Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

HDD failed now i'm not sure what to do

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-03-11, 03:45 AM Thread Starter   #1
Artemis-X
Registered



Join Date: Oct 2011

 
HDD failed now i'm not sure what to do


RMA'ed the HDD its on its way back to the black hole that is newegg with all my hopes and dreams that my new rig would be problem free. Thats what i get for going against OC's forum recommendations! haha Anyways i still have my SSD that i had setup for SRT. 64 gig and all so now i need to know (i read around that its hard to fully do if not impossible) should i just format it? Once my new HDD comes Install Windows on the HDD and format it then? or how can i do it before? Or should i even do it would it make a difference?

i just don't want to possibly write onto it the same data and waste 2x the space.

__________________
Mobo- Asus P8Z68-V Pro // CPU I5-2500k // GPU Asus 6970 // PSU - Corsair AX750 // HDD - Hitachi Deskstar 1TB // SSD - Crucial M4 64GB // RAM - 8GB Vengenance 1600 // OS - Win7 64bit // Case - Antec 1200
Artemis-X is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-03-11, 07:25 AM   #2
Janus67
Benching Team Leader
Grabbed Senior

 
Janus67's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Ohio State

 
I don't think it would hurt to just go ahead and format the SSD if it will just be used for SRT anyway, may as well start it fresh.

__________________
Haswell Benching and Gaming: ASRock Z87 OC Formula : Intel i7 4770k w/ Phanteks PH-TC14 : 8GB 2x4GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-2666 : MSI, XFX, and Sapphire R9 290X
Other Components: Samsung 840 Evo 500GB SSD : 2TB Hitachi : Silverstone Strider Gold 1250W and Seasonic Platinum 1000W : Auria EQ276W 2560x1440


Folding User Stats
Janus67 is online now Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-03-11, 09:58 AM Thread Starter   #3
Artemis-X
Registered



Join Date: Oct 2011

 
is there any special thing i have to do in order to do that though?

also was thinking of installing the OS on the SSD and then checking that nothing else was damaged

__________________
Mobo- Asus P8Z68-V Pro // CPU I5-2500k // GPU Asus 6970 // PSU - Corsair AX750 // HDD - Hitachi Deskstar 1TB // SSD - Crucial M4 64GB // RAM - 8GB Vengenance 1600 // OS - Win7 64bit // Case - Antec 1200
Artemis-X is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-05-11, 01:07 AM Thread Starter   #4
Artemis-X
Registered



Join Date: Oct 2011

 
ok so i'm thinking of buying a 2nd HDD to have 2 in total when my replacement comes in.

Would it cause any kind of trouble to my current set up? 2 HDDs and an SSD how would that effect SRT?

OR how about i get a second SSD instead? would that make it MUCH faster at all?

__________________
Mobo- Asus P8Z68-V Pro // CPU I5-2500k // GPU Asus 6970 // PSU - Corsair AX750 // HDD - Hitachi Deskstar 1TB // SSD - Crucial M4 64GB // RAM - 8GB Vengenance 1600 // OS - Win7 64bit // Case - Antec 1200
Artemis-X is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-05-11, 11:30 AM   #5
Janus67
Benching Team Leader
Grabbed Senior

 
Janus67's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Ohio State

 
Overall I think that you would be wasting the capabilities of the crucial m4 to use it for caching. If you were to get a second SSD I would just get a small 30GB cheap one to use for caching the HDD that you will be getting back. At this point/pricing I wouldn't be buying an HDD because of how expensive they are.

__________________
Haswell Benching and Gaming: ASRock Z87 OC Formula : Intel i7 4770k w/ Phanteks PH-TC14 : 8GB 2x4GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-2666 : MSI, XFX, and Sapphire R9 290X
Other Components: Samsung 840 Evo 500GB SSD : 2TB Hitachi : Silverstone Strider Gold 1250W and Seasonic Platinum 1000W : Auria EQ276W 2560x1440


Folding User Stats
Janus67 is online now Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-05-11, 03:15 PM Thread Starter   #6
Artemis-X
Registered



Join Date: Oct 2011

 
is it faster to have an SSD for cache or just having it used for programs and the OS. i just thought SRT put on it the files that i used the most and read them faster when they were in USE.

__________________
Mobo- Asus P8Z68-V Pro // CPU I5-2500k // GPU Asus 6970 // PSU - Corsair AX750 // HDD - Hitachi Deskstar 1TB // SSD - Crucial M4 64GB // RAM - 8GB Vengenance 1600 // OS - Win7 64bit // Case - Antec 1200
Artemis-X is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-05-11, 04:22 PM   #7
Janus67
Benching Team Leader
Grabbed Senior

 
Janus67's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Ohio State

 
I would rather use it for programs and OS given the option.

__________________
Haswell Benching and Gaming: ASRock Z87 OC Formula : Intel i7 4770k w/ Phanteks PH-TC14 : 8GB 2x4GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-2666 : MSI, XFX, and Sapphire R9 290X
Other Components: Samsung 840 Evo 500GB SSD : 2TB Hitachi : Silverstone Strider Gold 1250W and Seasonic Platinum 1000W : Auria EQ276W 2560x1440


Folding User Stats
Janus67 is online now Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:11 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?