• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Q8400 + GA-EP43-US3L + DDR2 800mhz need help in overclocking

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

IJAHman

I have this set-up and just wondering if I could overclock it properly without causing any damage to my system. Any suggestion and tips for overclocking this up to the highest it could go would be much appreciated. I've read in some forums that Q8400 could go as high as 3.92Ghz but with 1066mhz of ram. Please help me and suggest any cooling set-up too. I'm new to this kind of thing (overclocking) and wanna learn it in the right way.

Here's is my rig :
Mobo : GA-EP43-US3L
CPU : Intel Q8400 2.66Ghz
GPU : Gigabyte GTX 560 OC
RAM : 4Gb (2x2Gb) 800mhz DDR2 (Kingston only)
Chasis : Thermaltake Xaser III
PSU : Thermaltake TR2 600watts

Right now the biggest problem is the FSB limitation of the P43 chipset on the motherboard. It probably get up to 415 fsb which is suitable with your 800MHz DDR2.
You would need a P45 board for higher overclocking....and possibly 1066MHz rams.

Right now the biggest problem is the FSB limitation of the P43 chipset on the motherboard. It probably get up to 415 fsb which is suitable with your 800MHz DDR2.
You would need a P45 board for higher overclocking....and possibly 1066MHz rams.

Thanks Sam. Anyway, do you know how to overclock my cpu. Can you list the step by step procedures in doing it in my mobo?

Your board might have limited overclocking functions....but I'm sure it would do fine.
Since it will NOT be able to overclocks much, NO adjustment maybe required except for FSB increasement. (5~10MHz increment for step)
To keep things simply here are a few keys to keep in mind.

1- Set ram to 1:1 ratio (set ram to default specs & voltage)..you may increase dram voltage a little above rated specs.