Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Can't see post screen or BIOS setup

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-07-11, 06:57 PM Thread Starter   #1
curver
Registered

 
curver's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: UConn

 
Can't see post screen or BIOS setup


Just flashed updated BIOS to my new Gigabyte z68xp-ud4. I think the flash went well, as I can boot into windows just fine.
However, no signal gets to the monitor before windows boots, so I can not see the BIOS setup.
I have tried connecting the monitor to the mobo via hdmi, the monitor to the gpu via hdmi, and the monitor to the gpu via dvi.
Nothing will allow me to see the post screen or BIOS setup.
I can probably access the BIOS with gigabytes touch bios program, but if possible I'd much rather access it the old-fashioned way.

__________________
Asus G51Jx
i7-720QM | 8GB DDR3 1333 | GeForce GTS 360M

Desktop
i5-2500k | Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD4 | 8GB G. Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 1600 | EVGA GTX 560 Ti SC | Crucial M4 128GB | Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB | Corsair TX650 | Antec 300 Illusion | CM Hyper 212+ | Asus VE247H
curver is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 11-07-11, 07:08 PM   #2
I.M.O.G.
Glorious Leader

 
I.M.O.G.'s Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Rootstown, OH

10 Year Badge
 
Have you pressed the delete key continually after you press the power button? That will probably put you in bios once the monitor picks up the signal.

I've seen this vary by monitor. I have an LCD that tries to autodetect when the PC turns on, but it usually does so so slowly that I'm at the windows loading screen before I see a thing. I just press delete as it boots and I don't usually see post, but it drops me into BIOS as it should.

__________________
The OC Forums Way
We are a team. We are a community. We are a fellowship made strong by mutual respect and shared dedication to the task of enriching all who come here.
The OC Forums Thank You Thread
Put your computer to work for our OC Forum Teams!
Try out our POST TEMPLATES, they save you time answering common questions!

I spend half my money on CPUs, GPUs, and Liquid Nitrogen. The other half I waste.
I.M.O.G. is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-11, 07:18 PM Thread Starter   #3
curver
Registered

 
curver's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: UConn

 
My problem isn't that the monitor can't display the screen in time, it's that it won't display anything until windows is loaded.
I.E. if I press delete to get into the BIOS, the monitor stays blank indefinitely.

I hope you can understand the difference. I'm not really sure if I'm wording it correctly.

__________________
Asus G51Jx
i7-720QM | 8GB DDR3 1333 | GeForce GTS 360M

Desktop
i5-2500k | Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD4 | 8GB G. Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 1600 | EVGA GTX 560 Ti SC | Crucial M4 128GB | Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB | Corsair TX650 | Antec 300 Illusion | CM Hyper 212+ | Asus VE247H
curver is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-11, 07:21 PM   #4
I.M.O.G.
Glorious Leader

 
I.M.O.G.'s Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Rootstown, OH

10 Year Badge
 
Yup that makes perfect sense, I just didn't understand that was the nature of the problem until you said it again. Thanks.

You may need to change the setting for primary display adapter in BIOS before it displays the post and BIOS screen correctly? Have you tried resetting to failsafe defaults?

__________________
The OC Forums Way
We are a team. We are a community. We are a fellowship made strong by mutual respect and shared dedication to the task of enriching all who come here.
The OC Forums Thank You Thread
Put your computer to work for our OC Forum Teams!
Try out our POST TEMPLATES, they save you time answering common questions!

I spend half my money on CPUs, GPUs, and Liquid Nitrogen. The other half I waste.
I.M.O.G. is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-11, 07:35 PM Thread Starter   #5
curver
Registered

 
curver's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: UConn

 
Got it working. Changed the initial graphics display to PCIe x16 from PCIe in the touch bios and next boot everything was perfect.

Thanks for your help I.M.O.G.

__________________
Asus G51Jx
i7-720QM | 8GB DDR3 1333 | GeForce GTS 360M

Desktop
i5-2500k | Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD4 | 8GB G. Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 1600 | EVGA GTX 560 Ti SC | Crucial M4 128GB | Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB | Corsair TX650 | Antec 300 Illusion | CM Hyper 212+ | Asus VE247H
curver is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-11, 07:41 PM   #6
I.M.O.G.
Glorious Leader

 
I.M.O.G.'s Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Rootstown, OH

10 Year Badge
 
Awesome, glad you got it sorted!

__________________
The OC Forums Way
We are a team. We are a community. We are a fellowship made strong by mutual respect and shared dedication to the task of enriching all who come here.
The OC Forums Thank You Thread
Put your computer to work for our OC Forum Teams!
Try out our POST TEMPLATES, they save you time answering common questions!

I spend half my money on CPUs, GPUs, and Liquid Nitrogen. The other half I waste.
I.M.O.G. is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:35 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?