Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Abit ST6 supprt Celeron 433 ?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-24-02, 01:38 PM Thread Starter   #1
nucro
Member

 
nucro's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: istanbul

 
Abit ST6 supprt Celeron 433 ?


That is my question.
nucro is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 02-24-02, 04:34 PM   #2
Bonka
Member

 
Bonka's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Vancouver BC, Canada

10 Year Badge
 
No. Any Celeron Processor before the 533A is "slot 1", and not the "socket 370" chip version. You need a slot 1 motherboard.

__________________
MAIN Intel C2Q Q9650 (L820B033) @ 4.05GHz (450x9) 1.36875v Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P Rev.1.6 (FFb BIOS) ThermalRight Venomous X Noctua NF-P12-1300 x2 G.Skill PI 4x2GB DDR2-1100 @ 1080MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9v Corsair HX850 XFX Radeon HD 6670 Intel 320 Series GEN3 80GB SSD WD Caviar Black 1TB x2 Pioneer BDR-206DBK Auzentech X-Meridian 7.1 2G (LME49720HA Op-Amp) HP 2509b x2 Rosewill RK-9000 Cherry MX Blue Lian-Li PC-9F

SECONDARY Intel C2D E6600 (L631B125) @ 3.15GHz (350x9) 1.4v ASUS P5LD2-VM Rev.2.00G (1401 BIOS) Intel D34017-002 Kingston 4x1GB DDR2-667 @ 700MHz 5-5-5-15 1.8v Corsair CX430 Palit Radeon HD 4850 Crucial M4 Micron C400 64GB SSD WD Caviar Blue 1TB LG GH24NS95 Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE 7.1 HP w2007 Bitfenix Merc Beta
Bonka is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-24-02, 05:46 PM Thread Starter   #3
nucro
Member

 
nucro's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: istanbul

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Bonka
No. Any Celeron Processor before the 533A is "slot 1", and not the "socket 370" chip version.
Celeron 433 is slot?? I don't think so!!
nucro is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-24-02, 09:56 PM   #4
Bonka
Member

 
Bonka's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Vancouver BC, Canada

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by nucro


Celeron 433 is slot?? I don't think so!!
Unless I'm wrong...this is to confirm:

http://support.intel.com/support/pro.../sspec/icp.htm

In the 433 row, under the column "notes", there's a "2". The footnote at the bottom notes the "2" as this:

This processor is in PPGA form factor. Unless PPGA isn't slot 1, I don't know what is then.


__________________
MAIN Intel C2Q Q9650 (L820B033) @ 4.05GHz (450x9) 1.36875v Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P Rev.1.6 (FFb BIOS) ThermalRight Venomous X Noctua NF-P12-1300 x2 G.Skill PI 4x2GB DDR2-1100 @ 1080MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9v Corsair HX850 XFX Radeon HD 6670 Intel 320 Series GEN3 80GB SSD WD Caviar Black 1TB x2 Pioneer BDR-206DBK Auzentech X-Meridian 7.1 2G (LME49720HA Op-Amp) HP 2509b x2 Rosewill RK-9000 Cherry MX Blue Lian-Li PC-9F

SECONDARY Intel C2D E6600 (L631B125) @ 3.15GHz (350x9) 1.4v ASUS P5LD2-VM Rev.2.00G (1401 BIOS) Intel D34017-002 Kingston 4x1GB DDR2-667 @ 700MHz 5-5-5-15 1.8v Corsair CX430 Palit Radeon HD 4850 Crucial M4 Micron C400 64GB SSD WD Caviar Blue 1TB LG GH24NS95 Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE 7.1 HP w2007 Bitfenix Merc Beta
Bonka is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-24-02, 10:22 PM   #5
Johan
Member

 
Johan's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: MI

 
I have a PPGA 500 which fits in a socket 370 as do all PPGA Celerons, AFAIK. For certain, the early Celerons (266 and 300 w/o the A) are in a SEPP package (I think it is called) which needs a slot 1 mobo (I have a 266 laying around in such a package. I think there are other Celerons in the SEPP package but I'm not sure where they stop.
Johan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-25-02, 01:08 AM   #6
DRR93454
Senior Member

 
DRR93454's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Santa Maria, CA.

 
PPGA Processors


From the Celleron 366 on up, they were mostly PPGA.
DRR93454 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-25-02, 05:35 AM   #7
lyle
Member



Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Brooklyn Park MN

 
The answer to the question is "yes". The ST6 is a "Universal" motherboard which means it will support all Intel socket 370 chips, from PPGA to FC-PGA2. I'm running one now. Had a Celeron 400 in it when I assembled it and now am running a Celeron Tualatin. Good things: pretty nice board, a lot of features, and it was inexpensive. Bad things: first board I received was D-O-A.
lyle is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-25-02, 06:39 AM Thread Starter   #8
nucro
Member

 
nucro's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: istanbul

 
Thank you lyle .
Asus Tlus2 doesn't support PPGA celerons, but then ST6 doesn't have this problem.
nucro is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?