Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Any difference to 955 , 965, 970, 980 from an OCer's view?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-25-11, 08:59 AM Thread Starter   #1
aoj
Registered



Join Date: Aug 2005

 
Any difference to 955 , 965, 970, 980 from an OCer's view?


First let me say gaming performance is my main concern. I'll be upgrading from a 720BE.
I was planning to get a 970BE from newegg because they are $129 right now but if the 955BE at $104 is essentially the same chip just with a lower stock multi then there seems to be no point in getting anything higher than the 955BE? Is there something else that sets these chips apart or am I right in thinking that if you plan to OC then there is no reason to go above 955. I dont mind spending the extra money(within reason) for a chip that will OC much better or stay way cooler.
aoj is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-25-11, 09:58 AM   #2
Dermen
Member



Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Virginia

10 Year Badge
 
You should think about the 960T. It is a thuban with 2 cores disabled. You might be able to unlock those cores, if not I think thuban has a better memory controller than deneb.

__________________
FX-6300 | Gb 970A-UD3P | EVGA GTX 750 Ti | Corsair 8GB 1866 | 120GB Hyper-X 3k | Seasonic G 550w
Heat
Dermen is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-25-11, 04:42 PM   #3
Mantis187
Registered

 
Mantis187's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Baltimore

 
they are all the same chip, just some have bigger base clocks. save urself some doe and get the 965BE happy as hell i got mine for 115.00 from newegg with instant savings. got this badboy oc'd to 4.1 stable just uped the multiplier
Mantis187 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-25-11, 04:58 PM   #4
a c i d.f l y
Member

 
a c i d.f l y's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Austin, TX, USA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mantis187 View Post
they are all the same chip, just some have bigger base clocks. save urself some doe and get the 965BE happy as hell i got mine for 115.00 from newegg with instant savings. got this badboy oc'd to 4.1 stable just uped the multiplier
I've seen 955BE's running similarly. 955, 965, 960T -- can't go wrong with any of them.

__________________
๏ AMD Phenom™ II X4 965BE @ 4.0GHz 1.425V
๏ AMD Radeon™ HD6970 2GB DDR5 CrossFireX @ 925/1415
๏ 4 x 120GB Mushkin SSD (RAID 0) - Windows 8 Pro x64
๏ 1TB Seagate HDD + 1TB Hitachi HDD - Storage
๏ Antec LanBoy Air / Antec EarthWatts 750W
๏ MSI 990FXA-GD80
๏ Corsair XMS3 8GB DDR3 1333 MHz 8-7-8-20-1T
๏ Corsair Hydro Series™ H70 / 2x Feser TFC Xtender

"A race car is only silent....when it isn't running."
a c i d.f l y is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-25-11, 05:09 PM Thread Starter   #5
aoj
Registered



Join Date: Aug 2005

 
I've read that the C3 stepping was the best silicon and that you have a higher chance of getting newer silicon from a 970BE vs an older 955 or 965. Is any of that true. 960T is just a locked thuban right? I thought the x4s were outperforming them in games?

Also for those saying the 955,965 ect are the same then why are you recommending a 965 at $15 more than the 955? Dont want to gimp myself as I only upgrade ever 3 or so years but I also dont want to spend money on nothing.
aoj is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-26-11, 02:52 AM   #6
col_sanders
Member

 
col_sanders's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: USA-PA

 
Check the model numbers on the 955. Some 955BE chips are C2 while some are C3. Unless I am mistaken, all the 965 chips should be C3.

Of the 955BE the models HDZ955FBGMBOX should be C3.

Someone correct me if I'm wrong please.

I would still be tempted by the 960t though just to see how a 4 core thuban will go compared to the deneb 4 core. From everything I've seen or read on I would assume the 4 core thuban would be the way to go for overclocking basing off what the X6 can do. I see a lot of unlocking threads on forums about the 960t but not to many on overclocking it without unlocking the cores so I'm not too sure how heat plays a role in this.

__________________
---Main/Folding/BOINC/Folding/Server---
CPU: AMD Phenom II X6 1100T CPU: Xeon E5450 CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 CPU: 2x Opty275
MB: ASUS Crosshair III Formula MB: eVGA nforce 790i SLI FTW MB: MSI K9N6PGM2-V2 MB:HP Proliant DL385
GFX: 1x EVGA GTX 780 Ti GFX: 1x EVGA GTX 460 + 1x EVGA GTX295 GFX: 1x EVGA GTX 260 GFX: Onboard

Heat
col_sanders is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-26-11, 04:37 PM   #7
azuza001
Member



Join Date: Nov 2007

 
I went with the 965 myself, couldn't be happier. Was very easy to get it to 3.9 with no changes needed to voltage. Was a bit trickier to get it to 4.0 stable, but a slight bump in voltage to the processor fixed those stability issues. Probably could of went higher, but the whole windows 7 64 bit doesn't like speeds above 4ghz thing made me figure it wasn't worth the trouble.

I am with Mantis, get a 965 and you should be happy.

__________________
Clevo 901C Laptop / Intel Core 2 Extreme at 2.93Ghz / 4 Gigs Ram / Geforce 8800GTX / 2 X 250 Gig HD's in Raid 0
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Rocketfish Full Aluminum Tower / I7 870 at 4Ghz / 8 Gigs DDR3 Ram / EVGA GTX 670 FTW 2GB / 1 TB HD / True Spirit 140

I blame Earthdog and Muddocktor for helping me pick some truly great parts. Thanks guys, now I'm broke and happy. :)


azuza001 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-29-11, 04:53 PM   #8
Madengineer
Member

 
Madengineer's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2011

 
The thubans are "more advanced" and the 960T OCs better then a 965 and 955 due to its low TDP and its high Base clock.

OP, if you want a good chip to OC, grab a 960T you wont be disappointed.

__________________
Gaming: Intel 2500k - ASUS P8Z68-V Motherboard B3 - Hydro H100 - 16gb G.Skill Sniper - Crucial M4 128gb - Antec CP-1000 - EVGA GeForce GTX 580 SuperClocked - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 - Fractal Design Define XL

Storage: AMD Quad Core 955 BE 3.9Ghz OC'ed -Gigabyte 880GM-USB3 - 8gb Corsair DDR3 1333 - Hitachi 6*3tb- Radeon 5450 1gb
Madengineer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-30-11, 12:30 PM   #9
KrazyGimp
Registered



Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: WA

 
I've been running the 960t for a month or so now and it's a great chip. OC'ed to 4.0 right off the bat at 1.344 volts. Temps are really low too. I'm using just a Zigmatek Loki with a 92cm fan and it keeps it around 30c idle and around 48c under Prime95/Orthose/etc...with ambient temp around 22-24c. (Those are core temps with a 10c offset added to account for the lower than ambient idle temps)

It seems like it still has a bit of room to go. Both the voltage and temps are low enough at 4 GHz it should hit 4.2 but I don't have any reason to shoot for that yet. 4 nice and fast.

There is a possible bug with the new Asus boards though. It does not seem to want to let you change the CPU-NB or HT multiplier. The system fails to boot when I do. I haven't heard of anyone having this issue on other boards though...

__________________
Phenom II X4 960t (4.0 GHz @ 1.344v), Xigmatek Loki, Asus M5A99X Evo, 2x2 GB Corsair DDR3 1600, Seasonic X-750, Rosewill Destroyer case (4 x 120mm fans), 1TB Spinpoint F3, 250GB Spinpoint, 2TB WD Caviar Green, Sapphire 6870
http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2090396
KrazyGimp is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-01-11, 04:19 PM   #10
Aberration
Member



Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St. Louis Metro

 
I too am considering an upgrade to the CPU, running the same 720BE as the OP.

A couple of years ago (maybe longer) when I originally bought the 720, it was a good CPU. After overclocking, it became even better.

With the newer games coming out though, I'm finding the performance slacking.

How much of a difference would I notice (if there's a means to tell) going from a 720BE x3 @ 3.36GhZ to a 970BE x4 @ 4.0GhZ?

I realize that's a subjective question, but there's potentially a number of people on here who have done this exact upgrade.

Thanks in advance! Good thread!

__________________
ASRock Z77 Extreme4 LGA 1155 Intel Z77
Intel i5-2500K - OC to 4.5Ghz
Cooler Master 212 EVO
G.SKILL Sniper Low Voltage Series 8GB (F3-12800CL9D-8GBSR2)
Hitachi 2TB HD, OCZ Vertex3 90GB SSD
Corsair 600T Black
Xclio 700W PS
XFX Radeon 6870s in Crossfire with Gelid and Artic Air Cooling
Aberration is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-01-11, 05:41 PM   #11
bigben6
Member

 
bigben6's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cincinnati

 
My 955BE runs 3.8 on stock voltage and only using Multi.... Thats what I would do personally.... save the extra 10-15 bucks for a hyper 212+, now, IFthe 960t can be unlocked to a hex that deserves consideration, haven't seen it myself or even heard of it but that don't make it a lie so I WOULD look into that possibility!

__________________
THE RIG
CPU- AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition (3.7Ghz) | MOBO- Biostar TA890FXE
GPU- Asus EAH6850 (900Mhz/1200) | RAM- 8 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1600 (4x2gb)
SSD- OCZ Vertex 60 GB | HD- WD Black 1TB
PSU- Corsair 650 W | COOLER- Hyper 212+
MONITOR- Asus Vh242H | CASE- Antec 902
Overheating Click Me!
bigben6 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-01-11, 05:48 PM   #12
Madengineer
Member

 
Madengineer's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2011

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigben6 View Post
My 955BE runs 3.8 on stock voltage and only using Multi.... Thats what I would do personally.... save the extra 10-15 bucks for a hyper 212+, now, IFthe 960t can be unlocked to a hex that deserves consideration, haven't seen it myself or even heard of it but that don't make it a lie so I WOULD look into that possibility!
I had the same OC on my 955...Unfortunately cause of summer i had to remove my OC

__________________
Gaming: Intel 2500k - ASUS P8Z68-V Motherboard B3 - Hydro H100 - 16gb G.Skill Sniper - Crucial M4 128gb - Antec CP-1000 - EVGA GeForce GTX 580 SuperClocked - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 - Fractal Design Define XL

Storage: AMD Quad Core 955 BE 3.9Ghz OC'ed -Gigabyte 880GM-USB3 - 8gb Corsair DDR3 1333 - Hitachi 6*3tb- Radeon 5450 1gb
Madengineer is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?