Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

galaxy gtx560ti restarts

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-26-11, 02:04 PM Thread Starter   #1
flyfisher
Member

 
flyfisher's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Concrete, Washington

 
galaxy gtx560ti restarts


Vid card (8600gts) started artifacting when playing mw3 not crashing but game almost unplayable. Wanted excuse to get new one anyway so bought GTX560ti.
(and new viewsonic 27" monitor while down in town).
New card/monitor causing constant restarts in mw3, yet can run f@h gpu fine.
have been hacking at this problem for days and am going nuts. Figured it is the psu, hooked up a second psu to the card and everything else but the mb, (20pin connector not 24 pin) to take the load and still restarts. temps are good, watch them in the game right up until the restart.
Today I ran an o/c monitoring util from galaxy and the voltage drops from 1.012 to .9500 under game load, this seems like a bad psu, but the other psu did not help. Am going to try a big fan into the case to MAKE sure its not temp related, but am thinking will have to buy psu.

Tried
1. Removing and switching out memory no help
2. using old monitor with new card no help
3. using old card new monitor, restarted at first then became stable.
4. reseating cpu fan with new arctic silver
5. removing and reinstalling drivers
6. etc etc.

SO my question is, would the core voltage drop under load mean it would restart and is it definatly the psu?

__________________
asus P5KC Q6600 @2.6
Asus A7N8X xp2400 Raid 0
flyfisher is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-29-11, 11:26 AM   #2
TollhouseFrank
Senior Headphone Guru

 
TollhouseFrank's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: T3h Intr@tub3z!

 
do you get the same voltage drop with the F@H client running on the gpu?

But yet, a voltage drop like that indicates you likely either need a new PSU, or possibly you aren't getting stable power from the wall socket it is plugged into.

TollhouseFrank is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-29-11, 11:53 AM   #3
mxthunder

 
mxthunder's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Northeast Ohio

 
Tollhouse - where have you been? I remember you from the Socket A days...

__________________
i7 3770K @ 4.8GHz
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP7
2x4GB Ripjaws @ 1600 7-8-7-24-24 - 1T
XSPC res + D5, RS360 + EK 120mm rad
GeForce GTX780Ti w/custom bios @1300mhz
Corsair TX950
WD Black 750GB/Hitachi 7k1000/Intel 330 SSD cache drive
LG 27" 1080p
Corsair Obsidian 700D

My GPU collection
mxthunder is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-29-11, 04:31 PM   #4
TollhouseFrank
Senior Headphone Guru

 
TollhouseFrank's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: T3h Intr@tub3z!

 
i've been around. And yes, I remember those socket A days putting a volcano 12+ on that Barton I had, hoping it wouldn't melt the HSF or the cpu... on the next voltage bump... LOL

TollhouseFrank is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?