Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

NB Issues on a 955 BE

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-01-11, 04:41 PM Thread Starter   #1
bunnyslayr
New Member



Join Date: Dec 2011

 
Question NB Issues on a 955 BE


I have been overclocking my AMD Phenon II x4 955 BE and I'm getting stable results at 3.9 GHz and 1.5250 V without touching the NB. I really want to get it up to 4.0 GHz or a little above. I tried 4.0 GHz on 1.55 V (the highest BIOS allows) and it was extremely unstable. But here's the problem with the NB:

I can up the frequency only one step. If I increase it any more, Windows fails to load and whenever I restart, I get only a black screen. I need to wait like 5 minutes to turn the computer on again and reset the NB frequency. The same problem occurs if I increase the NB voltage at all.



Could it be a problem with my motherboard? It was a budget build and this one might be kinda cheap, but I don't know if that would have an effect at all.

ASRock M3A770DE AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD

Thanks for any help-I'm pretty new to the overclocking thing, but I'm loving it
bunnyslayr is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-01-11, 05:41 PM   #2
Efonzerellie
Member

 
Efonzerellie's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Seattle,WA

 
You might not be raising the correct voltage. Sometimes there are different NB voltage in the BIOS. CPU/NB is what you are looking for. Keep a close eye your temps because it will raise it

__________________
Case: Fractal R4
CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 955BE 4Ghz/Swiftech H220
MOBO: ASUS M4A88T-V
GPU: Sapphire 7950 2L
RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB
Storage: Ocz 60gb SSD+3.5TB
PSU: Corsair 750W
Monitor: Overlord Tempest X270OC
Efonzerellie is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-01-11, 06:28 PM   #3
Bobnova
Senior Member



 
Bobnova's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Humboldt

 
Yup, CPU_NB is the voltage for the memory controller/CPUNB, give it a little bit extra and see what the NB will do clock wise.
AMD really needs to rename the motherboard NB.

__________________
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." -- Einstein (maybe)

Thinking about an Asus motherboard? Think again.

How to check your PSU with a multimeter.

17bXw5t51rEBXGavJFMJsC8g7HQgThUGc7
Bobnova is online now Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-01-11, 06:30 PM   #4
Seebs
Fronting as a Mod Member

 
Seebs's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sunshine State

 
A few suggestions/questions/requests before I(we) can help you get where you want to.

- Download the following programs and install them:
-- CPUz -> http://www.cpuid.com/downloads/cpu-z/1.59-setup-en.exe
-- HWMonitor -> http://www.cpuid.com/downloads/hwmonitor/1.18-setup.exe
-- Core Temp -> http://www.alcpu.com/CoreTemp/

Once you have installed those programs.
- Run 3 instances of CPUz. Set one to the Main tab, one to the Memory Tab and the last one to the SPD tab (make sure that in the SPD tab the drop down menu is set to one of the slots where you have your RAM installed).

- Open CoreTemp to the main window.

- Take a screenshot of your desktop with those programs running. PrntScn button on the keyboard does the trick. Save that screenshot with MSPaint, or any other graphics SW you have and upload it here.
Post a reply on this thread with that image so that we can see what settings you have running at the moment. Once we have that information we will be able to help you.

PS: There are two different NB Voltages. For 4GHz; you will need to raise your CPU-NB frequency and that means you will need to raise your CPU-NB Voltage. Not the NB Voltage; they are different things.

__________________
Daily Driver: GA-890FXA-UD5 - Ph II X6 1090T - 16GB DDR3 1333MHz - MSI R9 280X Gaming Edition/HD 5670/HD6570 - Venomous X Black + G1238B12BBZP-00 - TX850V2 - CM 690 II Advanced
Join the "Benching Team" - We have secret sauce! - OptyTrooper: GPUs are for burning not playing games anyway
Kona on League of Legends: This game sits about as well with me as a gallon of prune juice does, and the results are just as nasty.
I done got Pinked...

Be sure to pre-tin everything (even soldered stuff!) with leaded solder. None of the RoHS junk. You want good old fashioned toxic heavy metals. ~ Bobnova
Seebs is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-01-11, 07:27 PM Thread Starter   #5
bunnyslayr
New Member



Join Date: Dec 2011

 
Alright...


So I guess I lied. My processor is NOT stable at 3.9. It's at 3.7. I can't seem to get it stable at 3.8 without increasing the NB either. That seems a bit different from other people's results, but oh well. One other thing: I'm running with stock cooling, but it seems to be working fine. My temps aren't getting too high, but I wish to upgrade soon.

My BIOS doesn't have the option to change the NB/CPU voltage, unless I'm looking in the wrong place.
Attached Images
  
bunnyslayr is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-01-11, 09:15 PM   #6
Seebs
Fronting as a Mod Member

 
Seebs's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sunshine State

 
I guess your motherboard actually uses NB to refer to the CPU-NB. The setting you're going to want to adjust is that NB Frequency Multiplier and the NB Voltage you show on the BIOS picture.

You forgot the CPUz instance with the memory tab and we need that one to see other crucial information on your system.

If you look at the CoreTemp window; you'll see that part where it says CPU VID and it reads 1.45V. That is what the CPU was found to "need" to be able to function properly at stock speeds during quality testing. That means that your particular chip will likely need more voltage than others in order to function properly at the speeds you wish to run it.

I would suggest raising the NB Frequency to 12 for 2400MHz frequency and raising the NB Voltage from 1.1V to 1.15V.
Keep the CPU Frequency multiplier at 18.5 for now.
Run son testing with Prime95. Run a Blended test of it; if the computer crashes you know you'll need more volts.


Oh and please find the time to give this guide a read. It has most of the information you need in order to successfully overclock your CPU>

__________________
Daily Driver: GA-890FXA-UD5 - Ph II X6 1090T - 16GB DDR3 1333MHz - MSI R9 280X Gaming Edition/HD 5670/HD6570 - Venomous X Black + G1238B12BBZP-00 - TX850V2 - CM 690 II Advanced
Join the "Benching Team" - We have secret sauce! - OptyTrooper: GPUs are for burning not playing games anyway
Kona on League of Legends: This game sits about as well with me as a gallon of prune juice does, and the results are just as nasty.
I done got Pinked...

Be sure to pre-tin everything (even soldered stuff!) with leaded solder. None of the RoHS junk. You want good old fashioned toxic heavy metals. ~ Bobnova
Seebs is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-02-11, 06:17 PM Thread Starter   #7
bunnyslayr
New Member



Join Date: Dec 2011

 
Found out the problem...


Well before, I had the voltage set wrong. That's why I could only get it to 3.7. It's now at 3.9. I tried increasing the NB clock to 2400 on 1.15v like you suggested, but I couldn't really get it stable until I increased the voltage to 1.2. Then I tried putting the cpu multiplier to 20 from 19.5 and it crashed after two minutes of prime95. So now I really want to increase the NB voltage to somewhere around 1.25 and set the NB clock to 2600 to get the cpu multiplier up to 20, but that seems like a lot of voltage.

EDIT:

Ok, after about a half hour on the above stable (I thought) settings, I got the BSOD again, so I brought the NB down to 2200 from 2400 and 1.15v from 1.2v.

On that guide you gave me, It talked about it being really hard to get to 4.0Ghz on stock cooling. Do you think that could be the problem? When I was running prime95 with my cpu at 3.9Ghz/1.55v and NB at 2400/1.2v, I was reaching temperatures as high as 64.

**FIRST is BEFORE the BSOD, SECOND is AFTER**
Sorry I forgot the SPD in the first...It BSOD on me before I got to fix it.
Attached Images
  
bunnyslayr is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-02-11, 07:50 PM   #8
Seebs
Fronting as a Mod Member

 
Seebs's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sunshine State

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by bunnyslayr View Post
On that guide you gave me, It talked about it being really hard to get to 4.0Ghz on stock cooling. Do you think that could be the problem? When I was running prime95 with my cpu at 3.9Ghz/1.55v and NB at 2400/1.2v, I was reaching temperatures as high as 64.
Do yourself and your chip a favor and back it down to stock speeds and voltages while you are on the stock cooler. Those things are not designed to hold the kind of heat that the chip starts to put out once you overclock it.
I would suggest looking into an aftermarket heatsink for your CPU before you continue on your adventures. The last thing you want to do is damage it because the cooling was not strong enough to hold it at acceptable temperatures.

__________________
Daily Driver: GA-890FXA-UD5 - Ph II X6 1090T - 16GB DDR3 1333MHz - MSI R9 280X Gaming Edition/HD 5670/HD6570 - Venomous X Black + G1238B12BBZP-00 - TX850V2 - CM 690 II Advanced
Join the "Benching Team" - We have secret sauce! - OptyTrooper: GPUs are for burning not playing games anyway
Kona on League of Legends: This game sits about as well with me as a gallon of prune juice does, and the results are just as nasty.
I done got Pinked...

Be sure to pre-tin everything (even soldered stuff!) with leaded solder. None of the RoHS junk. You want good old fashioned toxic heavy metals. ~ Bobnova
Seebs is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-02-11, 08:11 PM   #9
Bobnova
Senior Member



 
Bobnova's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Humboldt

 
Anything over 55c is generally bad for OCing on PhII cpus.

__________________
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." -- Einstein (maybe)

Thinking about an Asus motherboard? Think again.

How to check your PSU with a multimeter.

17bXw5t51rEBXGavJFMJsC8g7HQgThUGc7
Bobnova is online now Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-02-11, 09:48 PM Thread Starter   #10
bunnyslayr
New Member



Join Date: Dec 2011

 
Great. Thanks, guys. Will this one work with my case and mobo? I'm not sure whether or not it's too big.

COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835103065

ASRock M3A770DE AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD Motherboard
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813157176

NZXT M59 - 001BK Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811146058

Do you think then I will be able to reach 4.0Ghz+?
bunnyslayr is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-02-11, 09:54 PM   #11
Seebs
Fronting as a Mod Member

 
Seebs's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sunshine State

 
The Hyper212 is about 6.3" tall, your case is 7.48" wide. It would be cutting it close, but I think it would fit.

__________________
Daily Driver: GA-890FXA-UD5 - Ph II X6 1090T - 16GB DDR3 1333MHz - MSI R9 280X Gaming Edition/HD 5670/HD6570 - Venomous X Black + G1238B12BBZP-00 - TX850V2 - CM 690 II Advanced
Join the "Benching Team" - We have secret sauce! - OptyTrooper: GPUs are for burning not playing games anyway
Kona on League of Legends: This game sits about as well with me as a gallon of prune juice does, and the results are just as nasty.
I done got Pinked...

Be sure to pre-tin everything (even soldered stuff!) with leaded solder. None of the RoHS junk. You want good old fashioned toxic heavy metals. ~ Bobnova
Seebs is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:14 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?