if you want significant results.

__________________
Core I5 760 @ 4GHZ
MSI P55 GD65
Sapphire 6870
4GB G-Skill Rip Jaws 8-8-8-24 1600
OCZ Fatal1ty 550W
OCZ Agility 2 60GB
WD Black 640GB & WD Green 1TB
CM Hyper 212 Push/Pull
Azza Hurrican
Austin3334 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-13-11, 07:40 PM Thread Starter   #4
travle
New Member



Join Date: Oct 2011

 
well i just searched 3DMark11 benchmark scores for my video card and with a AMD Phenom II x4 945 people were getting scores of around 3200-3300. I have the same video card with a AMD Phenom II x4 955 and i'm only getting a score of 2723. Somethings not right just by going off of that.

dkizzy i didn't overclock my processor myself. My motherboard's BIOS has an overclock feature that auto tunes to the maximum stable MHz and adjust the settings accordingly.

i took yalls advice and got the MSI Afterburner. I now have my Memory clock changing, but no matter what i put my Core Clock at it still stays at 850MHz (the outta the box clock speed).

Last edited by travle; 10-13-11 at 08:32 PM.
travle is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-14-11, 06:36 PM   #5
grumperfish
Member

 
grumperfish's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: South Florida

 
^^^
If you're still running the overclock listed in the OP, you GPU RAM may not be stable. If that card uses GDDR5, an unstable memory clock will result in slower GPU performance as the card attempts to correct any errors.

You may also want to run OCCT to see if your CPU overclock is stable. Use HWiNFO64 to monitor voltages & temps. If your CPU is overheating (AMD's tend to top out around 60C IIRC) it will throttle, reducing performance.

For Afterburner, you may need to enable overvoltage (but don't change it) in settings, close afterburner, and after reloading the application then try overclocking.

__________________
Desktop: i7 2600K @ 4.6ghz w/ TR HR-02 + SD 120x38mm // Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P // XFX 6950 2GB
16GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600mhz // Samsung 830 256GB // 6TB // Thermaltake Armor // Corsair TX750
Server: Q6600 G0 // Gigabyte EP35-DS3R // 4GB G-Skill DDR2 // 4850 512MB // 4.25TB // Corsair TX650
Laptop: Latitude D630 // C2M T7300 // 4GB DDR2 // X3100 // Samsung 830 128GB
Smoothwall: P4 2.4C // 1GB DDR // AOpen MX4GVR // 20GB // Corsair CX430
I like HEAT
grumperfish is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-14-11, 08:09 PM Thread Starter   #6
travle
New Member



Join Date: Oct 2011

 
thanks i got it all worked out now. for some reason it was only over clocking the memory, but once i unchecked Enable AMD Overdrive in the CCC it now over clocks the core and memory. I am using Afterburner. Now i'm just trying to find a stable core and memory clock with the best benchmark score.
travle is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-03-11, 09:54 AM   #7
Elbisivni
New Member



Join Date: Dec 2011

 
Hello Travle , i have exaktly the same H677FN1GD and destroyed bios with radeon bios editor... and i have no backup His would not send me any bios ... there is no way to find this bios for the 6770 from His H677FN1GD plz can u send me a backup from yours?
Elbisivni is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-03-11, 11:27 AM   #8
grumperfish
Member

 
grumperfish's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: South Florida

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elbisivni View Post
Hello Travle , i have exaktly the same H677FN1GD and destroyed bios with radeon bios editor... and i have no backup His would not send me any bios ... there is no way to find this bios for the 6770 from His H677FN1GD plz can u send me a backup from yours?
Check TechPowerUp's VGA BIOS database:

http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/

Sort by your card and manufacturer and you will be able to find a proper BIOS for your card. Check google for W1zzard's instructions for atiwinflash.

__________________
Desktop: i7 2600K @ 4.6ghz w/ TR HR-02 + SD 120x38mm // Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P // XFX 6950 2GB
16GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600mhz // Samsung 830 256GB // 6TB // Thermaltake Armor // Corsair TX750
Server: Q6600 G0 // Gigabyte EP35-DS3R // 4GB G-Skill DDR2 // 4850 512MB // 4.25TB // Corsair TX650
Laptop: Latitude D630 // C2M T7300 // 4GB DDR2 // X3100 // Samsung 830 128GB
Smoothwall: P4 2.4C // 1GB DDR // AOpen MX4GVR // 20GB // Corsair CX430
I like HEAT
grumperfish is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-03-11, 11:31 AM   #9
Elbisivni
New Member



Join Date: Dec 2011

 
I have checked but there is only H677F1GD bios and not H677FN1GD
thx
Elbisivni is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-03-11, 12:47 PM   #10
grumperfish
Member

 
grumperfish's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: South Florida

 
Is there a PCB/cooler difference between the two cards, or is it just a difference in warranty?

__________________
Desktop: i7 2600K @ 4.6ghz w/ TR HR-02 + SD 120x38mm // Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P // XFX 6950 2GB
16GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600mhz // Samsung 830 256GB // 6TB // Thermaltake Armor // Corsair TX750
Server: Q6600 G0 // Gigabyte EP35-DS3R // 4GB G-Skill DDR2 // 4850 512MB // 4.25TB // Corsair TX650
Laptop: Latitude D630 // C2M T7300 // 4GB DDR2 // X3100 // Samsung 830 128GB
Smoothwall: P4 2.4C // 1GB DDR // AOpen MX4GVR // 20GB // Corsair CX430
I like HEAT
grumperfish is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-03-11, 04:17 PM   #11
Elbisivni
New Member



Join Date: Dec 2011

 
I really dont know what kind of difference there is. The Radeon HD 6700 H677FN1GD from HIS is a little bit shorter
I mean i Am an Google God but i cant even find any Bios working 4 my card the screen stays black i Use an old Pci Card 4 upgrading my Radeon ...
Elbisivni is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-04-11, 03:44 PM Thread Starter   #12
travle
New Member



Join Date: Oct 2011

 
hey Elbisivni i'd be happy to help you out, but you're going to have to tell me how to get that bios without damaging it because i've never really fooled around with video cards
travle is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-04-11, 03:57 PM   #13
Elbisivni
New Member



Join Date: Dec 2011

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by travle View Post
hey Elbisivni i'd be happy to help you out, but you're going to have to tell me how to get that bios without damaging it because i've never really fooled around with video cards
oh nice your my best man your open gpu Z and there is an small symbol next to the Bios Version. Klick on that icon and then save bios to file . Thats it you gonna really help me man

thx a lot

lol @ the other one poster i was playing bf3 @ high settings with eyfinity and minimum was 18 Frames ... and min 45 frames overclocked ... can somebody tell me how this is possible when i get the 850 mhz core to 845 it runs bf3 with 45 frames ...

Last edited by Elbisivni; 12-04-11 at 04:12 PM.
Elbisivni is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?