• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

What you say?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Christoph

JAPH Senior
I've got an Epox 8KHA+ running Mandrake 8.1, and I can't get any sound. I suspect that I messed up the motherboard configuration, because when I check HardDrake, it detects the wrong video card and NIC (generic PCI GeF DDR and LiteOn LN100TX instead of Gainward GeF2 MX400 and Netgear FA310TX), decects no sound card (ie no onboard audio), and detects four unknown VIA components. The NIC works fine.
I'm a newbie at this, so please don't tell me that I need to rewrite the kernel or anything.

IdeaMagnate said:

Yup. Any ideas?

At a command line, type lsmod
Anything snd there?

There are modules you can insert into the kernel, but I cant remember which ones...

PenguinFreak said:

At a command line, type lsmod
Anything snd there?

There are modules you can insert into the kernel, but I cant remember which ones...

Indeed there is. Here's the cut and paste of everything starting with snd:

snd-seq-oss 28944 0 (unused)
snd-seq-midi-event 3216 0 [snd-seq-oss]
snd-seq 41856 0 [snd-seq-oss snd-seq-midi-event]
snd-seq-device 3984 0 [snd-seq-oss snd-seq]
snd-pcm-oss 18624 0
snd-pcm-plugin 15792 0 [snd-pcm-oss]
snd-mixer-oss 4800 0 [snd-pcm-oss]
snd-card-via8233 5952 0
snd-pcm 31616 0 [snd-pcm-oss snd-pcm-plugin snd-card-via8233]
snd-timer 8528 0 [snd-seq snd-pcm]
snd-ac97-codec 25056 0 [snd-card-via8233]
snd-mixer 24544 0 [snd-mixer-oss snd-ac97-codec]
snd 35248 1 [snd-seq-oss snd-seq-midi-event snd-seq snd-se
q-device snd-pcm-oss snd-pcm-plugin snd-mixer-oss snd-card-via8233 snd-pcm snd-t
imer snd-ac97-codec snd-mixer]
soundcore 4208 4 [snd]

:eek:

The modules are there. Try starting xmms and playing an mp3 file. Make sure your speakers are on and plugged in.