• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Looked into Hardware for Months, Havent Learned Anything About Software...

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Ious

Registered
Ive looked into hardware for about 2.5 months and its pretty safe to say that I know the ins and outs to general hardware. I already have my build ready for shipping, and I was really excited until I remembered something.

Is there anything I need to do for software in terms of BIOS and testing and other post-build things?

I have no experience in BIOS configuration, and I have no idea what I should do after Im done with it and loading the OS. (which is Windows 7)

Can anyone go through this process? And preferably in one post, as Im not going to be able to use the computer I am on during build.

Also, Im sorry if there is a thread already resolving this issue, I tried looking for one, couldnt find it.

Please note that I am 16 and have no knowledge whatsoever in software configuration and stuff.

I heard that I should try a stability test...

If the computer turns on and works properly after you build it, then you're ready to install windows.

The only thing you *might* need to do is go into the "boot" section of the bios and make it boot from the DVD/CD drive first, so it will load the windows cd

I really have no idea about the BIOS. is there a specific order I should have the components boot in?
And what about after downloading Windows 7?

The boot order on most motherboards I've used is something like (usb drive, harddrive, cd/dvd, network) by default. It scans each device in order, looking for an operating system to load. You probably won't have to change the order, I was just suggesting that you might.

You might wanna poke around in the bios of the machine you're currently on. It's really not scary