• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Planning Simple and Quiet Build

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

RobsterCraw

Registered
I'm new to water cooling and new to the site. I used to build my own systems when I was in high school, even used to build 4x86 and Pentium based systems for free by dumpster diving around tech companies in my hometown (Palo Alto, CA). However I became a laptop guy when I joined the military and so for a little over 10 years I was too transient to have a desktop. Now that I'm finally back in the USA with more long-term digs, I have a netbook for moving about, and a now defunct Alienware laptop that I plan on replacing with a simple quiet gaming capable rig.

My benchmark for the build is BF3. If I can get BF3 running on highest settings at 1080p I'm happy. I used to play BF2 on my Alienware lappy to work out some good times nostalgia. I vastly prefer the (relatively) more realistic BF to the preteen frag-fest that is MW. With the release of BF3 I think its time I catch up to the times. However I need whatever I build to be reasonably quiet because there is limited space in my house and the location where I can put a desktop is not acoustically isolated from where my GF studies, works, and eats.

Having read the sticky tread intro article several times I think that I am sufficiently educated to propose a build that might pass muster. Here is what I'm thinking of putting together. I'd appreciate any feedback or constructive criticism.

System Loads (incomplete)
PSU: CORSAIR Professional Series HX850 850W
MB: ASUS P8Z68-V PRO
CPU: Intel i7 2600K 1155
GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 590 Classified Hydro Copper
RAM: 8GB (2x4GB) Kingston HyperX DDR3 1600

Case: SILVERSTONE Fortress Series FT02B-W
3x180mm intake fans on bottom
1x120mm exhaust fan on top

Cooling loop