Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Multiplier keeps changing

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-01-11, 02:44 AM Thread Starter   #1
zxzxzx

 
zxzxzx's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Australia

 
Question Multiplier keeps changing


Hey,

I have been having an issue that i just noticed recently - my CPU multiplier keeps changing. I'm using a P4 541 3.2ghz stock but it's difficult to overclock because the multiplier keeps changing. When i watch it in CPU-Z it changes from 14 to 16 whenever i click on something and then it drops back down. Is there anyway to fix this beacause it is quite annoying and shouldn't it be 16x multi all the time?

__________________
AMD Phenom II X6 1065T | Asus M3A32-MVP | CrossfireX 3x HD 4800 series | 4Gb DDR2 800
Intel Pentium G620 @ stock | Gigabyte GA-H61M DS2 |1Gb DDR3 1333| Intel HD Graphics 2000
Intel Pentium 4 541 @ 3.8GHz | MSI 7036 | 1Gb DDR 400 | GeForce 7200GS
Lenovo Thinkpad Edge11 | Intel Celeron U3400 | 2Gb DDR3 1333 | Intel HD Graphics
zxzxzx is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-01-11, 05:11 AM   #2
capttripppp
Member


 
capttripppp's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Anchorage, Alaska

 
You have to go into the bios and disable Intel speedstep tech. and that should fix the problem I believe

__________________
"I just picked up some Vaseline and a big syringe. I'm thinking using the syringe will make it easier to put the Vaseline in all the little hard to reach spots. I'm hoping to get to mess with it tonight, if so I'll post some videos" Convicted1
capttripppp is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Thanks!
zxzxzx (12-04-11)
Old 12-04-11, 04:21 AM Thread Starter   #3
zxzxzx

 
zxzxzx's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Australia

 
Sorry for the late reply but it worked, so thanks!

__________________
AMD Phenom II X6 1065T | Asus M3A32-MVP | CrossfireX 3x HD 4800 series | 4Gb DDR2 800
Intel Pentium G620 @ stock | Gigabyte GA-H61M DS2 |1Gb DDR3 1333| Intel HD Graphics 2000
Intel Pentium 4 541 @ 3.8GHz | MSI 7036 | 1Gb DDR 400 | GeForce 7200GS
Lenovo Thinkpad Edge11 | Intel Celeron U3400 | 2Gb DDR3 1333 | Intel HD Graphics
zxzxzx is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-04-11, 06:34 AM   #4
capttripppp
Member


 
capttripppp's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Anchorage, Alaska

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by zxzxzx View Post
Sorry for the late reply but it worked, so thanks!
Cool glad that it worked

__________________
"I just picked up some Vaseline and a big syringe. I'm thinking using the syringe will make it easier to put the Vaseline in all the little hard to reach spots. I'm hoping to get to mess with it tonight, if so I'll post some videos" Convicted1
capttripppp is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:54 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?