Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Q8300 - Overclock

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-20-11, 09:08 AM Thread Starter   #1
dickielad
New Member



Join Date: Dec 2011

 
Q8300 - Overclock


Hi,

Ive been reading alot on the Q8300. I have a Acer system and i have put my own hardware in it like GFX card which is a 6950 2gb. I think that the card is not performing well due to the CPU. I need to over clock the processor to get the best out of the card.

The problem is that the Mobo is not allowing me to over clock and i have played about with the settings on FBS in some software programmes. Firstly i cant find the PLL of the board, it is a EG43M board 2ddr ram.

Does anyone think i should just buy a new Mobo? or is there a way of over clocking the processor in bios? All the settings in bios are grayed out and because it is a online purchase i guess there is no way of overclocking it?

Thanks
dickielad is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-20-11, 09:20 AM   #2
redduc900
Super Moderator


 
redduc900's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: WCG@home in Portland

10 Year Badge
 
If neither SetFSB or ClockGen works, then your only other alternative would be to perform a pad mod from 333-400MHz.

Intel LGA775 Pad Modding
http://www.overclockers.com/intel-lga775-pad-modding/

redduc900 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-20-11, 09:57 AM Thread Starter   #3
dickielad
New Member



Join Date: Dec 2011

 
Yeah dont know the PLL number for mobo. Or else this would be gooood. Is there a way of bypassing the bios? its grayed out. Would a bios battery pull do it? I dunno.
dickielad is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-20-11, 10:16 AM   #4
redduc900
Super Moderator


 
redduc900's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: WCG@home in Portland

10 Year Badge
 
Check the SetFSB site and see if you can cross reference your PCs model no. w/ the correct clock generator...

http://www13.plala.or.jp/setfsb/

redduc900 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?